We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Hart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Hart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Hart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely relaxed time. Nobody rushed us and there were lovely fires on the go. Nice clean rest room. It's in a lovely area. Taxi from Chippenham station was £14 with tip. V cars would be better next time maybe. The food was good too. I really liked my seafood linguine. Lots of different fish in there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
London
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The White Hart sits in a great position alongside a small river with ample car parking, a beer garden and terrace. We stayed in a a room in a small separate cottage. Our room was quite large and was nicely decorated in a "shabby Chic" style which highlighted the buildings age but incorporated the modern day features of light switches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beentheredunthat
Pompano Beach
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We were here for one night, and were impressed by the building and the food. The bedrooms were large and well furnished, in a newer building than the main inn. It was interesting to see that there was a stream running under the building. Two things to be aware of - although the hotel advertises Breakfast Included, this is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

My mother is a coeliac meaning that she cannot eat gluten because she gets very ill from it. So we asked for a list of allergens, which they didn't have which I would like to remind them is ILLEGAL. The waitress went to the kitchen and asked if there was anything gluten free to which the chef replied the salad....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Abigail W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We were two couples and stayed here for three nights and booked through Booking.com. The White Hart is easy to find in the village of Ford. Our friends were allocated a room in the main Inn and we were in the annex just across the road. Both rooms were comfortable and well decorated in a rustic country style. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JILLE810
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear JILLE810 Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Kind regards Adam Ford General Manager

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

I gave 5 stars in May 2014 and have been a few times since - what a disappointment this time! Food was under done, cold and late. We asked for a jug of water with our initial drinks order - on the 4th request the waiter rushed off saying he'd forgotten - we'd finished our main course by this point....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angeltraveller777
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the White Hart, especially as you had enjoyed yourselves the time before. I also apologise for missing your email we do sometimes have an overzealous security filter! I do appreciate feedback and always endeavor to use any negative experiences to look at the way we operate and to ensure...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

My wife and I spent two nights at the White Hart. We had been planning this trip for many months and were very excited about our visit as the inn looked absolutely lovely. As we drove in we were happy to see it was nicer than we'd even imagined, set in a small valley with a babbling brook running literally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Paul B I'm sorry to hear of your dissapointment during your stay at the White Hart. I do appreciate feedback and always endeavor to use any negative experiences to look at the way we operate and to ensure we strive to prevent them being repeated. Thank you for your kind words about the rooms and the pub itself, we...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

A beautiful cluster of buildings within an idyllic setting away from the main road. A truly charming pub and hotel with all the little extras. A warm welcome and a tour of the room. Not overly large in size but everything you need for a short stay. Very clean and plush, comfy bed, tv, hairdryer, kettle and coffee cafetiere and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loopylou87
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Loopylou87 Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed the brownie - it is a team favourite along with the sticky toffee pudding! Kind regards Adam Ford General Manager

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Very picturesque with a contemporary look but classic feel. The food was nice, our starter was a particular highlight. The steak seemed overpriced (£25) for what it was. It was prefect for a lovely drink and bite to eat on a Sunday afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenuineGrabe
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely Sunday lunch with our two small children. The bar staff were professional and waitress was equally good. The pub itself is lovely and has a beautiful setting. Food was delicious and we can't wait to return. See you next week!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Adam F, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Dear Peter A Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon! Kind regards Adam Ford

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ford
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
604 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Neeld Arms Inn
The Neeld Arms Inn
#1 of 4 in Grittleton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Ford, Salisbury SN14 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Ford
Price Range: £87 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Chippenham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Hart staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

This is the managers email response to Fran McGary before his reply on Tripadvisor ????

Seems to have selective memory !!!! in remembering his story ?

From: EPOS - White Hart W91358

Date: 26 February 2017 at 22:08:15 GMT

To: fran mcgarry

Subject: RE: Disappointed Customer

Dear Ms McGarry,

Sorry you feel it has taken too long to get back to you, this is because of the shift patterns we work meaning I don't usually catch up with all team members until the weekend. Due to full time team members have their days off during the week. I have now been able to speak to your server and the duty manager from your visit.

It is our policy to deal with complaints within seven days, I probably should have mentioned that in my previous email, I'm sorry I didn't do that.

We offer a selection of vegetarian dishes on our menu, but you are entirely correct we don't offer a vegan dish. We are however more than happy to tailor dishes to suit particular requirements. Or indeed take suggestions on compiling dishes from ingredients from around the menu. We have also in the past catered for vegan groups when given advanced notice.

In the case of your visit you were served by one of our newer servers who was less sure about the available options. I would say however I feel that offering a roasted vegetable and goats cheese salad, without the goats cheese is a reasonable suggestion when a guest is vegan. It is unfortunate that our pasta is not suitable for vegans and I have asked my Head Chef to look into changing to a different product. With regards to dessert you should have been offered a fruit salad, I'm surprised this wasn't offered and I'm sorry this didn't happen. But rest assured we have discussed your experience with the team today at our weekly meeting to ensure such requests are dealt with better in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and rest assured myself and the team have taken your experience on board to make improvements to the service we provide.

As a goodwill gesture I have made a donation on your behalf to the Bath Cats and Dogs Home.

Kind regards

Adam Ford

General Manager

________________________________

The White Hart Inn

Ford

Chippenham

Wiltshire

SN14 8RP

01249 782213

12 days ago
Bath, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are of the same quality with comfy beds and free wifi”
 of 5 bubbles AmyLay85, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eating not staying, so can comment”
 of 5 bubbles W8657HOheatherc, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room upstairs if you want a lie-in in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 807Vivienne, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Gloucester Old Spot sausage dish VERY tasty.”
 of 5 bubbles 968hazels, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs in creaky old building may be better but most guests were considerate”
 of 5 bubbles justhadtosay, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5