We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Heemskirk Motor Hotel
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over night at the this great hotel. Had a great meal in the Bistro. Had a great sleep in a very comfy bed. Had a great shower in the morning. Recommend this hotel. Not sure what some of the other travelers are talking about. Do you really need WIFI every where you go? Get over it. (Alan)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie S, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Heemskirk Motor Hotel. Thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Stephanie Sandor

Broome
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

3 best friends - west coast memory lane road trip 3 best friends order a scotch fillet - 1-well done ...thick round still raw circle in the middle - still frozen 1-med rare - sent back it was blue ...come back 20 mins later ...rare now on same plate with the same now wilted cold veg Mine the medium -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BroomeStormz
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BroomeStormz, I am very disappointed to read your poor review of stay at Heemskirk Motor Hotel. We apologise that we were unable to serve you more drinks while you were drinking in our bar. The law states we are unable to serve guests that are visibly intoxicated, so we suggested water, coffee or a meal. After this this you...

Caboolture, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic stay, our accomodation in Strahan had double booked, this place was fantastic. Great last minute booking, bistro was fantastic, ice cold beer and wine and one of the friendliest places we have stayed at in Tasmania. Would happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

After a wonderful experience in Strahan, we arrived in Zeehan for an overnight stay with a big gasp! Do towns like this really exist? There should be a sign at the T junction coming in to town saying 'This town is not equipped for tourists, keep driving'. The motel is very basic and old. Certainly not worth $140 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The poor town looks run down and so does the motel. I think it caters for workers and the whole place is dated and run down. I would not suggest you stay and just drive on. Nothing much good to say about our whole experience at Zeehan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborah f
Hobart
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Little things like a small bedside table beside each side of the double bed are often missed by more upmarket hotels. And at last the motel has a good cook. Lots of friendly young staff on this trip. The motel does well for a bush location and the tariff is in keeping with what is an older motel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dehnem
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We always have a meal here when in Zeehan and today it was the same friendly service and great tasting, generous, value for money meals. The drinks are well priced too. Friendly staff and prompt service makes for a relaxing break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iwonthelotto
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed elsewhere, but ate in the bistro, the service was great, very friendly barstaff and a very well cooked meal. Reasonable prices and a good atmosphere. A welcome steak with vegetables, cooked to perfection, Thankyou! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This motel is overpriced offering poor, outdated facilities ( shower in a bathtub!!), a horrid, poof y lounge, dirty carpet, a weedy ugly outlook, etc.etc. the list goes on! To top matters off they tried to charge me $190 per night, when the booking agent quoted $160 ( still too much). The meal at the attached Oasis pub, supposedly grilled...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 36johannat
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 36johannat, We are disappointed and surprised to read your review. The manager remembers checking you out and that yes, you were incorrectly quoted. This was amended immediately for you when you mentioned the amount was incorrect. The booking agent you used incorrectly stated the room type you booked so we honoured this and gave you a bigger self contained...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We have been very disappointed with the services and reception in Heemskirk Motor Hotel. We had to look for receptionist for 15 minutes and nobody could tell where she is. When she finally arrived, we were told that we could use INternet in the lounge, and this could be OK, because hotel has a nice and spacious lounge where you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nicholas z
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas Z, Thanks for your review. I have spoken with management about your issue and they were aware of your problem. The owner was there at the time with her friend who was able to access wifi so we are surprised at to why you could not? I apologise if the receptionist was difficult to find. Being a small...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
18.0 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
814 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
16.8 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
107 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Price Range: £73 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heemskirk Motor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check your shower and get as far away from the road, smoking area and bottle shop as possible. Stay for a night, but only if you have to.”
 of 5 bubbles GilbertandYumi, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Queen rooms have queen bed, loung & table for 2 so very good size.”
 of 5 bubbles andyj19702015, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose another venue”
 of 5 bubbles Evie2011, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Strahan is only a 20 min drive away without paying exuberant prices for accommodation. Zeehan is a great alternative.”
  • 'The Hemmy'
 of 5 bubbles HumanitarianV4V, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Would not recommend this Motel to travellers”
 of 5 bubbles 500judithd, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5