We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

Traveller (96)
Dining (23)
Room & Suite (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
471Reviews
111Photos
3Q+A
63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 125
  • 74
  • 45
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Having spent a gorgeous afternoon in Castlecomb we wandered into The White Hart in the village to have some good!!! Very rudely told food was finished at 3.30! We drove to Ford to another White Hart which was amazing, food , service and setting were all wonderful, make sure you
Read more
Food was absolutely lovely, assistant manager joe was also extremely helpful. Very warm and homely, scenery was also breathtaking. Felt very calm and relaxed here and i will definitely be eating here again.
Read more
Response from Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart
Responded 1 week ago
Hi BillieBoo1234, Thank you for taking the time to write on our TripAdvisor page! The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at the White Hart and hope you return soon. Kind regards, Adam
Read more
Another successful visit to the white hart! Myself and 2 friends decided to pop into the white hart for some dinner before heading on to Bristol. We were given a lovely table next to the fire in the main restaurant, Ella was our waitress for the evening and we couldn’t fault her
Read more
Response from Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Penster106, Myself and the team would like to thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. Ella will be particularly delighted to read your review. We hope to have you visit again! Kind Regards, Adam
Read more
Staying here, everything is lovely but my god my room is so dusty, the radiator has thick dusty cobwebs all the way through, every surface has dust and the gorgeous bathroom tiles and shower screen are covered in limescale! Needs a good old fashioned scrubbing everywhere!
Read more
Response from Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart
Responded 1 week ago
Hi bob0881040, I am so sorry to hear you weren't 100% happy with your stay on this occasion. Our housekeeper takes great pride in all our rooms so the description you're giving certainly comes as a shock to me! If you would like to discuss the matter any further please don't hesitate to give us a call or email direct to the pub. Kind regards, Adam
Read more
Traveled 40 miles to have food here today with my wife and our little daschund max,and was not disappointed.The Sunday roast my wife had was to die for and my burger was probably the best I'd ever had and I have had some burgers in my time. mulling over the desert menu we opted
Read more
Response from Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi R9895UHpauld, Thank you so much for stopping by for lunch! Myself and the team are so please you had such a lovely meal. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Adam
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Unusual room lighting
Unusually attractive lighting
Nice looking room
PreviousNext
12
This is the managers email response to Fran McGary before his reply on Tripadvisor ???? Seems to have selective memory !!!! in remembering his story ? From: EPOS - White Hart W91358 Date: 26 February 2017 at 22:08:15 GMT To: fran mcgarry Subject: RE: Disappointed Customer Dear Ms McGarry, Sorry you feel it has taken too long to get back to you, this is because of the shift patterns we work meaning I don't usually catch up with all team members until the weekend. Due to full time team members have their days off during the week. I have now been able to speak to your server and the duty manager from your visit. It is our policy to deal with complaints within seven days, I probably should have mentioned that in my previous email, I'm sorry I didn't do that. We offer a selection of vegetarian dishes on our menu, but you are entirely correct we don't offer a vegan dish. We are however more than happy to tailor dishes to suit particular requirements. Or indeed take suggestions on compiling dishes from ingredients from around the menu. We have also in the past catered for vegan groups when given advanced notice. In the case of your visit you were served by one of our newer servers who was less sure about the available options. I would say however I feel that offering a roasted vegetable and goats cheese salad, without the goats cheese is a reasonable suggestion when a guest is vegan. It is unfortunate that our pasta is not suitable for vegans and I have asked my Head Chef to look into changing to a different product. With regards to dessert you should have been offered a fruit salad, I'm surprised this wasn't offered and I'm sorry this didn't happen. But rest assured we have discussed your experience with the team today at our weekly meeting to ensure such requests are dealt with better in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and rest assured myself and the team have taken your experience on board to make improvements to the service we provide. As a goodwill gesture I have made a donation on your behalf to the Bath Cats and Dogs Home. Kind regards Adam Ford General Manager ________________________________ The White Hart Inn Ford Chippenham Wiltshire SN14 8RP 01249 782213
Dear Fran McGarry The reason for the slight difference in my email response and to the trip advisor review is simple I am responding to two different versions of the event. Your original email states ‘She came back after seeing the chef and said, " there's a goats cheese salad ". I said that isn't vegan as it has goats cheese. I asked if the mushroom with linguine was vegan? She said she would find out. Then she came back and said," it's ok the spinach isn't cooked in butter". Ok I said, I'll have that. Then she added that the linguine has egg in it’. Yet on trip advisor you state ‘Waitress offered me a goats cheese salad and linguini that contained egg’ The first paints a picture of a member of my team at least trying to help the other suggests we weren’t trying to help at all. I felt that you had worded this differently to make the situation sound worse, why wouldn’t you just cut and paste the original email rather than re-writing it? After speaking to your server and the duty manager I was fully aware of their version of events, which differ from your own. In my email I said I was “surprised” you weren’t offered a fruit salad, because I had been told you had and I thought this might jog you memory and placate you being unable to order a dessert. Fundamentally my email was a private conversation where I was trying to calm the situation, and therefore not be confrontational. However in a public forum I do feel I should be able to defend the service my team and I provide, when I don’t feel it is being fairly reported. I tried to make a point in both my email and my trip advisor post that, when a guest has specific dietary requirements we are more then happy to work with them to find a solution. But we need them to work with us a little to find it. I fully accept there are limited choices for vegans on our menu, but there are lots of different options if you’re willing to engage with us. Regards Adam
0 votes
think it was after 3 but can call the hotel before, take earplugs if light sleeper as walls thin in couch house
1 vote
Show all answers
"I stayed in Fallow which was a lovely and spacious room."
"Avoid rooms on the ground floor very noisy with slamming doors. Room rather dark and stuffy. Bathroom could have been cleaner."
"some rooms are above the terraced eating area- I wonder if this could be noisy?"
"Don't let them put you in the ground floor over the road"
"Did not stay here, although they did offer rooms"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the white hart hotel chippenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSalisburyFord
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing