We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Esperanza

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Esperanza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Esperanza
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, accomodation includes a good fresh cooked breakfast. Room is fine although the bed isn't very comfortable and the fan isn't very effective. The ceiling fan spins so hard it seems it will take off, but doesn't result in much breeze. I suggest replacing with a better quality. I love the shady courtyard where you can relax in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome location acros the street from the ocean. I stayed in a private single room with a super comfortable bed. Cool chilling areas with hammocks. Breakfast was good and stuff helpful. Would definately stay there again next time 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaTheGypsy
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The place is a little hostal 15mts. from the beach, Clean and really home like. Staff is helpfull. Wi-fi decent. Lots of foreing nationals (surfers mostly) .The town is really small and safe, locals are really helpfull with tourist ,Bank for money exchange 3 blocks away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We were greeted with enthusiasm and felt safe here. It was comfortable anx clean. Breakfast was spectacular AND GLUTEN FREE was prepared just for me ! The garden in the back was very cozy tons of birds...it felt like I had left the city! Thanks Marco!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rena_Canada
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This jewel's location is perfection. It's about fifteen steps to the beach and a couple more, to reach the beginning of San Juan's "restaurant row". It is a wonderful location for watching a tropical sunset and a perfect base camp from which to explore the town and surrounding area. Our room (private with bathroom) was clean, secure, quiet, and most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gondermann
OurPointofView, Propietario at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your comments, we really aprecciate our guests value our efforts to do a good job. Best wishes for you and hope to see you soon. Happy new year.

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Horrible hostel, don't stay here. Lots of better options in San Juan. Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful dorms where you wont sleep, bathrooms are gross, poor security with open dorms right near the entrance for anyone to walk out with a backpack. Definitely one of the worst dorms I've seen in my travels around the world. I booked 5 nights in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelllar
OurPointofView, Director de Recepción at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi Traveller, we absolutelly like our guests write comments about us, and we like they are fair and constructive doing it, which is not your case. You have been just a moment in our hostel because once you realized you booked a dorm bed instead a private room you wanted to leave. We explained you what the cancellation polices were...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We booked into the Esperanza for our first night in SJDS. Would have stayed longer if the room had some shelving/storage. After three weeks on the road wanted to unpack instead of living out of our suitcase/ backpack. Great location, pretty good common area (miss the hammock) and awesome breakfast included in the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KinderM
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Good location great dorms, in front of the beach. Nice staff, clean, chill spots. I don't understand why the ratings are low. I have nothing bad to say. Included breakfast was decent. They have a restaurant but a little bit more pricey than other places (i haven't tried the restaurant so I cannot judge)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev D
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Fine hostel that has decent double rooms for a good price. Breakfast is included and there's a kitchen to use with free filtered water. Super easy to take a dip in the ocean from here. Staff is somewhat uninterested and sometimes not very informed on what's going on in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veronique L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

So first off, this is a nice hostel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great wifi, if that's your thing, and a solid book exchange too. Most of the rooms join on to the common area, which can be a bit noisey, but didn't pose a problem for us. Unfortunately due to an early shuttle we didn't get to sample the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
48.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
272 reviews
21.1 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
35 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#25 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#44 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#20 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
32 reviews
21.9 mi away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Esperanza staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Esperanza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call in advance if you have any questions (english speacker staff)”
rodrigomH7309VQ, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dorms are pretty busy places and right at near the road. Opt for a private room if you are keen for a decent sleep!”
371mel371, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“NOT the dorms”
lynnes614, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Average rooms”
rpearce0909, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms that have already been renovated”
579CristinaC, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5