We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Streatley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Streatley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Streatley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Booked the hotel very last minute. The reception staff member was very helpful on our arrival and offered wakeup call/paper etc. The room was looking a little tired, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was extremely quiet. Had a very nice good value meal in the evening and breakfast was good as well. Great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willen123
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Willen123 Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Best Wishes

Bristol
Reviewed 16 December 2014

This is a lovely hotel, lovely rooms, particularly the newly refurbished rooms. The food in the dinning room as is room service is excellent, it's only failing is the very poor checkin. Stayed three times and on each occasion there was a problem with checkin. On this occasion they had given my room to another guest in error so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueSunbeam2
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear BlueSunbeam2 , Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that overall your stay with us was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board and I have shared the points you have raised with my Reception team. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We had an excellent autumn break package. Garath was the duty manager and he and all the staff were excellent. The food was much better than the rather dull menu suggested. In fact it very good. We had 3 evening meals. We hope the refurbishment goes well but hope they don't over do it . It is an old riverside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wawawa3
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear wawawa3 , I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon. Best wishes

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2014

I recently spent a night at The Swan. I had a very nice clean bedroom overlooking the River Thames with a small balcony, which I would have used in the Summer. The room, but particularly the bathroom could do with freshening up as they were a little tired, but it was good in all other respects. The general areas downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T del C N
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Patrick T del C N , I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon. Best wishes

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014

what a terrible shame and clearly a hotel that has no investment. the owners should be embarrassed! the place is tired, out of date and a disappointing quite frankly. the rooms in particular are 20 years out of date, the mattresses too so don't expect great things. the location is fabulous and so too could the hotel be described as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stevesimmance
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear stevesimmance Thank you for posting your feedback on here. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Please be assured that we are dealing with your comments and feedback and look to improve the areas you have highlighted to us. I do hope you will give us the benefit of the doubt and return sometime in...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I was expecting The Swan at Streatley to be good, but it excelled. I would definately say our experience was superb. The food was exceptional, the staff were delightful, and the newly refurbished rooms were luxurious.. We shall return. It is so nice when you find a great place on your doorstep. I recommend The Swan at Streatley.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cher B
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Cher B What a wonderful review – it’s really appreciated. All of us work hard to provide a great experience and it’s so rewarding when we learn we've got it right. The team really appreciate your kind comments. See you again soon Best wishes

Dublin
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Booked a two-night trip as a treat for my wife who hadn't been to Streatley/Goring before. Nice room overlooking the river, with a large terrace outside. Room was spacious, spotless, comfortable and it was great to wake up to the view of the river. Tea making facilities allowed us to lie in bed with a cuppa for a few minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rockyroad2dublin
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Rockyroad2dublin, Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your visit here. I am pleased to note that overall your stay with us was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback has been taken on board and I have shared the points you have raised with my team. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

A very nice hotel on the river, beautiful view of river, food in restaurant perfect. Newlwy decorated room which was lovley, spa was good, small pool, Hot tub sauna and steam room. cannot fault this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. we got a deal dinner bed and breakfast £150 for the 2 of us. Very reccomended, well worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Nicola N Many thanks for the lovely review. We’re particularly proud of our location and riverside facilities and I’m delighted to learn you enjoyed them so extensively!! We look forward to your return sometime in the not too distant future Best wishes

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I recently had a Birthday celebration lunch for 45 people at the Swan Hotel. The event was organised brilliantly without any hiccups. The food and service were excellent and could not be faulted in any way. All my guests had a wonderful time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam H
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Pam H, Many thanks for such a positive review about your celebration here. Your comments are really appreciated especially with regard to the food quality and service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes

England
Reviewed 20 October 2014

This hotel was lovely, we stayed in a river view room with a four poster bed, I cant fault this hotel, good food, good service, great location. The bed was really comfortable and the rooms were nicely decorated. One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoe123England
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear zoe123England Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Best Wishes

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
327 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
325 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
73 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,573 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles lorraineb881, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms looking out to the river thames are a little bit more but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles NickC253, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River Suites have every you need, and the best view!”
 of 5 bubbles Q6227YPhelenr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the river would be gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles pops272, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 864genevieves, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5