We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brandywine River Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brandywine River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 347: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't stay here. The hotel is way dingier than other times we have stayed here and now in dire need of renovation--carpet is worn and dirty in the lobby and taped down in places, rooms are rather musty, beds are not very comfortable. The check-in requirements are ridiculous: Even though the room was prepaid, they ask for a driver's license...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Achillea
Management response:

I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected it to be but I do have to say that the hotel is neither dingy nor dirty. As for the rug in the lobby we had taped it down so no one would trip since we were waiting for it to be repaired but as with everything else you need to...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of our favorite places when visiting Longwood Gardens or any other the wonderful places in this lovely area of Pennsylvania. The rooms are most pleasant and the windows open! The afternoon tea and cookies are a special treat but may ruin your appetite for a fine meal at the three dining options within walking distance! Breakfast is fine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmwander
Management response:

We thank you for your great review of the hotel. We really do strive to make every stay a pleasant one. Longwood is wonderful as you know so we hope to see you back with us again. Lisa Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was WONDERFUL! The bedroom was HUGE and the giant bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was AMAZING! It had a two person jacuzzi and a huge stand-in shower. The wallpaper could be updated, but overall, a wonderful hotel! The old, historic charm made it very welcoming! Hotel was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
Management response:

Thank You very much for your lovely review, we pride ourselves on trying to make every stay memorable. You will have to come back and go to Longwood Gardens, the flowers in the spring and summer are amazing. Hope to see you soon remember to call the hotel direct for a great discount. Lisa Manager

Audubon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I'll keep it to the point. This place is filthy. Checked in and killed about 10 bug s in the room. There was a LINE of dead bugs along the wall by the baseboard next to the bed. There was hair in the jacuzzi and the outer tiles were dirty. The jacuzzi didn't fair properly either and while in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbrwb
Management response:

In response to your review, Everyone should know that the room was checked by management the night befor and no one else stayed in that room until you checked in. I went straight up to your room once you left and moved the bed and there was not one bug along the wall, there were some spots of paint along...

Penn Yan
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Longwood Garden's Holiday event. The room (King deluxe) was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings and appreciated multiple seating options for reading and relaxing. Our room was on a corner and nice and quiet. The breakfast was basic but good and the dining area was kept clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Management response:

Thank You for your lovely review. We try and make every night enjoyable. Have a Happy Holiday Season, Lisa Manager

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Nice, large bathroom with walk in shower in an accessible room, but bed was not comfortable. Didn't have option of 2 beds in an accessible room - only one queen. Continental b'fast was average...but choices were many. Helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patripper
Management response:

Yes unfortunately with the enlarged walk in shower it takes us the space for two beds so we have the one queen in there. If a rollaway is needed we can also help out with that. I glad you enjoyed your trip it was nice having you with us. Happy Holidays, Lisa Manager

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We visit family in Kennett Square a few times a year and have stayed in all the local hotels. The standard practice is to overpay for a nondescript cheap feeling room and leave resentful. Not so with the Brandywine River Hotel! Our room there had a comfortable four-poster bed, gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi tub with a separate shower. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pragnostic
Management response:

We were so happy to receive your review and appreciate all the nice things you said about us. We really try hard to have everyone have an enjoyable night or two. Thank You again, Happy Holidays! Lisa Manager

Reviewed 28 November 2016

Hotel is situated in a quiet convenient location from which to venture to Brandywine River valley attractions. The suites are well worth the additional cost to add an extra layer of relaxation after a day exploring. Staff are very accommodating and professional. Look forward to returning for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
Management response:

Thank You for your honest review and are very happy you will be back to stay with us again. Those jacuzzies are great after a long day of walking at Longwood or the River Museum, lay back and just relax. Looking forward to seeing you soon, don't forget to call direct and reming us you are a returning guest. Happy...

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We always enjoy our stay at the Brandywine River Hotel. Always quiet and comfortable. A great get away. Staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoy the afternoon tea time to relax before dinner. Also very nice to have some restaurants within walking distance. It has been our get away place for many years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M W
Management response:

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. Quiet is one thing we can surely offer and hopefully a comfortable room for you to relax in. Happy Holidays! Lisa Manager

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Just of route 1 south behind the restaurants is a very nice hotel that looks small outside but is big inside. It is more like going into someone’s home. The rooms are not your normal configuration but have all the trimmings and more. It is like your own bedroom with en-suite and an extra comfortable coach. We had a Jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
Management response:

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we truly want every guest to have a memorable stay. If your in the area Longwood Gardens is spectacular at Christmas, just give us a call. Thank You, Lisa Manager

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
544 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
23.1 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Meadow, New York
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have no guidance here having stayed in many different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kmwander, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There appears to be one handicapped room so if you are needing it book early”
 of 5 bubbles 539SusanB539, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Although we were on the front side in room 216 sleep was not disturbed by traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grazia2626, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice mountain view. Continental breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles susanmV4657VG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Jacuzzi suite. A true pleasure.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisn112016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5