We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,037: English reviews
Hampshire, Uk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We last visited Bowood a couple of years ago and our visit this time was even better. We had the Detox Spa package which included a wonderful lunch, relax by the pool, jacuzzi in the winter sunshine, a half hour massage (which we had together in the Tower Suite which made it extra special), a fantastic dinner where the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a fantastic meal for our wedding anniversary in the Shelbourne restaurant. We had 3 courses which were cooked to perfection. All the staff from the barman to the waitresses were excellent and made us feel special. Will definitely be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy J
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My colleague and I had been working on the house, things didn't go quite to plan and so we had to stay over. The hotel I stayed the night before was full and so arrangements were made locally for our stay. We felt slightly underdressed in our work clothes but couldn't have been made more welcome. The rooms were fantastic,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMT63
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The property is lovely - located in the middle of a nice park, light rooms, convenient spa. Staff is friendly and helpfull, food at the restuarant is very nice. Nice place for a relaxing break with the family, good with kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank albu123
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Love Bowood - understated elegance with great service, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Perfect venue for many different occasions and good value. I've lost count how many times I've visited now. Some spa weekends, private dining with staff and visits with friends - it ticks all boxes!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I meet up every 6 months with a girlfriend from London - we always choose a hotel with a Spa, as we use the time to unwind and de-stress with some treatments, a swim and good food. Bowood Hotel has just ticked all the boxes for us - some great treatments, very friendly staff, fabulous bathroom with premium toiletries, cafetiere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anne M, Wow, what fabulous feedback and thank you so much for leaving it. I'm very happy that you had such a fantastic stay and that you would happily return to experience more of what Bowood has to offer. Perhaps if you stay again in the Summer, you can explore the beautiful Bowood House and Gardens as well as...

Chippenham
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice room and really lovely setting. Great gym and nice spa. Room service food not brilliant as mine was cold but very good customer service and didn't charge for my order which was appreciated. Couldn't fault the staff!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie S
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Josie S, Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay. I'm so glad to hear that you managed to use a number of the facilities we have on offer at Bowood and that we surpassed your expectations with the level of customer service we offered you. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Trowbridge
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a treat for us to see in the new year. We've never been before and was expecting a nice treat. We were not disappointed. We had no problems checking in. Polite staff. Extremely impressed with the room. We were on the top floor. the bathroom was immaculate very spacious. The room was just as exceptional. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on the New Year's Eve package. I'm delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and that we met your expectations by providing you with the nice treat you were looking forward to. I have noted your comments regarding the...

Swindon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only one issue which was there was a dead fly on my windowseil. The food was cooked to perfection. The house is kept to a good quality of standardays. All in all you made my woman happy so that means I'm happy so thank you. X

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannyf539
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear dannyf539, Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay, including the food and that you left happy. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Bisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Bowood Hotel yesterday for afternoon tea. The food was delicious and plentiful and the service excellent. As one of our party was a vegetarian she was offered alternative sandwiches and nothing was too much trouble. The tea is priced very reasonably at £17.50 per head and it was well worth the trip out. We will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleurt123
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fleurt123, Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your Afternoon Tea yesterday. I'm very pleased to hear that it seems to have surpassed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon for lunch next time maybe!

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
655 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
612 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
558 reviews
9.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
369 reviews
13.5 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: £129 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room at the back will give you fabulous views of the beautiful grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles jbumley, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room 222, was quiet and pleasant, rooms to the south might be slightly quieter, with terrific parkland views.”
 of 5 bubbles J3319EXtonya, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we only had two rooms, both good and I think all will be good and quiet situated where they are.”
 of 5 bubbles franfurlong, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS2895FV, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you visit boxwood house with free entry when you stay at the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 847gailm, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay