We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Star Inn

3 High Street, Upton upon Severn WR8 0HQ, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Clive's Fruit Farm
    0.8 mi
  • 3 star hotel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
What a refreshing change!
Ended up there purely by chance Boxing Day afternoon. Surprised... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Kidderminster
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel and had to search out reception staff. Shown to room which was austere but clean. Bed had a broken spring , TV was located on a wall beside the bed and could only be viewed from an old single chair with another broken spring. When TV was swivelled to allowing viewing from the side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chudlt
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ended up there purely by chance Boxing Day afternoon. Surprised to find they were still doing food, so sat down with family to drink some excellent beer. Landlord & landlady made us feel very welcome & went out of their way to cater for our three year old grand-daughter. The food was first rate, the highlight being REAL chips, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom b
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We didn't stay at the Star, we were there for a funeral wake. The staff treated us especially well and were so helpful. They had food laid on and all drinks were available . Tea coffee etc. It is a very special building and lovely and clean. A very homely lounge with a big log fire was very welcoming ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
star inn H, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is always a great pleasure for us when our guests appreciate our hotel and our team. We work hard to make such an unfortunate day as smooth running and as pleasurable for all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. Kind Regards Martyn, Jenny & the Team!

Callington
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We never expected much from a Saturday night stay at a pub but it was acceptable. Yes the rooms are old and a bit tired, but it was comfortable and we slept well. We were sited at the front of the hotel above the bar so it was quite noisy until 11pm but that's what you have to expect in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuart w
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We booked this hotel online in advance as we were to stay over in Upton midway through a walk between Worcester and Tewksbury. We arrived early Saturday evening quite tired looking forward to a hot shower and a nice meal. Check in went well until we asked whether we would need to reserve a table for later. Unfortunately we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyWorcs
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in September for one night (Saturday) and £85 for b&b was a little steep. If it were on the channel 4 show, 4 in a bed I wouldn't have paid more than £65. The service was good, with friendly staff and the breakfast was OK. But the room was tired and the springs in the mattress kept me company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark m
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Hello to all who don't know me 😜 I was in my way after long trip from swan to anchor after long night in Italy first visit first time me and my mother we decide to stop in star Inn hotel thank god we take that choice we bean so so knackered but thank god we there anyway we bean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank millime
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here week commencing 5th September. Wow what a change. Excellent friendly staff charlotte on reception. Bedrooms new linen looks fresh and clean definitely one to visit for professional attentive clean snug hotel/bar. Will definitely return. Quaint area on the river outside decking amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faithaf
ashington
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Visited the star several times over our weekend stay , Drinks resonable , staff excellent service and a sunday lunch to die for . Looking forward to visiting next year when we return to upton . tried to book for next years blues festival and sunshine festival but hotel is fully booked this speaks for itself

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caeana
hereford
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Enjoyed a nice cold cider here in the outdoor area overlooking the river, so decided to try breakfast the next morning. As well as being a hotel, also caters for walk in customers, so expected a good breakfast. You pay at the bar, then help yourself from the hot breakfast buffet, except all the dishes were empty, except for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
156 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
1,030 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
836 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now Under New Management The Star Inns original building dates back to the seventeenth century although the main frontage and larger parts of the property were built in around eighteen hundreds. ABOUT UPTON UPON SEVERN: Upton upon Severn used to be a port, as well as being the only river crossing for many miles. For centuries before modern transport, it was alive with river craft carrying goods from an to the rich east bank, and Upton historic prosperity can be seen in its delightful old buildings, including pleasant places to eat and drink. Upton is a town with liveliness out of all proportion to its size. Its attractive shops, its delightful inns and a variety of events each year.Such as the Jazz, Folk, Blues and Water festivals draw crowds in the thousands. We are a Hotel and Inn with seventeen refurbished beamed en-suites, a coffee lounge with a lovely fire place and bar area with a open fire place. We also have to hire a beautifully beamed function room. Your stay here can also be enjoyed in our Riverside restaurant experiencing our exciting new menu. We can cater for any dietary needs, and we offer a room service if requested. The Star Inn has recently been taken over by a new partnership, Rob and Amy. We want the best so only aim high, we are very bubbly outgoing individuals waiting to meet new people. We aim to make our Inn and Hotel the best in town. We have available free wi-fi and sky television. Our function room is available to hire for Weddings, Christenings, Birthday parties, Corporate events, Christmas parties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: 3 High Street, Upton upon Severn WR8 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Price Range: £80 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Star Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Star Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles chudlt, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 11 was simply great for a family of four!”
 of 5 bubbles G_Cambridge, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms subject to noise from the street close by”
 of 5 bubbles 813irisp, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the right side offer views of the river severn however all rooms at front and sides offer views that are quaint and interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiet569, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic brilliant place with a touch of Romance”
 of 5 bubbles U9779ZFrachelm, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5