We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brandywine River Hotel

TravelocityUS$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$146*
US$120*
US$146*
US$146*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Brandywine River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 354: English reviews
Start your review of Brandywine River Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was charming, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was sufficient. I booked this room online and was unknowingly put into a 3rd party website (identical appearance to the hotel's true site). After booking, I received a call from the hotel that the room was booked through a 3rd party and not available (this was 10:30 at night, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
Management response:

I read your review and very confused by it, I spoke with you and did tell you the difference of $10.00 per night, that is what the charge is for a Queen $10.00 less than a king. I would never say it was your fault I just explained how these 3rd parties get a hold of you and your not...

Edmonds, WA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel has wonderful location but is in major need of an update. Rooms are dark with poor lighting, dark furniture and carpet. Our A/C unit didn't work and we had to ask multiple times to get it working. Front desk did provide us with a tiny fan and said we should open the windows.... I explained the screen was ripped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bicostal
Management response:

I'm very sorry you felt I was short with you, I surely didn't think I was, I just explained that it was a process and could take a few minutes. We don't know when there is a problem in the rooms and definitely did not know there was a tear in your screen, it has since been fixed. That night...

Hop Bottom, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This last month we stayed here for the 3rd time. Really like the atmosphere and the cleanliness and location to Longwood Gardens. This last time we realized however that they do not have a secure internet connection. With all the problems lately with Hackers I was afraid to use my computer and only used it for a few moments at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
Management response:

I'm sorry you didn't like the internet service, we had so many problems when a password had to be entered that we changed to not having one at the guests request since we had so many of them. We have never had any problems and our guests seem to like that there is no password. Hope to see you again!...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is mediocre at best; tired, dated, lumpy pillows to match the lumpy duvet. The receptionist, Tiffany, was extremely helpful, accommodating and kind. Helped guide us to the hotel, offered us cookies because we missed dinner. Any hotel would be lucky to have her as their receptionist.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolmcl38
Management response:

It is nice to hear someone complimenting and employee, she is new to our hotel and doing a great job. Thank You for your review. Lisa

NYC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In town for a college graduation and decided to try this hotel. Everything about it is tired and dated, clean and moderately comfortable, but the really poor thing is how they talk to guests. On several occasions I heard them responding to civil people with a complaint about the shower or what you will...each time it was "well it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
Management response:

I'm sorry you took quite a few of the front desks responses out of context, possibly you did not hear the entire conversations with these guests because they did receive the reply of I'm sorry and for the shower guest they did not know how to turn the shower on, once explained they called the front desk thanking us for...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

39 quiet rooms. Very friendly staff. Tea and cookies in the afternoon. Convenient location right in the historic area. Right across the street from the Brandywine museum. What's not to like? Free breakfast and comfortable rooms. Near Longwood gardens. 3pm checkin.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B W
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at this inn several times over the last 20+ years and have always enjoyed the warm atmosphere. It's become a bit worn but that aspect didn't diminish our enjoyment. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the breakfast, though minimal, was good. We definitely will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Granna47
New York
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Don't stay here. The hotel is way dingier than other times we have stayed here and now in dire need of renovation--carpet is worn and dirty in the lobby and taped down in places, rooms are rather musty, beds are not very comfortable. The check-in requirements are ridiculous: Even though the room was prepaid, they ask for a driver's license...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Achillea
Management response:

I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected it to be but I do have to say that the hotel is neither dingy nor dirty. As for the rug in the lobby we had taped it down so no one would trip since we were waiting for it to be repaired but as with everything else you need to...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 30 January 2017

One of our favorite places when visiting Longwood Gardens or any other the wonderful places in this lovely area of Pennsylvania. The rooms are most pleasant and the windows open! The afternoon tea and cookies are a special treat but may ruin your appetite for a fine meal at the three dining options within walking distance! Breakfast is fine and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kmwander
Management response:

We thank you for your great review of the hotel. We really do strive to make every stay a pleasant one. Longwood is wonderful as you know so we hope to see you back with us again. Lisa Hotel Manager

Reviewed 24 January 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was WONDERFUL! The bedroom was HUGE and the giant bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was AMAZING! It had a two person jacuzzi and a huge stand-in shower. The wallpaper could be updated, but overall, a wonderful hotel! The old, historic charm made it very welcoming! Hotel was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casey C
Management response:

Thank You very much for your lovely review, we pride ourselves on trying to make every stay memorable. You will have to come back and go to Longwood Gardens, the flowers in the spring and summer are amazing. Hope to see you soon remember to call the hotel direct for a great discount. Lisa Manager

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
571 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range: £92 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Meadow, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have no guidance here having stayed in many different rooms.”
kmwander, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There appears to be one handicapped room so if you are needing it book early”
539SusanB539, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Although we were on the front side in room 216 sleep was not disturbed by traffic noise.”
grazia2626, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice mountain view. Continental breakfast.”
susanmV4657VG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Jacuzzi suite. A true pleasure.”
lewisn112016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$120* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$146
TripAdvisorUS$119
Expedia.comUS$120
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates