The Kings Arms Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#3 of 3 inns in Malmesbury
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make The Kings Arms Hotel their inn of choice when visiting Malmesbury. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a historic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at The Kings Arms Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with public wifi.

An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to The Kings Arms Hotel, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Malmesbury steakhouses such as Thomas Of Malmesbury, which is a short distance from The Kings Arms Hotel.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a historic site, such as Malmesbury Market Cross.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Kings Arms Hotel as you experience all of the things Malmesbury has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range

Location

29 High Street, Malmesbury SN16 9AA England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Bristol Airport
29.8 mi
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
71.1 mi
See all flights
36Reviews1Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 4
  • 1
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marilyn wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Wednesday night pouring with rain decided not to travel home after a busy day in the area. Came across the Kings Arms hotel. Charming building and obviously recently refurbished. We were offered a room but were told breakfast was not available because the hotel was so quiet. Seemed unreasonable that somebody could not be available to make some coffee and cook a couple of rashers and an egg. However we were too tired to go elsewhere so took the room - £90. Overpriced.
The television didn’t work. However after a discussion we were moved to another room. Noisy. Nowhere to put clothes. Bedside shelves which are 5 inches wide. Bizarre! The manager had told us the hot water takes a long time to come through but run it and it will. The following morning my husband started the water running in the shower whilst he was shaving. By the time he was ready to shower the water was still not hot. The control to turn the shower on was so stiff it was almost impossible to turn and the temperature control would not move at all. He had a virtually cold shower. I then followed him needless to say the water was still cold. Then I realised there was no hairdryer in the room. Disaster. We were pretty fed up by then.
Packed our stuff to leave about 8.30 to try to find some coffee and breakfast in the town. Went downstairs where I was going to mention the above but there was nobody in the place.
Would also add the hotel does not do meals - only a very mundane tapas menu.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Hi Marilyn, thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry we didn't hit the standard with you on your stay, particularly with the hot water. Despite extensive refreshments there are some remaining quirks of being in a historic building. As mentioned we do not currently provide breakfast, but are more than happy to recommend some fantastic local cafes on the doorstep where breakfast is served. We do take the lack of breakfast into account with our pricing, and we believe our prices to be incredibly competitive for the standard of accommodation we provide. We hope to present an improved stay for you if you visit in future. Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tup wrote a review Aug 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were small but good use of space. No hairdryer in case you forget one like I did! Parking available right outside room (through narrow coach entrance) no breakfast being served due to covid so cannot comment on food. Lovely outside seating area outside rooms with lovely views and closes at 10pm so not to bother residents. Centre of town situation so once parked up no car needed to wander around.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Hi Colette, Thank you for your review! We appreciated hearing where we did well and where we can improve. We hope to see you again! Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L B A wrote a review Sept 2021
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was worried about my upcoming stay due to reading some of the reviews, but I didn’t have much to worry about. Coming from someone who is usually hard to please, I was very happy with my stay here.

I arrived a little earlier than planned, but the room was quickly made available for me. The room itself was in the courtyard and had clearly been refurbished in recent time, making it modern yet cosy. I would recommend one of these rooms if travelling with small children or elderly relatives.

I find it odd that people are complaining that certain facilities aren’t available, e.g. hair dryer and irons. I asked for both of these things from reception without any hassle, which included an impressive dyson hair dryer. Similarly no issues with water pressure or temperature. All excellent.

It would appear that breakfast service had resumed. However, I wasn’t told about this upon check-in. I would say though that breakfast is a light continental option, but is fine to get you going and there are lots of excellent cafes near by. The chap serving was very good!

The only real room for improvement I could suggest would be to stick a few extra bits onto the breakfast, e.g. mini pastries. Also, a little more TLC with regards to cleaning. The bathroom sink area hadn’t been fully cleaned prior to my arrival and there were dust build ups. You’ve got lovely new refurbed rooms, don’t age them before their time!

Overall, a lovely stay at a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you for reviewing us and for confirming you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear! We will strive to improve to hit the 5* mark. We hope to see you again in future :) Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea B wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a twin and double room for myself and my elderly parents to attend my nieces wedding near by. I was very disappointed with the size of the single beds which were very narrow probably 2 feet 6 inches wide.The room was pleasantly decorated but could easily have accommodated 2 standard 3 foot beds, or even 3/4 beds, and the beds were also quite high which my mother really struggled to get into. There were tea and coffee facilities but no instruction on how to use the coffee machine so the coffee in my mothers words was "disgusting". The reading lights next to the beds appeared not be working in both the rooms but my father found out next morning from a member of staff, there was a tiny switch you had to press in conjunction with the dimmer switch, again no instructions in the room. The one thing that I want to report though is the shower has a plastic tray that and in my opinion is quite unsafe as extremely slippery when wet. My mother was unable to use the shower as she was worried about falling, and felt it would have been too dangerous. This was the same in my father's room he said he felt very unsafe using his shower. This was reported to the manager next day who did not seem overly concerned. The twin room could also have benefited from a full length mirror and a place to put the soap whilst using the shower.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will take your comments on board so we can improve for all guests. We try to make ourselves readily available to provide assistance for any queries, such as with the nespresso machines or switches - we ask guests to just ask if they're unsure. We will look into providing instructions where we can. We are also very sorry to hear your parents felt unsafe in the shower. We want all guests to feel safe and secure in our hotel. Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andy m wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on New Year's Eve 2019. There were 3 couples in our group so we stayed in 3 double coach house rooms all next to each other. What a great experience it was..we all loved the newly refurbished rooms and the service was super friendly of this family run venue.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you for your lovely review! We are very proud of our renovations and it's great to hear that they are well received. We hope to see you again! Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brtgu24 wrote a review Aug 2020
Woking, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked two nights in room 17 Twin Beds £200..The room didnt look finished. There is no razor point in the bathroom or in the room. The shower does not have any receptacle for soap etc and there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang towels.Also no toilet roll holder. The TV didnt work and there was no remote. The room doesnt have a wardrobe-just a few hooks.the twin beds were the highest i have ever seen and narrow. We left at 3pm next day and room had still not been made up. No one available in bar area to tell. Also its worth noting the very narrow entrance to the car park and rooms.Its back to The Old Bell in future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear that the minimalist aesthetic in our hotel wasn't right for you. We've tried to make the visuals and facilities as clear as possible on our website and across booking sites, but we will take a further look to ensure this is the case. Due to the pandemic, our rooms rooms are serviced to a minimum during a stay (so not made up/fully serviced until guest departure) to help protect our staff and guests from unnecessary risk. This is explained on the website, but we will ask staff to ensure explained in person/when booking. Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AsdarRotu wrote a review Jun 2022
Newcastle, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfectly located with friendly staff and a lively atmosphere. Our room was above the alleyway entry to the car park, small but efficiently laid out with a slope to the floor that befits such an old building. Really comfortable bed. Surprisingly quiet!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gladys wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
£120 per night is poor value for no breakfast, no service of room, poorly maintained shower room and poor heating in a noisy room. Bar staff explained the lack of housekeeping because of covid protocols. Yet bar staff do not wear masks nor ventilate the public areas.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry that you did not find value in your stay. We don't serve breakfast at The Kings Arms, but instead we are happy to recommend lots of local cafes on our doorstep that we are delighted to support. We have been working hard to manage our covid precautions to keep everyone safe. We review these regularly, so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcp93627 wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was dirty, tea stains on the wall? Bathroom sink didn't drain properly even if tap was barely on water would build up. Shower water was extremely weak. Pillows scratchy. Stains on carpet. Members of staff in bar at 1.30am making noise, had to call reception and ask them to stop. Rang by a woman after leaving accusing us of not paying. We did pay but the card didn't go through on their side. Also nobody behind reception desk at checkout time. Left keys in the drop box and the same woman on the phone accused us of not leaving our key? Rude, would not stay again. Better places to stay in malmesbury don't waste £120. No breakfast either.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Agency / Consultant at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry your stay was not up to the standard we expect. Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnyperks wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the New Stable rooms over Christmas; just been refurbished late 2019, very good quality and excellent Price. I had room deal only no food (so cant comment on food) Have stayed here before the refurbishment, Kings Arms is now under New management. They've done an excellent job on the refurbishment. Outstanding shower, plenty of room. Top of the range latest Flat screen TV with the latest Freeview Play, including Netflix and Amazon Prime and others (bring your own account passwords). I've stayed in so many Hotels even 5 * and the TV service is always well below par, poor choice and poor picture quality. The Kings Arms have the latest Flat Screen TVs and Freeview Play. The very Best I've ever encountered in any hotel anywhere. Supper firm bed, the best sleep ever. Friendly family run service. Very happy Will come back and stay soon. Many Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: New Stable rooms - just been refurbished late 2019 Very Good Quality Outstanding Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaac T, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you for your fantastic review! It's always great to hear that someone has returned after the renovations, and even better to see such fantastic thoughts on the TV and facilities. We look forward to your return stay! Kind regards All the team at The Kings Arms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DianeP642 asked a question Jun 2016
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom24 contributions61 helpful votes
My family are all stopping here for a family party early July. We are in room 7, anybody know what its like. Any tips
Answer from Tim P
Gosport, United Kingdom43 contributions36 helpful votes
If I were you I would change your booking. I have stayed here and would never stay there again.
Tania H wrote a tip Nov 2023
LONDON1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I didn't stay in the main pub but the stable rooms I would definitely recommend. "
Read full review
heatherwhite50 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Newbury, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take note of the warning on the website about narrow entrance. Put your wing mirrors in unless your car is small."
Read full review
rscallen2015 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom126 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you get the room you ask for!"
Read full review
largogoldoni wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom85 contributions61 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid going there"
Read full review
Scott T wrote a tip Jun 2022
San Diego, California2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay in the corral rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malmesbury area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsMalmesbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KINGS ARMS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kings Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Malmesbury Abbey (0.1 miles), Athelstan Museum (0.07 miles), and Malmesbury Market Cross (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michael's Butchers, Bistro & Deli, The Birdcage, and The Summer Cafe.
Is The Kings Arms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Malmesbury.
Are pets allowed at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Malmesbury Market Cross (0.06 miles) and Tetbury market house (4.7 miles).
Is The Kings Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Malmesbury HotelsMalmesbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MalmesburyHotels near The Kings Arms Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire