We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hickstead

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hickstead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Start your review of The Hickstead
 Click to rate
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the third year we have been. the staff were excellent nothing to much trouble for them. As a party of 14 the food and service excellent. Very good breakfast selection. Bedrooms clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank len559
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's always good to be asked how your stay was when checking out. This didn't happen when I left The Hickstead. Maybe they didn't care? If asked I would have pointed out that my room was cold and I couldn't adjust the temperature and the bed felt old, lumpy and the mattress at least in need of replacing. Just not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank virtualvid
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beware the paper thin walls in the modern bedroom block, particularly if you have a connecting door to the adjoining bedroom! Our neighbour spent much of the night on his mobile, he might just as well have been in our room. Otherwise, the bedroom was comfortably furnished and bathrooms fairly good; the public areas are a bit dated. The saving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisdallis0n
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Don't be discouraged by my 3-star rating. It actually is about 2 1/2 stars but perfectly clean and nice. The room was spacious, clean and welcoming. The ubiquitous "full English breakfast" was ample and good and the staff very friendly and accommodating our every wish. There is no elevator to the 1st (Am. 2nd) floor, but they kindly helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatscot_oct2015
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay over The Christmas Period We look forward to seeing you on a return visit Giles Paul General Manager

London, England
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

One night stay as we were in the area for a party. Pleasant enough room but the bathroom was a bit of a let down - odd choice of floor covering (paving??) that makes it look like a dirty exterior floor. Breakfast was ok but we waited ages for teas and coffees - the staff were very nice and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EyelashTravels
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit I am sorry you waited a little longer than expected for hot drinks . As you say we were busy and always do our best to manage the situation on a Sunday morning when you all get up together , so whilst you I am glad you were looked after I...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

A nice hotel and good value. We didn't check in until 10pm on Friday and where amazed that the bar was closed so early. We were told that as there were no customers for the bars so the guy went home. I would have thought that the receptionist could have managed to pour a couple of drinks but didn't offer.(...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BARRY28544
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and glowing reports on our breakfast which I was delighted to read you enjoyed We were extremely quiet on Friday evening with most residents out but although the bar did close at about 10.20 you should haver been offered a drink by the late receptionist and I have spoken to the new young lady about...

Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed here as a result of a deal sent to my wife as we had stayed there before for an Afternoon tea and Overnight stay with breakfast about 4 years ago. We really enjoyed that stay and so were looking forward to the Cream Tea, 3 course meal and breakfast. As we have a dog, getting away for weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Radders2106
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for all your detailed feedback after your second visit I must apologise for the group of 8 and their behaviour on their holiday reunion . I agree their behaviour was both a surprise to us really due to their age and unacceptable and offensive . I was around in the late afternoon and early evening and had spoken...

Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We spent Saturday night here on a bed, breakfast and evening meal package. The staff were very hard working and incredibly friendly. The food was terrific, so much better than I was expecting from this type of fixed package. The breakfast whilst buffet style was of an exceptionally high standard.The whole evening was relaxing and I would highly recommend a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel L
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Really pleased to read such positive comments Delighted you enjoyed our winter offer , watch out for other seasonal offers as we hope to see you again in the New Year Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manager

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Just returning home from an overnight stay. On arrival we were a bit disappointed with how run down the outside appearance is, a nice looking building but all the woodwork needs attention. Reception staff friendly enough, our room sadly didn't live up to its superior title, again it's all a bit tired looking, our toilet seat was broken, extractor fan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma S
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback . Delighted to read that you were looked after ad had a good experience in our restaurant My apologies for the bedroom issues which you should not have experienced . These are all now rectified now and we hope yo welcome you back soon Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manager

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

It was the smell as soon as I entered...I did not except first room so took second...mould on window and celing in the bay...work had been carried out on the celing above bed but not finished paper peeling ...shower the shelve to hold shower gel was rusty toilet seat fixing dirty...when i dropped my earing trying to look for it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank christmastree58
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

I note your comments and apologise that we did not achieve the expected standards in this occasion . We have emailed each other and resolved this privately as I responded to your original feedback on our hotel system before you published on trip advisor , so a little disappointing to read about it again in such a public forum ....

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolney
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
363 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Hickstead

Address: Jobs Lane, Bolney RH17 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hickstead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Hickstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hickstead Hotel Hickstead
The Hotel Hickstead
The Hickstead Bolney, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hickstead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
5 months ago
North Essex, England
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hickstead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good views all around.”
 of 5 bubbles greatscot_oct2015, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from car park for less disturbance”
 of 5 bubbles nikkid532, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms could be hot in Summer ask for a better room if needed”
 of 5 bubbles theredman01, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have found all rooms to be similar and the hotel is in a quiet location...so no worries.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbQ5442MH, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a south facing room, it was pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mehereinthepool, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5