We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Start your review of Lufra Hotel and Apartments
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed for 1 night in January 2017. The location is very good and a great view from the restaurant. We have booked a budget room as we were not going to spend much time there anyway, the room was very small, but had everything we needed. On the negative side: the bathroom needed a plumber, water was leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloyd255100
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review.... We note your comments re the water, but are a bit mystified as to the suggestion on purchasing water in the Restaurant. All rooms are supplied with complimentary bottled water, and fresh water is certainly supplied in the restaurant, but not at a cost. The hotel operates on fresh rainwater as well...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy booking process and good communication with hotel prior to stay. We stayed in a beautiful two bedroom apartment with washer/dryer, two comfortable bedrooms, lovely bathroom with huge spa, modern kitchen and stunning view from the room and balcony. Excellent restaurant and high quality breakfast the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuzzyK
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Great to hear about your stay and the highlights. Look foreward to you joining us again some time soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Parts of the hotel are being refurbished and this was evident in the passageways. Internet was not available in the room, which didn't seem to surprise the staff - It was available in the foyer. We enjoyed dinner, the food was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank djk748
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the review... the WIFI continues to be problematic, but as you identified, always available in the public areas of the hotel. Great feedback on you meal and stay.

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a recently renovated room with a sea view. Although the room was small had a comfortable bed with quality linen. Being opposite the Tesselated Pavement good spot for sunrise photographs. The in house restaurant served excellent meals. The share platters looked amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justjoanne
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Appreciate the feedback on our renos... and the appointments we can and do influence. The sunrises - not that we can take credit for them, are an amazing and brilliant start to the day.

Howrah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight for our Anniversary,warm greeting on arrival by freindly obliging staff,..Dinner in Dining room wondeful with supurb views over Pirates Bay. Unit was Clean and plenty of coffee tea etc, would definately recommend when visiting the Tasman Peninsula.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Wonderful to have you stay with us to enjoy your anniversary.

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a luxurious resort with brilliant amenities and over the top staff. It Tassies, the accomodation is better than adequate, the staff are local and I found very pleasant. The rooms we're always made up ( shower was occasionally slow!) but the balancing factor was the views and the sunrises, I enjoyed my stay there and would be happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your balanced summation of Lufra. Lufra does enjoy a wonderful setting.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Luffa Hotel is located in a superb aera, with fantastic views, refurbished rooms and very good service. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a unique experience given that is located next to the Tessellated Pavement.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexis562
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and also picking up the hot points related to this area.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Our second visit here. Room and apartment fabulous both times - comfortable Gorgeous, peaceful view to wake up to and the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep. Yummy restaurant on site with great staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy784
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and the return visit. Great to hear you were well looked after.

Revesby, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Has great sceneries but far from good dining places. Need to bring lots of drinking water because all the water from the taps are slightly brown. The fridge is weak and the shower's water pressure is weak.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassietrekker2017
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, and disappointed to hear your dissatisfaction with your dining experience. On the water, we supply free bottled water to all our guests, and explain that all our water is harvested from the heavens above or our mountain spring. Incidents of wild weather will effect that, but the colour, but quality of the water is good. Sorry...

Angaston, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms not ready on time. male staff rude on more than one occasion. poor phone reception. wifi useless. no recommendation to stay there. view beautiful though. female staff good ,food ok. and no park for motorcycles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay. Not sure where you stayed in the hotel; WIFI is patchy at times, however always accessible in the main hotel building. Your mobile reception is out of our hands, and surprised that we did not accommodate your motorcycles, which we always accommodate right at the reception door...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglehawk Neck
9.7 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
548 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
286 reviews
10.3 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
364 reviews
11.0 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
82 reviews
10.5 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lufra Hotel and Apartments, at Eaglehawk Neck on the gateway to thew Tasman Peninsula, is a quality character hotel that offers comfortable lodging and meals Our self contained modern 4 Star holiday apartments are your home away from home. We also have 3.5 Star waterview rooms in the original hotel building Budget accommodation for the price conscious traveler. The hotel overlooks spectacular 'Pirates Bay' where surfers are a common sight and whales are often seen on their annual migrations. We serve breakfast and cafe meals daily, dinner and specialty meals for all occasions fashioned from local and quality produce. The Lufra is the ideal place to stage your exploration of the Tasman Peninsula; heritage and convict past and the Port Arthur site breathtaking cliff top walks the world first Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park Tasman Island cruises as well as chocolates, whiskey, kayaking, tuna and game fishing Stay for a day or more to make the best out of your visit to this special part of Tasmania ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Address: 380 Pirates Bay Dr, Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania 7179, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Eaglehawk Neck
Price Range: £57 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lufra Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lufra Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eaglehawk Neck
Eaglehawk Neck Best Western
Lufra Hotel And Apartments Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lufra Hotel and Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lufra Hotel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose room with the ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles lloyd255100, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Two bedroom apartments had beautiful views with private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles JuzzyK, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take an apartment!”
 of 5 bubbles wills68, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable. Bring your own hairdryer.”
 of 5 bubbles _judy_cotton, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“a self contained apartment”
 of 5 bubbles HofH999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5