We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wiltshire

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wiltshire
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights whilst working close by. Checked in nice and easy by a friendly member of staff lovely room very clean and great comfy beds. Breakfast was lovely buffet style. Good range of beers in the bar had two evening meals both spot on the staff are really lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul-stanfield1
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed last March, there were 12 of us a Golf Society.The rooms were more than adequate, breakfast excellent staff very friendly all in all an excellent stay.Our only problem was that the course was wet!!! but I suppose Cine our contact there cannot control the weather.The course itself is a good challenge for our group whose handicaps range from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishingale
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a current member of the club I just wanted to share some constructive feedback that I (and a few others) have noticed about the general cleanliness of the gym and the gym equipment. Over the last few months the cleanliness seems have gone rapidly downhill and whilst I accept it's a place where people go to get hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bassettbanger
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the leisure facilities at The Wiltshire – as disappointing as it is for us to read this. We pride ourselves on our service levels and standards of quality in all departments and we are obviously concerned about your experience. With this in mind, we would like to extend an...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight after a Christmas party, what a fantastic stay from start to finish. The room was excellent,lovely,clean and spacious (try and book room 227) Very helpful,polite and friendly staff, excellent leisure facilities - What more could we ask for !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmc12016
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the Christmas party. Your feedback on our team is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Here for Christmas lunch over all very good had the lamb but the sauté potatoes were much to greasy why use so much fat spoilt the meal much better to use roast potatoes. We were well looked after. Would come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littledid
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you were well looked after and found the meal to be very good overall. We have noted your comments on the sauté potatoes and have passed this on to the Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stated here for just 1 night after visiting Westonbirt arboretum enchanted Christmas event. The welcome at reception was excellent the room spacious and spotless with huge fluffy towels and quality toiletries. The bed was comfortable and it was great to have a full size flats creep tv instead of the silly 12 inch ones often found in hotel bedrooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Wow! What a fantastic review - thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Wiltshire with the Tripadvisor Community. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us overall, and your generous feedback is much appreciated. We will pass on your comments to all the staff who will be...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here and put on a conference. There seemed to be a bit more if a civilised atmosphere this time and the rooms, which have always been excellent value with the facilities on offer, seem to have been spruced up a bit. The food is very good and the conference facility well organised and professionally run. Harmeet is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IHC2008
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

It's always great to read such fantastic - and much appreciated - reviews from guests following return visits to The Wiltshire. We are so pleased that you had a great experience overall, and Harmeet will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back to The...

Lincoln
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Friday and Saturday a great price excellent hot breakfast had so many cold scrambled eggs at other hotels . Really nice room tea coffee and biscuits great staff a nice pool and big gym close to Wooten basset centre small but quaint nice pubs there . I only have good things to say about this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou504
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your commendation is much appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again when next in the area.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Lovely greeting form staff member on arrival, and all reception staff friendly ,polite and helpful, a credit to the management. Twin room good, comfortable, clean and on ground floor. Also at this Hotel is a beautiful warm pool , steam room, sauna and hot tub and gym. The restaurant food was very well presented and tasty, we chose from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pippa599
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and share your experience with the Tripadvisor Community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly pass on your comments about the great service to our team. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the temperature in the Restaurant and apologise for the discomfort....

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for one night. Room comfortable and clean and reception staff friendly and welcoming. Buffet breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot buffet items and the option of items cooked to order from the kitchen. Would definitely stay again and is in an excellent place to explore the surrounding area

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craigsills
Cine D, General Manager at The Wiltshire, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you! I am so pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us, and your comments on the room, staff and food are much appreciated. I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Wootton Bassett
2.2 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
346 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
7.0 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
654 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
356 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wiltshire Hotel is situated in the Wiltshire Countryside, and offers 58 hotel rooms, 2 golf courses - a 9 hole course and an 18 hole course, restaurant and sports bar, beauty spa, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and conference and event facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wiltshire

Address: Lyneham Rd, Royal Wootton Bassett SN4 7PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Royal Wootton Bassett
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wiltshire 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Wiltshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wiltshire Hotel Swindon
Best Western Swindon
The Wiltshire Royal Wootton Bassett
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wiltshire staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
12 days ago
Wokingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chepstow
7 months ago
Swindon, United Kingdom
Chippenham, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Wiltshire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No complaints about our rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles fishingale, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and book room 227”
 of 5 bubbles mmc12016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all good rooms nearer bar is less walking”
 of 5 bubbles sharpoddsonrichard, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go if you are a couple - for business guests!”
 of 5 bubbles LexiRae1997, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the car park as we were disturbed early by noisy golfers arriving to tee off!”
 of 5 bubbles 977keh, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay