We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

South Lodge Hotel & Spa

Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1561)
360
Panoramas (19)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Deals - ONLY AVAILABLE When you BOOK DIRECT + Free Breakfast
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Lower Beeding
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
South Lodge is a luxury hotel in Sussex offering the best in relaxation. With breathtaking views of the South Downs, we have award-winning dining with 3 restaurants to choose from, expert meeting facilities and host memorable weddings and family occasions and the most amazing state-of-the-art spa. The suites and rooms are a fusion of the past and present. Every room is individually styled and designed so that no two are the same, with gorgeous soft furnishings, plump cushions and quirky furniture. A beautiful cottage in the grounds offers all of the luxuries you would expect from a luxury hotel but within the privacy of its own gardens giving you the best of both worlds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Exclusive Deals - ONLY AVAILABLE When you BOOK DIRECT + Free Breakfast
2354Reviews25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,682
  • 370
  • 181
  • 83
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Playford wrote a review 24 Feb
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom153 contributions90 helpful votes
An exceptional experience we have stayed at many top hotels and this is up with the best. Our room Lady Clementine was probably one of the largest bedroom come lounge we have ever experienced as also was the bathroom. The Spa facilities very nice indeed. We booked mainly because we followed Tom on Masterchef and just knew he would win and when he did we booked our night away . I was lucky enough to see the kitchens and Ben Wilkinson Head Chef at the Pass showed me around the kitchens are immaculate he also introduced me to Tom Masterchef winner 2023 who was very down to earth and easy to chat too. My wife and I ate in the Camilia restaurant which Tom is running and an excellent meal and service it was. But next time we will dine at the Pass. Can't wait to our next visit 😍.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
So lovely to read. I am truly delighted to see that you had such a fantastic experience and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John W wrote a review Dec 2023
Brentwood, United Kingdom11 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Absolutely stunning venue. The staff are professional, polite and couldn't be more helpful The room we had was as good a room as ever stayed in The Spa was THE best we've been to, and, we've been to a few And then there is the food, well what can i say, ate in all 3 restaurants and couldn't fault anything, just fantastic, especially The Pass which is up there with the best I've been to. Thank you South Lodge, we will see you soon John & Siobhan
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Dec 2023
John & Siobhan, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it truly sounds like you had the most wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to your return. Have a lovely Christmas. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beky P wrote a review 24 Feb
1 contribution
+1
Thank you to the whole team at South Lodge who made my friend’s baby shower so special! Everything was perfect from start to finish. Firstly the gorgeous private dining room we booked was breathtaking. We were in a private dining room to the side of The Camellia restaurant which was perfect for the 15 of us. The room is so beautiful as it is so we didn’t need to add much decor. We booked a local supplier , Shelley’s Venue Decor to add a flower wall which looked fab! Sarah as well was incredible. The service was flawless, we had a dedicated member of staff looking after us all afternoon, nothing was too much trouble. A special shout out to the gentleman Lucas Kelly who looked after us. He was warm, friendly and very attentive. And THE FOOD was delicious! It was no problem to cater to our dietary needs and we certainly didn’t leave hungry! Can’t recommend this venue enough! Thank you again and can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Plenty of free parking on site Wheelchair friendly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Beky, I am truly delighted to read that you all had such a wonderful and memorable afternoon at South Lodge and very much hope we have the pleasure of your return in the near future. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samantha M wrote a review 24 Feb
1 contribution
I recently had my baby shower at South Lodge and it was incredible. The room was decorated beautifully. We had plenty of room and were so well attended to. Each guest was greeted at the door and led to our private room. We had afternoon tea for 3 hrs. It was faultless; the service, the food, the atmosphere. It was everything I'd hoped for. Massive thank you to Beky for seamlessly organising everything and for Lucas, who took excellent care of us on the day. Everyone was extremely warm and welcoming too. Cannot recommend this experience enough!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Such a lovely review, thank you. I am truly delighted to read that you had such a wonderful baby shower and very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Kerra, Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Guys Who Dine wrote a review 23 Feb
Nottingham, United Kingdom103 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed in quite a few dog friendly hotels in the UK, and this takes some beating. Everything about this hotel just oozzes luxury and history with hospitality at its very best. With three award winning restaurants and one of the best breakfasts we've had in a long time. All the staff we came across were super friendly,from check-in, bar,restaurants,spa, and room servicing. Thank you for a truly memorable stay from us and our doggies,we loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is plenty of car parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Firstly may I thank you for reviewing your recent visit to South Lodge. We are truly delighted to read that you all had such a wonderful stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Kerra, Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul D wrote a review 23 Feb
1 contribution
We stayed here for one night, the room was OK and the spa facilities were good. The food was however awful - we ate in the bar restaurant and had cod - which was really really poor, the dessert was a cake which had been frozen and not properly defrosted. We booked again the following week to use the spa and we decided to try a different restaurant, on the morning I woke up with flu, so tried to move the booking, but they said they would have to charge me full price for the restaurant booking because they had already bought the ingredients !!!! Really poor service. this will be the last time we stay here. Five star prices with one star service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Good afternoon Paul, I am naturally very saddened to read your feedback. I would like to assure you I have personally spoken to the team members who looked after you as I wanted to investigate your points raised. They have assured me that they went above and beyond to try and assist you, a new booking was made for you and also you did not incur any cancellations charges. It is to my understanding that you have since cancelled your reservation which is a real shame as we would of loved the opportunity to welcome you back to South Lodge and rebuild your faith in our hospitality. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elise wrote a review 19 Feb
Petersfield23 contributions3 helpful votes
From the moment we made the booking to arriving at the hotel, the organisation by the staff was fantastic. We were celebrating as a family my mothers 90th birthday and the staff could not have been more attentive, cheerful and knowledgeable. The bar food, spa food, Camelia restaurant food was all exceptional and the accommodation was very comfortable and looked after all our needs. The spa is the best we have ever been to and is a fantastic addition to an amazing hotel. We’ll definately be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
I am so pleased to read that you all had such a fantastic stay with us celebrating such a special birthday. We look forward to your return in the near future. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel N wrote a review 16 Feb
Aldershot, United Kingdom2 contributions
My sisters and I treated our Mum for her 85th birthday and what a wonderful treat it was. From the moment we arrived the staff were so attentive and friendly, greeting us all by name, wishing Mum a happy birthday whenever they saw her and making a fuss of her. Our room was gorgeous and enormous with superb views over the South Downs from the three huge windows. We ate dinner in the Billiards Bar, delicious and excellent service. Again, the staff were so lovely with Mum, the restaurant manager making a point of talking to her. We enjoyed 'Tom's' cocktail (Tom Hamblet, winner of Masterchef the Professionals 2023). The following morning was spent in the Spa - trying the outdoor wild swimming pool (not for long!) and spending ages in the outdoor vitality pool which was fabulous. We tried the various steam rooms and saunas too. The changing facilities were spotlessly clean, robes and flip flops all provided. Lunch was at the Botanical in the Spa, again, delicious and super, attentive service. A huge 'thank you' to all the staff for making Mum's stay so very special and memorable. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am truly delighted to read that you all had such a wonderful stay with us - especially your mum and very much hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan C wrote a review 9 Feb
Maidenhead, United Kingdom370 contributions388 helpful votes
We went to taste for ourselves Tom Hamblet food that enabled him to win Professional Masterchef, so we thought we’d make n occasion of it and stay overnight too. Overall we did have fun. The staff were friendly and obliging. But let’s start with the food. The menu option is 5 / 5 / 5. Or a selection of five starters, five mains & five deserts. We selected the wood pigeon, (with crispy onions, celeriac remoulade, celeriac puree, 
pigeon and chocolate sauce); along the celeriac, (veloute with pearl barley, fermented celery, BBQ cep, lovage emulsion, crispy egg yolk). Then for mains the beef (fillet with oyster mushrooms, lovage emulsion, pané oyster, salsify, braised beef cheek, oyster and beef tartare) although there was a £10 supplement. Then roast guinea fowl (with lettuce, black truffle, girolle puree, girolles, roasted corn, plus Madeira and black truffle sauce). After that we just went for the cheese. The quality of all of our dishes was excellent (close to Michelin standard) so Tom, his team and the hotel fully deserve their sold out the three month residency. All in all 5* for the food. A shout out to the waiting staff & sommelier. As I mentioned earlier we decided we stay overnight and booked a Balcony Suite. The sweeping views over the grounds are lovely, but in my view a suite implies a separate sleeping & sitting area. Our “suite” (Devil’s Dyke) was disappointing. It was just one room. We thought the furniture and colour scheme was tired and the bathroom dark (all brown mosaic tile). But it was neat and tidy. Would we go back? Yes, but we wouldn’t bother to stay over.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Alan, Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am truly delighted to read that you had such a wonderful experience in the Camellia restaurant. I am however disappointed to read that your room did not meet with your expectations, please be assured your feedback has been shared with the relevant Managers. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne M wrote a review 6 Feb
1 contribution
My daughter and I stayed at South Lodge and we both were looked after so well by all the staff. A big thank you to Monica and Ben in the Pass restaurant, who made our dining experience so special, the food was excellent. Also seeing Tom and his staff preparing meals for the Camillia was another one of our highlights. We have come away with some lovely memories. Thank you all so much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerra Byrne, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
So lovely to read - thank you. I am truly delighted to see that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you have some lovely memories to take away with you. I very much hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best regards Kerra Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lower Beeding area.
PRICE RANGE
£390 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
south hotel lower beeding
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexHorsham DistrictHorshamLower Beeding
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTH LODGE HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 (West Sussex)

Frequently Asked Questions about South Lodge Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Major Mindgames (4.4 miles), Huxley's Birds of Prey Centre and Gardens (3.2 miles), and Horsham Museum & Art Gallery (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carmela Deli, Filippo's Italian Restaurant, and Heritage by Matt Gillan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna, fitness classes, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does South Lodge Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, South Lodge Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does South Lodge Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to South Lodge Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sedgwick Park House (2.3 miles).