We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jenolan Caves House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jenolan Caves House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,174: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff were completely disinterested, which was disappointing when in caves. Almost everyone in every group was upset that they were rushed through the caves and not given time to take photos or enjoy the formations, but the guides seemed to take their time with lengthy chit-chat to particular guests. They turn off the lights when doing this, making the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saraj798
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

A day trip to Jenolan Caves feels too rushed, if you have the time, it is nice to stay overnight, take a stroll around the village and just relax! I booked the Mountain Lodge which is a motel style accommodation. The room is wide and spacious with a small kitchenette. The staff at the reception are helpful and friendly. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank y_c10
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

There has been an effort to maintain the cute charm of this old hotel. minor glitches in shower water quantity can be forgiven. The restaurant menu has little relationship with the web one and we ended up paying much more than we had budgeted for as a result.Staff were polite and helpful. Cave tour to Baal cave was brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penny k
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Jenolan (reservation 158770) and had a fantastic time touring the caves. (Dimond & Orient) The guides were excellent and the caves magnificent. I visited the caves on a trip from the U.S. in 1999 and when my wife asked what I wanted to do on this trip i said “Jenolan Caves”. A couple things were disappointing: The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 525gary
Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for luxury this is probably not the place for you. Notwithstanding our stay was perfectly comfortable. Ate at the restaurant two nights - not 'fine dining' but good restaurant quality (better than pub food) at prices that were very reasonable. The wait staff were good and the period dining room is a real charmer ! Mrs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BtravellerSydney
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like the way that Jenolan Caves offered a wide range of accommodation choices. I stayed in the Caves House, where I had a unit with kitchenette. It was perfectly functional, and meant I could put some things in the fridge and not have to go out for breakfast or dinner. It is not super modern, but had everything I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Sabina W, Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review

Dear Sandra H, Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. I am glad to hear you did enjoy your stay with us at Jenolan Caves House. We hope to see you back in the near future. Best wishes. Sabina

Berkeley Vale, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean, comfortable and very pleasant. The staff right from when we arrived all the way until we vacated our room were friendly, courteous and very helpful. The Dining experience was enjoyable, the selection of food could have been more varied but what we had was delicious. Would recommend a stay to anyone and we would be more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanr291
Sabina W, Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review

Dear allanr291, We appreciate your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially you enjoyed the staff service, cleanliness and the food. We hope to see you coming back in the future. Best wishes.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price it needs a good renovation job. Doors falling off kitchen cupboards, tiles in bathroom cracked, windows wouldn't open - no fans, no air con. The beds were comfortable and linen was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 709evergreen
Sabina W, Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review

Dear 709evergreen, We appreciate your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially you enjoyed the beds and the cleanliness. Regarding the room facilities we would like to inform you that a complete refurbishment is in planning. Our Caves House is heritage listed and we are aware of the need of updating...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had comfortable accommodation in a Mountain Lodge unit. The small kitchenette enabled us to prepare our own breakfasts. The hotel restaurant in Caves House has real atmosphere and is great for dinner. Jenolan is a wonderful location. The caves are spectacular and the nearby bushwalks are good for views and wildlife spotting. A very relaxing stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 141kathy
Sabina W, Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review

Dear 141kathy, We appreciate your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially you enjoyed the restaurant and the caves. We hope to see you coming back in the future. Best wishes.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst the Caves House is 'tired' and needs a refurb, we enjoyed the opportunity to stay in such an iconic place. I had visited the caves several times as a child and always wondered what it would be like to stay in the 'mansion!'. We really enjoyed our stay. Mid week is quite and we had a relaxing sleep. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Maplesden
Sabina W, Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review

Dear David_Maplesden, We appreciate your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially you enjoyed the sleep and the food. Regarding the room facilities we would like to inform you that a complete refurbishment is in planning. Our Caves House is heritage listed and we are aware of the need of updating...

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenolan Caves
18.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
793 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
20.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.7 mi away
Jenolan Cabins
Jenolan Cabins
#1 of 2 in Jenolan Caves
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritage listed Jenolan Caves House has been operating since 1896. Accommodation ranges from backpacker dormitories, self catering cottages, modern motel rooms to our Heritage listed guest house. Dine in one of Australia's last Grand Dining Rooms - Chisolms Restaurant or for something less formal try Jeremiah's Bar or our cafe/bistro. Tours of Australia's most spectacular caves operate daily. Tours range from a leisurely stroll to getting down and dirty with adventure caving. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jenolan Caves House

Address: 4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Price Range: £35 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenolan Caves House 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Jenolan Caves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenolan Caves House Hotel Jenolan Caves
Jenolan Caves Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jenolan Caves House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Murrumba Downs, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jenolan Caves House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“clean, quiet, some battle with the blind but managed it eventually. double bed needs 2 bedside tables with reading lights, ”
 of 5 bubbles 764pennyk, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upmarket rooms that have an ensuite. Other rooms are shared bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles BtravellerSydney, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The kitchenette in the Mountain Lodge unit was a good practical feature. The room and ensuite had had some renovation, although parts of the unit were showing their age.”
 of 5 bubbles 141kathy, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get on the top floor as the floors are wooden and creak. A window at the front looks over the road and activity.”
 of 5 bubbles David_Maplesden, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk to them by phone first and ask a few questions about the room”
 of 5 bubbles MauriceB438, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay