Castle & Ball Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castle & Ball Hotel

Traveller (109)
Room Number 24
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 4 hotels in Marlborough
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Room features
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Eastleigh Airport
36.4 mi
See all flights
Bristol Airport
42.2 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles936 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Castle & Ball Hotel stands out for its old-world charm that captivates guests, offering a cozy and inviting pub atmosphere that pairs well with its modern amenities. While service is typically lauded for being friendly and helpful, it's not without occasional lapses. Travelers appreciate the cleanliness and comfort of the well-appointed rooms, which fuse historical elegance with contemporary conveniences, despite some remarks about dated areas. The hotel's value, however, is a point of contention, as some guests consider dining options overpriced. Despite this, the amenities, including the praised culinary offerings, are often a highlight for visitors.
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
936Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 343
  • 351
  • 147
  • 62
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roving MC wrote a review Oct 2020
Ringwood, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled from Bournemouth by motorbike, on the first day of our holiday, through lovely sceanery and fair weather to Marlborough. We chose the Castle and Ball as we were looking for a hot snack. Hand sanatisers are available at the entrance and the check in person was welcoming, efficient, well informed of procedure and directed us to out table. There is clear information about contactless payments, clear directions regarding the one way system in the building. The staff dealt with difficult visitors very well, firmly and fairly to keep everyone safe.
The food was very tasty, well priced and enjoyable. We hope to return at another time :-)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C R, General Manager at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and found us COVID safe. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnPalmerUK wrote a review Jul 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In 2020, decent WiFi connectivity is a basic requirement and our experience of this at the Castle and Ball was poor. We had to tether our mobile phones to download our newspapers and emails onto our tablets. Breakfast was hit and miss, with a 15 minute wait for a menu on our first morning, and inconsistent food and service. All hotels have to get breakfast right, and be consistently good, as it creates such an important impression of how the hotel/kitchens are run. Greene King need to invest in this hotel as its location and car park are great, but we did not feel it was good value. The Premier Inn near Tesco will be our choice when we return to Marlborough in 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Creaky floorboards to be expected as this is an old building
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C R, General Manager at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Ann P, it is really disappointing to hear that your experience was anything less than great, and your feedback will be taken on board.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
CRPOxon wrote a review Jan 2022
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Funny old place this. As an old coaching inn you expect it to have character & the sloping floors & low beams in the rooms were all part of the experience. But, for the price being charged, i expected more. The bed we had was very hard, the bathroom basic and dates. The tv was tiny with just a few channels and the wifi was weak & unreliable. Breakfast was average at best - why hotels can’t invest a bit of money in quality sausages & bacon is beyond me, it all just tasted cheap. Staff are friendly & helpful though.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 1 Feb 2022
I'm very sorry that you didn't have the best experience with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chronocase wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Castle & Ball Hotel several times previously and always enjoyed our stay. Having not stayed there for about 2 years, we decided to visit again but this time we noticed things have changed and not for the better. Our room was fine with a comfortable bed and was quite quiet away from the road. The bathroom was fine except the lack of hot water. At 8am the water for a shower was tepid at best and the hand basin water was tepid and running cold. The room above us became rather noisy during the night with other guests moving about on a very squeaky floor.
Breakfast in the morning had a good selection and we started with fresh cut fruit. Surprisingly despite looking quite good the taste was stale and a bit sour, so we didn't enjoy that. Then I ordered vegetarian full English and my wife had the regular full English and both were very disappointing.
The hash browns had a rather bitter taste, the vegetarian sausage was equally unsavoury, the poached eggs were insipid yellow and almost hard. Even the mushrooms had a stale bitter taste. The beans were typical savers can of beans.
The coffee was ok but not hot but the toast was fine.
We were both very disappointed and could not eat all the breakfast due to the unpalatable taste.
I noticed the dining room really needs a revamp particularly the upholstered chairs which were nothing short of filthy. Stains all over.
We did not enjoy the our stay one bit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get the top floor away from the road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Jeffries, Other at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Please accept our apologies for the shortfalls during your visit. We will pass on your comments to the relevant departments and ensure we address the issues raised.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charles a wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was recommended to stay here by somebody who had only been for breakfast. I would rate breakfast as a 4 out of 10, Quality of food was very poor.
We had room 38 and dreaded the walk to and from the room as so many short/steep stairs to climb. Door part way up opened out on the stairs, which was impossible to get by with a large suitcase. Stairs and corridor carpets are in a very poor condition with holes and overall threadbare.
Room was large but the TV was not working properly, the light in the wardrobe was flashing on and off , light fixture was loss and the safe in the wardrobe did not work. When the front desk guy opened up the cover it was clear that with 4 corroded AA batteries in it it had probably not worked in a long time. Overall poor maintenance.
Room furniture and decoration are very tired.
Room on the front of hotel so very noisy with traffic was all night. Had to have windows open due to high temperature.
Breakfast on first day was poor, fresh fried egg yolk had been baked hard as it had probably been left under a heat lamp too long. Sausage limp, not like a normal full meat sausage.
Price paid was £472 for 3 nights, the New Premier Inn would have cost me £350, has airconditioned rooms and breakfast at Premier Inn's are always outstanding.
Having stayed at lots of hotels around the world over the past 40 years I would say that this was my worst experience.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, and suggest that Greene King Inns send their quality manager to review this hotel as it is damaging their brand image.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you for leaving us review. Customers are always encouraged to request rooms on the lower floors if they may have difficulty with the stairs, and we are always happy to help with luggage. As we are on a busy High Street, there will always be noise from outside, I'm afraid there is nothing that can be done about that, however, like with the 2nd floor bedroom, guests can request back facing rooms. I am truly sorry you didn't have a good stay with us, we try our very best to give all customers a great experience, and most do love the quirkiness of a listed building with so much history.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cardiardaith wrote a review Aug 2020
Wales, UK
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing value if you book a two night leisure break on Greene King website. £50 b&B a night for a superior double full of character with a chaise longe, easy chair and ottoman at end of bed. Very creaky floors but it is a very old historic building. The furniture in public areas and rooms might be more shabby than chic and the food more basic than in other hostelries in town but the character of this old coaching inn, location on main street , free parking accessed via an archway by hotel entrance and friendly young staff make it an excellent choice and very good value. Luxurious Room at Travelodge prices .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Worth the £20 extra on leisure break rates for a superior room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C R, General Manager at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our hotel overall good value and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
planes_tranes_autos wrote a review Sept 2020
Leesburg, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Castle and Ball is our favourite place to stay when visiting Marlborough. Our most recent visit was for several days in early September and we had a lovely stay. Our rooms were meticulously clean, comfortable, and quiet. We felt very safe with proper sanitisation and social distancing procedures in place. The Castle and Ball's location is ideal, being situated right on the High Street. There is a car park in the rear for hotel guests. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the dining room. Special thanks go to Ben, a member of the staff, who was particularly helpful with our many questions. He was also able to find us a table for dinner even though we didn't have a booking. I highly recommend the Castle and Ball for anyone planning a visit to Marlborough, both as a wonderful, safe place to stay, as well as have a nice meal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C R, General Manager at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for your kind review. During these strange times we're still doing our best to keep you all happy with our usual high standards and I'm pleased you received them during your visit. We shall pass your kind words onto Ben as I'm sure he will be pleased. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Tann wrote a review Jul 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked to stop here on the way home from Wales. Marlborough High Street is very traditional with a good range of shops and lots of cars parked in the middle. The Castle and Ball is approximately in the centre on one side and it isn't obvious at first but there is a narrow road way through a arch to parking at the back of the hotel. It was easy to check in at the desk near the door out to the car park. We had booked a superior room, number 4. It was at the front of the hotel above the bar. The room was large and as well as a double bed had a bed settee and arm chair and coffee table with plenty of space as well as a dressing table and Refreshment tray. There was a hallway to the bathroom with a wardrobe. The bathroom had a shower over a bath. The room was clean and tidy. Some of the furniture looked little dated but the bed was very comfy. We were pleasantly surprised that we didn't hear much noise either from the bar or main street outside
We had our evening meal in the hotel which was a roast that we both enjoyed. Service was good.
Breakfast was excellent .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret Hung wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. It's a lovely place, the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful, there's free parking and wi-fi, so what's not to like?

Well, the bathroom which was very small and, most inconveniently, there was no shelf on which to put our toiletries. The hotel does not supply toiletries, except for liquid soap for basin and shower, so bring your own. We balanced our shampoo and shaving cream on the sloping edge of the bath. If you want a bath, you risk them falling into the water. V

Also irritating was the wi-fi, which was very weak in our room (no 32, I think). Sometimes, my phone wouldn't connect.

Breakfasts were good but not outstanding. We didn't eat there for lunch or dinner as there are several good eateries in Marlborough itself.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Thank you for the kind feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire161616 wrote a review Jun 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service we received, especially from Claire, was outstanding. We had a small, safe, socially distanced gathering for my Dad’s 90th - with our balloons and decorations that we were very kindly helped to put up - and it was wonderful. All our needs were met and we had a raised area away from the main restaurant all to ourselves, very clean too. We stayed overnight and the room was great too, with a large 4-poster and balcony at a very reasonable rate. Thanks to everyone there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C R, General Manager at Castle & Ball Hotel
Responded 4 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for the lovely review! Great to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves, we hope you will be back soon for another visit. Best wishes, The Castle & Ball Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jivebanana
Coulsdon, United Kingdom617 contributions236 helpful votes
We were there on a Sunday evening and had dinner. As it is a hotel and pub it is a seven day service so I cannot foresee any problems.
Answer from Owlincallington
Callington, United Kingdom1,271 contribution315 helpful votes
The castle and ball does have parking facilities, it doubles up as a public car park. The hotel will issue a permit. Not sure regarding cycle storage.
Alex S asked a question Feb 2015
Southampton, England, United Kingdom27 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there disabled access to any of your rooms?
Answer from Old_English_Inns99
Birdlip, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We do have 2 bedrooms that are on the ground floor, however there are still 5 steps down to them. They have large walk in showers instead of baths. There is a small step into the main hotel. I hope this helps, but please feel free to call me directly with any other questions. 01672 515201
Helen K asked a question Dec 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom60 contributions19 helpful votes
How near is it to Wadworth Brewery?
Answer from Helen K
Coventry, United Kingdom60 contributions19 helpful votes
Thank you.
Seamus wrote a tip 4 Jul
Dublin, Ireland18 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking and care with booking"
Read full review
malcolm lomax wrote a tip Jun 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom28 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Tim M wrote a tip Jun 2024
London, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel Carpark very good and valuable in high st"
Read full review
Mark Sellwood wrote a tip May 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom70 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking to rear of hotel as well as in town centre"
Read full review
Island_Andrew wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ryde, United Kingdom66 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre-book your table as this place can get very busy at lunchtimes."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marlborough area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the castle and ball hotel, the castle ball hotel, castle ball marlborough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireMarlborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLE & BALL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Castle & Ball Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castle & Ball Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marlborough (0.1 miles), The Merchant's House (0.07 miles), and St. Peter's Marlborough (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle & Ball Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Castle & Ball Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Castle & Ball Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle & Ball Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bunce's, Mercer's of Marlborough, and Tipi Tapa.
Is Castle & Ball Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Marlborough.
Are pets allowed at Castle & Ball Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle & Ball Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Sanctuary Circle (4.3 miles) and Falkner's Circle (4.8 miles).
All Marlborough HotelsMarlborough Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MarlboroughHotels near Castle & Ball Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire