We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 617: English reviews
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First time in a Premier Inn and very impressed. Everything worked, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable the staff were very smiley and breakfast was completely edible. Someone even went away and prepared two plates of porridge for us. If we were told we had to criticise something I'd be reduced to muttering about the quality of the kettle....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel itself for me is about 20 seconds from work so location couldn't be better. I would have to work IN the hotel to be any closer to work. Haven't really found any night life in Barnsley so far but I am working on it. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I expected and the room wasn't hovered. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staff always smiled and asked how everything was. Room well equipped and clean. Just wished I'd known that the aircon could be turned off as I could hear it humming through the night. Food at Table Table was fine, good service and not too expensive. Would visit again.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is in a good location easy access to premier from car park . pay and display on entry check in very easy someone always to hand. first time we had a problem with our room a smell of damp was coming from the plugs . room 416

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcbashfull22
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasantly surprised. Good night sleep, nice and quiet for a city centre. Restaurant and bar very good with a wide selection of both food and drink. Good Wi-Fi speeds and very pleasant staff, both on reception and in the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23DRH
Wirral
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a huge fan of Premier Inns and inevitably book into one when travelling. My wife and I stayed for just one night as we were attending a birthday celebration in Barnsley. I was disappointed that the normally comfy bed had seen better days. The mattress was "seated" and uncomfortable in places. The air conditioning is a joke - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrycyclist
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think the staff was extremely helpful room very clean But I was very disappointed that you where expected to pay extra for car parking I have never been ask to pay for parking at a hotel before for this reason only giving 4 stars

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank john B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a few days on business. Helpful staff (very professional and polite) and the food next door was excellent. I visit a lot of premier inns and this is one of the best. Will definitely be staying again when I'm in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwebster1404
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came over from Cyprus to see family and friends just for a few days. Hotel is very central and was ideal for this purpose. Eat out most of the time as we lived here before we moved and know restaurants and places to go to. Was central for shopping trips. We only slept in the room as we were out...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

no fresh air in this inn, only stuffy air con, if like most people you like a bit of fresh air when in bed then avoid this hotel, the windows are locked shut, the air conditioning is noisy and stuffy, just not condusive to a good nights sleep

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrianwQ6530NN
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Adrian Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry to read of your disappointment due to the air conditioning being noisy and stuffy. I can confirm that the air conditioning brings in fresh air from outside, it doesn't circulate the air that is in your room, however I've passed your comments on to the Hotel Management...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
504 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
328 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel South Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor gives best views.”
 of 5 bubbles U8945ZWbills, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor room!”
 of 5 bubbles sibrown1900, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for your room to be put on a cool cycle.”
 of 5 bubbles Scot_On_Tour_10, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would recommend room 411 as that has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles janeb1967, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd Floor are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 127sarak, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5