We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Rodeway Inn South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Jenison, Michigan
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The motel was cheap. Less then $50.00 for the night. The positives were the clean mattress. The cons out weigh the pros. The room we booked wasn't available and were given a room with a double bed on the second floor instead of a single on the first floor. The first thing I noticed about the room was inside of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlynchristensen
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A major confluence was shaping up for Chicago on August 20, so we struck out from a Friday Baltimore swelter to make Lake Michigan. This place - the Roadway South - turned out to be the ideal, strategic "midway to Midway," please excuse. Anyway, I'd say Mr. Hum T's assessment above is perfectly placed. The Roadway South (aka in some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackTea7
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

There was garbage on the table, the Ice bucket leaked, the walls had dirty smears in spots. The sheets were pretty clean, however. The place is rundown and old, but one of the cheapest places to stay near cedar point.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Reviewed 5 September 2016

man what a craphole, I realize I paid less than $70 but c'mon how is this place part of a franchise? The room smelled so bad we had to go and buy scented candles, febreeze and a plug in air freshener( which we left there for the next poor sap). There is no fridge, microwave, free HBO, hair dryer, iron,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soresage
rodewayinnsouthsandu, webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m sorry that you had a bad experience with us. This isn’t an indication of how we usually do business, and I regret your experience. I apologize that we let you down. We’re working to make our hotel better than ever and will do a better job for you next time. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We got a great rate for this place with 4 of us only paying $20 a night for our shared room. Hotel staff was very, very friendly both at night and during the day. However the room was dirty with marks in the ceiling, some stains on the sheets, and dead bugs filling up an overhead light in the bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
rodewayinnsouthsandu, webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your Review. I’m very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Maintenance was informed of the problems you experienced and instructed to take required action. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the guest experience better than ever...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stopped here as we hoped it was a good place to see Lake Erie and I am sure I read on the internet site it was 0.6 miles from the lake (definitely walking distance.) We arrived to discover this was not the case and Lake Erie was actually a few miles away and definitely not walkable. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
rodewayinnsouthsandu, webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and the review.I’m sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We shall definitely look into the overall areas which need improvement as we taken guest reviews pretty seriously.We believe that’s only way to improve.You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Ohio
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We were looking for an affordable option near cedar point for just one night. We were nervous based on the reviews but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Outside doesn't look like much. Pool looks clean. The rooms are not upscale by any stretch but they are clean and perfectly adequate. Carpet and bedspreads appear fairly new. I was relieved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather0908
rodewayinnsouthsandu, webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m Happy you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Metro Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Property is clean but very worn and dated. TV and phone were both non functional and the AC unit needed to run flat out to keep the room even moderately cool. The price is attractive for a single night as an alternative to driving after a long day in the park, but for multiple nights there are better options in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I didn't have high expectations for this motel, considering the price point. Room was relatively clean, beds were fine and neatly made up. There was a hole in the bathroom wall and for some reason that I do not understand, the towel rack was in the shower. We had to leave the hotel at 6am every morning, so we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shlade
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to comment. I'm, very sorry that a problem with the other guests who resists our efforts to quiet them ruined your experience with us, and I'm equally sorry that we were not able to resolve the problem for you quickly. We take our commitment to our guests seriously, and I regret that we let...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 23 July 2016

we stayed here because it was 10mins from cedar point and because of the price. checked in about 6pm, the guy at the front desk was nice, but not very professionally dressed to be the front desk person, i asked if he could put us in a room that was more quiet , away from people with kids, he did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babya71
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to comment. Your comments help us improve. I'm terribly sorry you had a bad experience with us in some ways. Your experience isn't an indication of how we usually do business, and I regret that we didn't do better for you. You deserve a room that meets your needs and exceeds your expectations, and...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#15 of 35 in Sandusky
214 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer free WI-FI, digital cable including HBO, and a seasonal outdoor pool. We serve fresh coffee from 6AM through 9AM every morning. We are just 2 miles from Cedar Point, across the street from Goofy Golf, and minutes from many restaurants! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South

Address: 2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5608
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: £100 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point South
Rodeway Inn Sandusky
Rodeway Inn South Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rodeway Inn South staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles mlynchristensen, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for easy egress.”
 of 5 bubbles JackTea7, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't take the first one he gives you, make him give you one less crappy, it will only be less crappy mind you..”
 of 5 bubbles soresage, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at the front of the motel rather than round the back as the wifi and TV reception round the back was terrible.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinesK5979PO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor if u dont want people banging around all night”
 of 5 bubbles babya71, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay