We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Davenport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Davenport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Davenport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Surrey
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst visiting family who were holding a party locally. Wouldn't normally book budget hotel but little else available locally and chose not to go to city centre hotel. Beds were clean but everything else very shabby - no one had a shower because it just looked grubby. Walls were pretty thin and I was woken by people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMumof2
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear SurreyMumof2 We have a rigorous cleaning program where each room is attended to every day. We understand not all our rooms have been refurbished but this is not to be mistaken for uncleanliness. I can confirm no glass was reported or seen to be all over the floor. We are a family hotel and pride ourselves on offering a...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We thought we'd try one of their 90s tribute nights. Room size was great. Staff were completely overwhelmed and unable to comprehend anything other than simple drinks orders, felt sorry for them. Most of them were friendly and smiling. The whole place is run down and tatty. We didn't stay overnight, but had we booked, I wouldn't have bothered checking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth_E_K
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Ruth_E_K We have recently launched our 90's night where the first night sold out which was extremely successful. The One77 club which is located within the ground of the hotel was running a club night where it is expected to have a busy bar and can take 5mins to be served. Our staff are trained and professional running numerous...

Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

we booked this hotel for a early rise to airport small room not en suite only availability in the area paid 30 £ this is the dirtiest accommodation been in clean sheets dirty carpets this seems to be a workers hotel judging by noise outside room wont be staying here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 270frank
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear 270frank We are disappointed to hear you were not comfortable during your stay. Please be assured we have a rigorous cleaning program where each room is attended to every day, I understand not all our rooms have been refurbished but this is not to be mistaken for uncleanliness. We offer great value, offering a comfortable stay with great service....

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 20 May 2016

staff's very friendly and helpful. I traveled alone to Manchester I think, the room's comfortable for me Location's near Davenport's train station you can walk from the station to hotel and cheap price for stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuch2015
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Nuch2015 Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will choose to stay at The Davenport again. Kind Regards Zachary

Halifax
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in some nice hotels.. This is not one of them.. Though it was only £30 for the night it wasn't worth 10.. Unless it's here or a cardboard box in the snow I wouldn't stay here.. I never usually put hotels down but this place needs some serious TLC.. The food in the bar was good though..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Paul F We are a very busy hotel and we are that way as we have priced our rooms competitively as we understand that not all our rooms have been refurbished and can be dated. We are always applauded for our service and cleanliness and look to ensure our guest's are comfortable during their stay. Kind Regards Zachary

england
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We were looking for a budget hotel - not a chain - in striking distance of Manchester airport with a range of restaurants and bars close by. The price was very right but we arrived at about 4pm in torrential rain. We were quickly checked in and a very helpful member of staff told us where the bar restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank veryhappytripper
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear veryhappytripper Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Zachary

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We arrived and went to check in, could hardly see the receptionist she was sat that low down. Reception area not very welcoming, very sparse and empty atmosphere. We were shown up to our room up 4 flights of stairs and through a very strong musty smell. The building is in major need of an upgrade. The door to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank windygail70
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Windygail70 From taking over management of the Hotel one year ago we have always been applauded for making all our guests feel welcomed so it surprises me when you say differently. May I confirm that the hotel keeps high occupancy levels and is very rarely quiet. All our rooms are checked and certified by fire regulations and there is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Pre booked this hotel and payed for it yet staff were completely unaware of this and had no records of me on the system, after over half an hour rambling on they managed to check me in. Rooms are extremely average and bathrooms are in poor condition the club downstairs makes your whole room vibrate it's that loud so don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham N
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Graham I can understand your frustration with your check in but as it seems the member of staff did not make you aware that they had only just started and not a lot of experience at this point. Our team are attentive and very well trained, despite the delay they will always aim to ensure the best possible experience...

Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We booked two rooms at this hotel and stayed for two nights while visiting family and attending a concert. Staff were very helpful and the rooms very clean, as budget hotels go I would recommend The Davenport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrahamCM1963
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear GrahamCM1963 Thank you for you kind comments and we hope you will choose to stay at The Davenport again. Kind Regards Zachary

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We booked one double & one single room. Very dated but ok for one night, newly refurbished bathroom but shower didn't work in single room so my son had to walk to our room in his towel for a shower. At breakfast there were no glasses for the juice, no side plates for toast & we waited over half an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
TheDavenport177, Front Office Manager at The Davenport, responded to this review

Dear Angela R Thank you for your feedback and we are disappointed to hear you were unable to enjoy your stay at The Davenport. The shower is newly installed electric powered but unfortunately it had tripped if our staff were notified of this at the time they would of easily been able to correct it. Our breakfast we have always...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
0.1 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
2.3 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
870 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.4 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new management from 1st May. The Hotel provides comfortable accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Our friendly staff will do all they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. The Garden Room restaurant serves delicious food, including speciality dishes prepared to order plus a wide range of quality wines Free infinity 2 wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Davenport

Address: 177 Buxton Rd, Stockport SK2 6EW, England (Formerly Davenport Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Price Range: £35 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Stockport, Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Davenport staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
Dublin, Ireland
Wigton
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Davenport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bedrooms are a little dated but extremely clean, the restaurant bar and communal areas have been modenised are are immacuately clean.”
, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the food. Not to sleep.”
Y1197GRdanielb, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Easy access to Manchester city center.”
abbycxx, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 26 wi-fi signal not very strong”
nathan1616, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 has walls so thin that gas exchange could take place in them”
253GaryP, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5