The Lensbury Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lensbury Resort

Broom Road, Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames TW11 9NU England
Traveller (372)
Executive Bedroom
Room & Suite (93)
The Dunbar Room
Dining (40)

View prices for your travel dates

£127
Get rewarded with One Key
£127
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 3 hotels in Teddington
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Lensbury is full of surprises, nestled on the banks of the River Thames and within easy reach of London, Heathrow and Richmond. Set in 25 acres of beautiful landscaped grounds on the banks of the River Thames, the four star Lensbury Hotel boasts unrivalled indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, spa and a hi-tech Conference Centre. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways. The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy. It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Game room
Taxi service
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Vending machine
Squash
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

Broom Road, Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames TW11 9NU England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Heathrow Airport
London City Airport
16.7 mi
See all flights
1,073Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 426
  • 325
  • 170
  • 72
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anne S wrote a review Jul 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom575 contributions168 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our 4 night visit was for a funeral which we had decided to extend to do some sight seeing. We thought a four star hotel classic room would be worth paying a bit more for and the location would be a little bit away from busy roads. The obvious car park was full and it was not obvious where else I could park, but I found a suitable spot around the back of the conference centre. Check in was as expected. First impression of our classic room was ok but not the four star standard I thought I had paid for. We had some lunch on the terrace which was lovey. We had our evening meal in the hotel that night and again it was lovely. The only service issue was the waiter not knowing how to serve an Irish Coffee but another member of staff sorted that out. That night all we could hear was the electrical units outside our room and we didn't sleep so well. The following morning I complained and we were moved to another classic room, the smallest room I have ever stopped in in 20 years of stopping in London hotels. Every 3 hours that night the a/c unit cycled for long enough to wake us up. Next morning I complained again and we were moved to a deluxe room. What a difference as this was more like the room I thought I had booked. We also received a complimentary meal on our last night. I was considering giving 3 stars but the staff were responsive to each on my complaints and took action and the food was lovely hence giving it 4 stars as 3 seemed too critical when they tried so hard, although it should have been right in the first place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid a classic room and ask for one not overlooking the electric compressors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Woolmore, Marketing at The Lensbury Resort
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with your classic room and that it was noisy during the night with cycling of the a/c units. At least you mentioned it the following morning so that we had a chance to put things right and move you to a better room. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We will look into improving the noise from the a/c units and hope that you will come back and stay with us again one day. Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback which is really valuable in helping us to improve our service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dani wrote a review Jan 2020
London, England45 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our check in was ridiculous, we arrived at 2.30pm to be told the room ‘isn’t ready and we don’t know when it will be’..hmm very helpful. I had to ask if we could wait somewhere as nobody offered any helpful advice. After 45 minutes I asked again whether the room would be ready any time soon, again they ‘had no idea’. The room itself was fine although it was an accessible room as that was the only family one left, beware the bathroom gets very slippery and our son fell over. Housekeeping walked into our room unannounced, it was honestly like a stay at Fawlty Towers. The pinnacle of the bad service was when the restaurant manager interrupted us in the middle of eating to tell me ‘we shouldn’t be having breakfast’, how utterly horrendous and rude!! I had to show him my booking confirmation on my phone which states my rate included breakfast. Food is fine, pool and play area are nice for children but I have never been treated like this in a hotel and would never go back. Credit to some of the younger staff who were incredibly helpful but some haven’t been trained and this is not their fault, senior management needs to take a serious look at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheLensbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Lensbury Resort
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear Dani Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at The Lensbury. I appreciate you complimenting our "Good Facilities". It is always our intention to provide all our guests with an enjoyable and satisfying experience, and I am truly sorry this wasn’t the case for you on this occasion. Our Operations Manager, Richard Clogg, would like to explore specific unsatisfactory elements of your stay in more detail and would appreciate you getting in touch. Would you mind emailing him at: Richard.Clogg@lensbury.com at your convenience. Kind regards Guest Relations The Lensbury
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet McCue wrote a review Aug 2021
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom150 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A fair and balanced view should begin by stating that the staff and service at this hotel are flawless, professional, polite and helpful and a pleasure to deal with.  The hotel looks lovely, the restaurant bright and the food of a reasonable price although the menu is a little limited.  Breakfast is buffet and was fairly well ranged.  The bar area is a little dark and doesn’t have a great ambiance, feeling you are almost sat in a corridor.  The bar furniture is worn, becoming threadbare and very tired. The swimming pool was warm enough but marred somewhat on a couple of visits by swimming lessons for children, meaning it was noisy and the pool not fully free for guests.  It is worth noting this hotel does take local subscriptions for its gym and facilities.  There is a good adult only sauna and steam room although no jacuzzi.  The changing rooms clean and well equipped.

We upgraded the room as the standard double really is very tight and simply too small for more than one night.  The upgrade was slightly larger.  No full length mirror and absolutely no appropriate lighting for a woman to do make up.  The Tea/Coffee facilities are placed at two different ends of the room as there is insufficient room for all of it in one place – which seems ridiculous as we had to keep walking around the bed just to make a cup of coffee.  The bed was comfortable, but the pillows dreadful… I should have taken my own.  Overall the room is tired and is showing signs of needing a refit, some tiles missing in bathroom, furniture beginning to look worn and scuffed.  We were staying five days and there were just five hangers in the wardrobe, certainly not enough for two people.  Excellent location for Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace, although worth noting that there are no such things as river taxis from Teddington and the hotel staff seemed to have a minimal local knowledge of public transport options.

Overall we paid a good price given with less foreign visitors they were offering reasonable priced deals, and so was good value for money.  I am not as sure when those deals are rescinded I would feel it was great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Malevu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lensbury Resort
Responded 8 Sept 2021
Dear JQE50, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us feedback on TripAdvisor I am very disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and I have taken great note of it. I will forward your helpful words to our management teams for further improvement within their departments. As I am unable to retrieve you information Trip Advisor, please may I kindly ask you to contact me on Guest.Relations@lensbury.com as I would like to discuss your experience with you in greater detail. At The Lensbury Resort we strive towards creating a comfortable and warm environment for our guests. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future. I look forward to hearing from you Best Wishes, Amanda Malevu Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nemaidin wrote a review Oct 2021
Iskandar Puteri, Malaysia11 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the Lensbury Resort as I thought the spa would be a lovely option for my daughter and I to spend some quality time together. Plus the hotel was a short drive to Kingston hospital where my mum had been warded. I had traveled from Malaysia via Singapore which was an incredibly long 18 hour flight. I had contacted the hotel to arrange an early check in but i was told they couldn’t guarantee this on arrival and the check in time was 2:30 pm. As my flight arrived at 7:40 am had no other option but to book a day early to ensure i had early access to my room the next day.

Upon arrival, I had to drag my 40 kg luggage into the main reception. This hotel does not have a porter service. The reception is quite small and although the staff seemed happy enough, their smiles didn’t appear to be genuine and they were not conscientious at all.

Having taken a full payment in advance I was then told my room was located in another building. With no porter service available I was told to wait for help, based on how busy the hotel was and my sheer desperation to get on with things so i could head to the hospital to see my mum, I decided to take matters into my own hands. Fortunately, another guest had left a trolley by the reception door which i then used to drag my suitcases across two carparks to the Ascot Building. I’m grateful it wasn't raining

I had booked an Ascot twin room at a cost of £415 for 3 nights including breakfast. £138 a night was a bit excessive, considering the size and location of the room and bearing in mind the restaurant was closed on one of evenings due to a fireworks display , no room service and the mini bar was empty so no complimentary water in the room. The bed was tiny and full of uncomfortable springs and the pillows were lumpy. The room walls were paper thin and I was kept awake by neighbours who seemed to stay awake until 5 am every night. It’s 4 an and Ive just been woken up by a couple who sound as though they are in my room.

I feel totally cheated yet curious to know why people rave about the lensbury. Have i missed something? I contacted staff members prior to my arrival explaining how far I’d be traveling and on arrival I feel the staff member was unsympathetic to my travel needs and contrived when welcoming us. It all felt so fake

I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. We did not use the spa simply because we felt we’d be disappointed. based on my room this hotel was certainly not a 4 star hotel and should be given a 2 star rating instead.

PS The British breakfast was the highlight of our stay, although its not a dish you’d want to eat every morning. There was a tiny selection of other options: some cold cuts and one type of cheese, plus some muesli… pretty poor selection but tasty never the less. It took the staff 30 mins to get me a cappuccino
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Malevu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lensbury Resort
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Dear Nemaidin, Thank you very much for your feedback on our TripAdvisor page. I am truly sorry to learn of your mum being in hospital and the hardships you have experienced during your stay with us. I deeply sympathize with you and I am very sorry for the disappointment and inconveniences we have caused you. At The Lensbury Resort we work hard to provide the most relaxing and warm stays for all our guest and members, and I sincerely apologize that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. I have reached out to you via email and I very much look forward to hearing back from you Best Wishes, Amanda Malevu Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Verity L wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a member of the Lensbury Health and Fitness club and it was my first day back to classes and use of club facilities today. It was a fantastic experience and calmed any nerves I may have had about feeling safe. Great protocols have been put in place - temp taken on arrival, spaced out studios to comfortably allow for correct distancing, cleaning done between EVERY class. One way system very clearly marked - separate entrances and exits. All staff in the coffee/restaurant area were very attentive and all masked. And every member was so warmly welcomed as if they really mattered - we do of course! Thank you Lensbury!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
louari wrote a review Sept 2020
Solihull, United Kingdom464 contributions190 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stay very last minute for the bank holiday weekend. We booked 2 rooms, boat hire, gym & pool slots & dinner reservations over the ‘phone and the guys we spoke to could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

Check in was smooth & efficient. Every staff member we encountered was helpful, extremely pleasant & polite - we were super impressed.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night. Again very good service. Food was good, although the menu was a bit underwhelming. Very pleasant and comfortable to eat in the large conservatory with gorgeous views of the beautiful grounds.

The staff did an excellent job at breakfast serving everyone from the buffet and breakfast was very good, we all thoroughly enjoyed it.

The gym & pool both excellent & immaculately clean.

We hired a motor boat for 4 hours, can highly recommend this. We moored at Hampton Court & again at a lovely pub for lunch. Boat was in great condition and the guys at the boat house super helpful & pleasant. You can also arrange a picnic to take with you but this required 48 hours notice however, we will definitely arrange one for our next stay.

Lovely walk along the Thames to Richmond from the hotel, great location and the grounds beautifully kept.

The only reason I haven’t awarded 5 stars was that our room ( in the Ascot building) although very clean, was decidedly shabby & in desperate need of a refurb. Rust & stains in toilet bowl, scuffed wallpaper, marks on walls etc. Although this didn’t in any way detract from a lovely stay.

All in all great value for money, super location, wonderful staff & plenty to do & see. Will definitely return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gordon B wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom1,856 contribution435 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
'This hotel is full of surprises'.
It certainly is. One if them is that it has four stars. I can understand three.
The family room is average with two beds that surely cannot be double. I would not like to see four adults staying in the room.
The shower had black mould.
Toiletries were minimal with one bar of soap and one toilet roll.
For the second day we were allowed two toilet rolls, but there was not any soap or shampoo. We had to ask for this.
The carpet had a few stains.
The larger than single bed was comfortable and the pillows were good.
We had a kettle with tea, coffee, chocolate and two biscuits. There was an iron.
ALL staff wear masks and they show a great commitment to fighting covid 19. I saw staff wiping down surfaces.
Unfortunately many guests did not wear masks and blatantly disregarded social distancing.
Breakfast is good and a member of staff was serving.
We ate in the restaurant. The food is average.
One waiter is absolutely outstanding and his name is Ashok. He looks after his guests so well and has a great sense of humour. He made us feel valued and special. Other waiters would do well to learn from him because the second time that we ate here was a totally different experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan C wrote a review Oct 2022
London, England, United Kingdom91 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lensbury is a bit of a strange place. It was very clean, the beds were really comfortable and the black out curtains were great. The grounds are lovely and the swimming pool and sauna are very good. The weirdness is with some of the things they don't do. For instance, our room was really warm but the air con didn't go down below 20 (probably because its October but still, it was a bit stifling). They don't do decaf coffee for breakfast - I had to ask the manager of the breakfast service, and they were really helpful in both mornings, but at first the waiter told me I had to pay for it separately at the bar which is odd. The breakfast is OK but strangely laid out and they're clearly short-staffed. The breakfast room is huge and staff have to waste av lot of time going backwards and forwards to clear plates (they could do with a trolley to collect dishes and take them away). On the first day, Friday, we wanted to swim in the pool on the afternoon but we're told all the facilities were closed until Saturday as they were having a fire works party that night. I'd have preferred the pool - it's why I booked the hotel. There's no towel hook by the room sink so every time you rent to dry your hands you get water on the floor going to the towel rack. There's also insufficient shelf space in the bathroom. However, it was all OK and I could see that staff were trying. Definitely can't fault the cleaners. Pillows were quite thin and hard but we made do. Overall, it's got good facilities, and if you just want a good sleep you'll probably get it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking can get busy. Checkout on week days is 10am which seems very early.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwards wrote a review Aug 2021
Epsom, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son booked a table for us in July 2021, first time at this lovely hotel after a nightmare long time of Covid19 Restrictions and it definitely won't be the last.
The hotel has good Covid procedures; with hand sanitisers available, staff wearing masks all the time and the restaurant very clean. This is without doubt one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of dining in.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, the staff were so attentive and so very friendly an employee gentlemen named Zak, greets us after checking at the front desk (with a wide and honest smile).
He directs us to our table in the nice restaurant with a beautiful view on the hotel's Garden after getting the menus he recommends us a bottle of House wine **Rose**, we were so happy of having such particular attention ,I would highly recommend a visit there as it's a great and special venue.

Above all the welcome and service is exceptional. I have to add that the food was amazing and very healthy.

The hotel is prime and only a short walk from most tourist hot spots. This hotel and all the staff give you the personal service that makes you feel more than welcome.

We can't wait to return.

Thank you all for making our Lunch very special and memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Malevu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lensbury Resort
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Vani_edwards, Thank you very much for your kind feedback We are very delighted to learn of your wonderful experience with us, especially during such a difficult time of Covid19. I will personally communicate your feedback with the team and individuals. Your kind words will definitely motivate the team to continue striving for service excellence and making The Lensbury Resort your perfect home away from home. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon Best wishes, Amanda Malevu Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CorLeonis93 wrote a review Jul 2020
Finchampstead, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay at The Lensbury Hotel.
This clearly was somewhere well prepared to reopen from the Covid-lockdown with appropriate & sensible precautions in place (such as temperature checks).
None of these took away from the relaxation or enjoyment of our stay.
The staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient.
We were very impressed with the room itself which was completely spotless, spacious and very comfortable. The bed in particular was clearly of high-quality and we both remarked the next morning at how well we slept. The room had a lovely view of the gorgeous River Thames too.
The hotel benefits from the facilitates of a boathouse from which we hired kayaks and paddled the beautiful route to Kingston Bridge and back.
Afterwards we enjoyed refreshing (& deserved!) G&Ts on the hotel lawn from the bar.
All in all, we couldn't think of better way to spend our first night away from the lockdown and therefore couldn't recommend The Lensbury enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lottygolf40 asked a question Mar 2024
Torquay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Is their electric car chargers? If not does anyone know of the nearest? Thanks
Lottygolf40 asked a question Mar 2024
Torquay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Is their electric car chargers?
Answer from Bongo
5 contributions1 helpful vote
You can walk to ferry road and hop on the bus which takes u onto Twickenham. Have a drink at Eel pie then join everyone walking to the stadium. It's really not far.
Answer from MasseyLondon
London96 contributions78 helpful votes
It’s more suited to younger families. I didn’t see a jacuzzi as it was all childrens swimming lessons. I personally would choose to stay elsewhere.
chriskuit wrote a tip Apr 2024
Surbiton15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book a standard double room Pack ear plugs"
Read full review
fragglerock2 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom73 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere if you believe a four star hotel should be clean"
Read full review
Cynthia V wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly with the hotel if you want to get the best deals."
Read full review
KevinR870 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not ideal for group visits."
Read full review
Nathan wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wouldn't expect too much when staying here. Ok for an overnight stay however it's overpriced for what it is."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Teddington area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lensbury hotel teddington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater LondonRichmond-upon-ThamesTeddington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LENSBURY RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lensbury Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Lensbury Resort?
Nearby attractions include Teddington Lock (0.3 miles), Teddington Lock Footbridge (0.2 miles), and Normansfield Theatre (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lensbury Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Lensbury Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lensbury Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lensbury Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Koyla London, One One Four, and The Wharf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lensbury Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Lensbury Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Teddington.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lensbury Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Lensbury Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lensbury Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lensbury Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hampton Court Palace (1.9 miles), Ham House (1.1 miles), and York House Gardens (1.4 miles).
All Teddington HotelsTeddington Hotel DealsHotels near The Lensbury Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire