We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bull Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of The Bull Inn
 Click to rate
Dorchester-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited the Bull for my mothers 82nd birthday the menu and food was very poor. The service was good but I did not enjoy the waitress laughing at my mother who was a little slow ordering her food. I use to come to this pub often when I was a young girl the food and service has gone down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

hello, Thank-you for your feedback and comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with the menu choice and food selections and I apologise you felt that we were impatient with your ordering - this certainly seems out of character for the team we have here, please be assured it was not our intention for you to feel...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went for dinner with friends. Really good, warm & cosy, staff efficient, depending on your food choice, - what we ordered was excellent ( liver & bacon/steak etc ). On our departure even the barman said "goodnight, thanked us for coming, see you soon", which our friends visiting us from 'Scotland' thought was amazing. The dining area was full -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have eaten in the restaurant at The Bull many times (I used to work down the road). The food is always excellent and the staff are friendly, and this trip was no exception, with a great full English breakfast. However, this was my first time staying in the hotel and I won't do so again. I booked a "standard"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent fish stew on The Bull's menu featured as one of the Chef's 'signature dishes'. Plenty of fish - Monkfish, prawns and salmon...and plenty of flavour! The Bull has a cosy atmosphere, good service and is right in the centre of the delightful village of Sonning on Thames.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabingdon
Kingston Upon Thames
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the Bull to an open fire and the smell of lovely food being served. Once checked in we had a fantastic lunch and tired the local beers, which are kept well. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was superb and a great start to the day. would definitely recommend staying at the Bull if you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardsA2105HA
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your fantastic review and comments. Olde English Charm is our speciality. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sian Smith

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Bull is in a lovely setting and has a rustic charm about it. Dinner was very pleasant, reasonably priced and service was excellent. My bedroom was above the restaurant so you can hear voices well into the night. If this bothers you then don't stay here. But, if you accept that this is a very old building and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopicalSerendipity
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your recent lovely review and comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Sian Smith

camberley surrey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for a meal & an overnight stay. The room wasn't very warm on our arrival & as it's such an old building it wasn't going to warm up very quickly! However the room was comfortable, not particularly my taste in decor though. The en suite was great & the shower lovely, mind you it would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen50
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your recent review and feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed our service and food and we hope you will come back and visit us again later in the year. Kind regards, Sian Smith

Worcester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice country pub but with very difficult parking and very steep stairs to the bedrooms. Overall a pleasant experience because the staff tried very hard. The rooms were of a good size although the ensuite left much to be desired.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 855mrt
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your good comments and review, we hope you will come back again to visit in the near future. Kind regards, Sian Smith

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

600 year old pub with a nice menu, real fire, nice clientele. We are here for one night. Room is basic but nice although ensuite tiny they couldn't have made it bigger as the building doesn't lend itself to that. Breakfast included and was excellent with good quality ingredients, in a nice library styled room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clair H
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for you warm review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Sian Smith

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Friendly and welcoming. Cosy atmosphere. Room and bathroom small but all you need. Amazing food and great choice for vegetarians. Breakfast fab. Lovely friendly staff. The pub is old so you can hear the bar conversations from the rooms so not ideal if you want an early night and are a light sleeper.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LK0461
TheBullInnManagement, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your recent review and feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Sian Smith

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
184 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Bull Inn Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is olde-worlde. Don't expect all modern conveniences.”
 of 5 bubbles TopicalSerendipity, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay what you get”
 of 5 bubbles FaFaFab, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was over the bar you could here the conversation but it never went beyond 11.15 pm . I do't think the rooms vary much.”
 of 5 bubbles MaureenB900, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I went there only for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles LucioF_11, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try the Beef Sandwich with potatoes roasted in goose fat”
 of 5 bubbles rustygrecian, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5