We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Hart

TripAdvisorUS$115*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$115*
US$115*
US$115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The White Hart
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 368: English reviews
Start your review of The White Hart
 Click to rate
Hradec Kralove Region, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't stay in the hotel but visited the reataurant. Romantic lovely place by the river. Friendly and helpful staff. Great stop for a drink in the beautiful garden but wouldn't come back for a dinner again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adele x
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Hello Adele Thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you liked the garden. Not sure why you wouldn't want to dine with us again. If you'd like to discuss anything please give me a call 01249782213. Regards Adam

Community of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ended up at the White Hart in CastleCombe due to a mix-up with the GPS and were delighted to learn we were in the wrong place!. After this, we finally found the correct White Hart and were delighted. The rooms are not in the same building as the pub is, so no noise there, and have been recently renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eirey26
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Hello Eirey26 Thank you for the five stars! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Adam

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on the off chance with a couple of friends, and we couldn't believe how lovely the setting was. All staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food was delicious too! I recommend this pub to everyone, whether you just stop for a drink and sit in the beautiful pub garden, or for a lovely meal in the restaurant!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissie_s-1234
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear chrissie_s-1234 Thank you for the lovely feedback, I'm very pleased you enjoyed your visit. We'll see you again soon. Regards Adam

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel has got all the small touches that count. Decent coffee machine in the room, nice toiletries, bath robes, beautiful decor, very clean and pristine. The restaurant/food wasn't anything spectacular but nice quality and came out quickly. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 567oliver
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear 567oliver Thank you for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Adam

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

A great pub restaurant for carnivores but the vegetarian options don't show a lot of imagination. The veggie roast was just a roast dinner without the meat but this wasn't reflected in the price - it was a bit cheaper but not a lot! There are a lot of vegetarians and vegans about these days and, in a restaurant like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Hugh W Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm pleased you were happy with the service you received and I have passed your comments regarding the vegetarian options on the menu to my Head Chef. Regards Adam

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

After a country drive in the spring sunshine we lunched at The White Hart, a tucked away find worth driving to for sure. We had the pork sharing platter and it was delicious, I highly recommend it as long as you are not a vegetarian as it comprised of pork sausages, ham hock, black pudding scotch egg, sourdough bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moira102
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Moira102, Thank you for the review, very pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Regards Adam

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

we checked in here on 18.03.17 after having had a nightmare at our original hotel. We arrived at the hotel with ease we had no problem finding it, we were greeted by the sound of trickling water from the small brook/stream that runs under and around the hotel/pub we crossed the bridge walked through the garden and into the pub....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmyLay85
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Hello AmyLay85 Well thank you very much for the lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in September. Regards Adam

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful establishment in fantastic setting. Very nice service. Asked for med rare 8 oz ribeye. It came cold and med. The truffle butter didn't melt at all. I decided it wasn't good enough and complained. Service was very apologetic and took it away. The replacement arrived in a few minutes. It looked the same (a bit grey) but was under....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Paul D I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your steaks that we served you. And is particularly disappointing to read as we do pride ourselves on our steaks. I can assure you each and everyone is cooked to order and allowed to rest before being served, we would never pre cook steaks. I have highlighted your experience with...

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Roast beef Sunday lunch for me and Roast chicken for my partner just under £30 for both. All the accompanying veg were fresh and tasty and a large Yorkshire pudding with lots of gravy finished off the presentation. Our order was taken within 10 minutes of being seated and served to us after another 10 minutes, so couldn't fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter J
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Peter J Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts, glad you enjoyed the Sunday roasts. Will pass on your comments with regards to the temperature of the plates etc. to my Head Chef. Kind regards Adam

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Went to the White Hart for lunch and asked for a vegan menu or if the chef could do something vegan for me as there wasn't anything on the menu except a side of sweet potato fries. Waitress offered me a goats cheese salad and linguini that contained egg. Also when it can't to desert I wasn't even offered a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank franspaintings
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear franspaintings You are 100% correct we do not have a vegan menu, we do however have a fresh food menu and are always happy to make adjustments to cater for individual needs. It is pretty slanderous to suggest that we offered you dishes that we knew to be not suitable for vegans. Your waitress suggested that we could produce...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ford
1.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.1 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
361 reviews
10.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Ford, Salisbury SN14 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Ford
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Chippenham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Hart staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
4 months ago

This is the managers email response to Fran McGary before his reply on Tripadvisor ????

Seems to have selective memory !!!! in remembering his story ?

From: EPOS - White Hart W91358

Date: 26 February 2017 at 22:08:15 GMT

To: fran mcgarry

Subject: RE: Disappointed Customer

Dear Ms McGarry,

Sorry you feel it has taken too long to get back to you, this is because of the shift patterns we work meaning I don't usually catch up with all team members until the weekend. Due to full time team members have their days off during the week. I have now been able to speak to your server and the duty manager from your visit.

It is our policy to deal with complaints within seven days, I probably should have mentioned that in my previous email, I'm sorry I didn't do that.

We offer a selection of vegetarian dishes on our menu, but you are entirely correct we don't offer a vegan dish. We are however more than happy to tailor dishes to suit particular requirements. Or indeed take suggestions on compiling dishes from ingredients from around the menu. We have also in the past catered for vegan groups when given advanced notice.

In the case of your visit you were served by one of our newer servers who was less sure about the available options. I would say however I feel that offering a roasted vegetable and goats cheese salad, without the goats cheese is a reasonable suggestion when a guest is vegan. It is unfortunate that our pasta is not suitable for vegans and I have asked my Head Chef to look into changing to a different product. With regards to dessert you should have been offered a fruit salad, I'm surprised this wasn't offered and I'm sorry this didn't happen. But rest assured we have discussed your experience with the team today at our weekly meeting to ensure such requests are dealt with better in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and rest assured myself and the team have taken your experience on board to make improvements to the service we provide.

As a goodwill gesture I have made a donation on your behalf to the Bath Cats and Dogs Home.

Kind regards

Adam Ford

General Manager

________________________________

The White Hart Inn

Ford

Chippenham

Wiltshire

SN14 8RP

01249 782213

2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are of the same quality with comfy beds and free wifi”
AmyLay85, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eating not staying, so can comment”
W8657HOheatherc, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room upstairs if you want a lie-in in the morning.”
807Vivienne, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Gloucester Old Spot sausage dish VERY tasty.”
968hazels, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs in creaky old building may be better but most guests were considerate”
justhadtosay, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$115* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$115
PricelineUS$115
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates