We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hickstead

Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
563Reviews
52Photos
8Q+A
93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 201
  • 97
  • 36
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We came for Afternoon Tea at The Hotel on Wednesday 13th March, and we were absolutely delighted! I read the reviews before coming (we had a voucher) and I must agree that the decor is very dated, however we thoroughly enjoyed our tea! We were served by two lovely young ladies,
Read more
Response from Paul T, General Manager at The Hickstead
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SharonandJake Thank you for your wonderful review which I have shared with the team at our daily meeting. They really appreciated the lovely comments and were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We look forward to seeing you back again in the summer. Kind Regards Paul
Read more
Can’t vouch for the hotel as such but everything looks very nice. I can, however, thoroughly recommend the afternoon tea which I think represents great value. Generous sandwiches with interesting fillings together with a large selection of cakes, scones, and even a little
Read more
Response from Paul T, General Manager at The Hickstead
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Malcolm Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us and your kind comments is greatly appreciated by all the team here at the hotel. I do hope you do decide to have dinner with us in the future and we look forward to seeing you then Kind Regards Paul
Read more
Arrived and whilst it appeared slightly in need of an update, after a 6 hour drive I wasn't too bothered. Evening meal starts at 6.30pm is a bit late but I accepted that, and then I enquired how to turn radiator on, only to be told it's broken and won't be fixed for 2 days. So I
Read more
Response from Paul T, General Manager at The Hickstead
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathrynj9 Thank you for your recent review and I do personally apologise for the unfortunate circumstances you experienced due to the failure of a pump in our heating system, This was something that was completely out of our control and I can assure you we did everything we could to get the it resolved. The restaurant does open from 6.30pm in the evening however food can be ordered from the lounge or room service all day long. My team are very passionate about delivering great customer service, at times things can go wrong and we always try to recover any situation as best as we can however it does appear that we have not in this case. I would appreciate it if you could contact my reception manager Patricia at the hotel so that you can discuss further if you so wish. Kind Regards Paul
Read more
We (7) visited for Christmas lunch. The arrangements were fine, the staff - friendly, attentive, professional and efficient. However, we all felt that the meal was, basically, tired and lacking in innovation. The venue was OK but the reception and dining area all were in need
Read more
Response from Paul T, General Manager at The Hickstead
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Neil A Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Christmas Lunch. I was surprised as we did get a lot of positive feedback about our food & service during the Christmas period however as we do with all our customer's feedback I will review your feedback with the team in order to implement corrective action training as appropriate. I can assure you we will be working hard on continuing to improve our service levels and food quality at the hotel. I do hope you change your mind on returning in the future where I am sure you will experience us in a better light Kind Regards Paul
Read more
We arrived and parked with plenty of space for our 43 guests, we were greeted by Patricia on Reception and met the duty Manager Justine who introduced me to Ellie and Hollie the two waitresses who would be looking after us. Throughout the visit, especially at the lunch serving
Read more
Response from Paul T, General Manager at The Hickstead
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear VeteranDen Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your lunch with us at the hotel. I will ensure to share your lovely comments with the team and look forward to seeing you back again in the future. Kind Regards Paul
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
TV - Remote
Light Switch - filthy
Disgusting lamp shade
Dusty Light
TV Remote - Filthy
PreviousNext
123
Does anyone know what the source of the unusual smell in the foyer is? It is there every time we visit.
There was no problem when we visited.
0 votes
Show all answers
I've heard the place has gone much downhill. Is this true,as thinking of booking a weekend there?
I went to a wedding at this hotel. The food was great, the staff are friendly and helpful. My room was clean and tidy. Personally I think TripAdvisor can sometimes be used to try to get something for nothing. All I can say is I was impressed by the staff, the hotel and the food. I will be returning.
0 votes
Show all answers
Breakfast at weekends is 08.00 am to 10.00 am Saturday and Sunday . Monday to Friday is 7.00 am to 09.30 am
0 votes
Show all answers
is there a kettle in the room?
there was a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms that we stayed in. We have been there 3 times and each time we had a kettle etc.
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes... they had a wedding or some other big "do" when we were there. We did stay at the farthest end... by luck. But the walls are so thin that our disgruntled neighbor banged on our door complaining of the TV - and we're not even deaf! To be fair, the festivities didn't disturb us and they handle it well.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Upper floor at the rear I best, to avoid the noisy delivery trucks in the early morning"
"I think some may have been refurbished - so ask"
"This review was afternoon tea not staying at hotel."
"A first-floor room would be best if you don't want to be disturbed by footsteps resonating through your ceiling."
"Upper floor possibly best our ceiling had creaky boards."
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the hickstead hotel hicksteadthe hotel hickstead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBolney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing