We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Countryman Hotel

7 Victoria Road, Camelford PL32 9XA England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 inn in Camelford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars

Location

7 Victoria Road, Camelford PL32 9XA England
The Countryman Hotel
65Reviews1Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 17
  • 10
  • 3
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
dallewed wrote a review Sept 2023
Rhoose, United Kingdom11 contributions12 helpful votes
I hadn't read any of the reviews on this hotel prior to arriving. I was a bit concerned though about the 4pm earliest check-in time, but this was only minor and didn't really affect our travel plans. Greeted by the proprietor on arrival - very friendly and welcoming and directed to our room on the second floor. Advised on breakfast times and location. No issues with supply of coffee or milk in the room. Room was pleasant with en-suite shower room. All ok in shower room/toilet apart from shaver mirror not working. TV in room, but not used. Asked proprietor advice about taxis in the region and she was able to give the details. Breakfast was of a really good standard - cereals and yoghurts / tea or coffee which accompanied a hearty full-English. My wife is vegetarian and it was not an issue for a vegetarian full-English to be served up too. Friends were staying in another establishment with no breakfasts on offer, we mentioned this in passing to the proprietor who immediately invited the 2 couples to have breakfast at the hotel for the next morning for £10/head. They took up the offer and were pleased to do so. I/we enjoyed the banter with the proprietor during the breakfast time and on the whole, this visit/stay was very pleasant, relaxing and restful. We'll be back, I'm sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No lift and steep stairs, so if you have a mobility issue, request a room on the lower floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda S wrote a review Aug 2023
Camborne, United Kingdom23 contributions16 helpful votes
Where do I start !! The room - no mirror in the bathroom so difficult for my husband to shave ! This little nit picking faded into insignificance compared to what happened later. We had x2 cups of coffee while getting ready to go out for dinner at 1930. When leaving we could not find anyone to request more coffee and milk. At 2100 after our meal at the local pub we phoned the number for the hotel to request some coffee and milk to be left for us. Thinking we weren't too late to make that call. My husband rang and was told in no uncertain terms that this would not happen as the lady owner of the hotel said " im in bed. This is not a 24 hour service". No apology, no suggestion of help. Back at the hotel the next morning we went down for breakfast..... longing for a coffee ! We could see that they were busy and only the male owner running around. Eventually around half an hour we gave our order. I specifically wanted a poached egg with my full english and was told that they weren't very good at poached eggs. "It may not look good but will taste nice". However, when the breakfast arrived it appeared I had a fried egg and subtly said "sorry is this fried?". He apologised and said it was his fault and hadn't told whoever was cooking. He went off to do a poached egg. Meanwhile my breakfast was getting cold so I slowly ate some. 10 minutes later the cook/lady owner brought the egg out herself to me and it still looked like a fried egg. I said this to my husband and she overheard. She immediately confronted me, asking if I knew what a poached egg was. From then on she 'lectured' me on the difference between fried and poached eggs. This attitude of hers was unforgivable and I asked if she could leave me alone so I could have my breakfast. I turned away and she came to the table accusing me wanting to know why I claimed it was not poached. This sounds petty I know, but we were eating and others were in the room. Things then escalated as when we went to pack to leave we decided we had to say something about our treatment from the phone call requesting coffee the evening before to being confrontational over a poached egg ! We handed the keys to the male owner and my husband said he would like to mention a couple of issues. He was very accommodating and listened but within 2 minutes the lady owner appeared from the lounge. My husband had referred to her as "your wife" to the male as not knowing her name and didn't feel this was an offensive term. However she appeared incensed that she had been referred to as "wife" and said "I'm a person not a wife:. It went even further downhill from there as she would not let my husband speak and continually butted in. She became verbally aggressive when I said "just let my husband speak" she then turned her aggression to me and became very loud. The male owner tried to calm the situation but she carried on and started attacking me verbally. I stood my ground and she shoved me and then told me to get out. I opened the door and my husband was finally able to explain things to the make owner who was trying his hardest to keep calm and he admitted that he could have fetched more coffee and milk if he had been informed of the request. I had my back to her and I then felt a sharp shove in my back. I am 69 with a partial disability to my knee finding steps hard and there was a step at the door. I therefore pushed back into her so I didn't go any nearer to the step. I balanced myself and stepped down. This was assault by her and we felt we had to phone the police as she showed no remorse or understanding at all. In fact as were were walking round to the car park she was still screaming abuse at us. This was very upsetting. This should never have happened when raising a couple of issues. Definitely do not recommend this place. Or if you go then don't complain about anything. You will get excuses or abuse. This is the worst place regarding management that we have ever ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Evason, Owner at The Countryman Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2023
We are a couple who run our own buisness and work 7 days a week. So we cannot unfortunately offer 24 hour service. We go to bed early as we have to make breakfasts. Phoning me drunk demanding coffee refills is unexceptionable! My mobile is there for emergencies only. This information is given with your booking confirmation. You were drunk and offensive wanting a refund and were asked to leave the next morning Regards Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julia D wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed in a family room with an en-suite and could not have asked for a better stay. The couple running the hotel were exceptionally hospitable, and the included breakfast was fantastic. Would absolutely recommend to anyone thinking of staying here. The value for money was fantastic. I thought it would be loud at night, seeing as it’s next to a main road but we did not hear a thing. Perfect location to explore Cornwall!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James F wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The price reflects the quality. I had to visit Newquay for an unplanned business exhibition during the summer holidays. Given the high demand, my choices were limited, so my boss booked this hotel for me. Upon arrival, I observed what seemed like the owner in a heated argument with a guest about room conditions. My room wasn't any better; it was untidy, and the bedding had an unpleasant odor. It felt like I was in a 1970s rundown motel. As I departed, I overheard two couples discussing some staff's alleged homophobic behavior. I didn't see it firsthand, but the atmosphere was tense. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David E wrote a review Jun 2023
Doncaster, United Kingdom154 contributions41 helpful votes
Clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Only thing was no en suite shower or bath. However, outstanding value. The hosts are very pleasant sand willing to help you to make the most of your stay. The little waste bins on the table at breakfast are a nice touch, saving you from sitting amid a pile of used wrappings! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Resort60591966960 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Wouldn’t had booked with these people in the first again I was with essentially stranded with my children had to do a same day booking I called customer service several times in the afternoon left a voicemail I got no response I had to cancel within 1 hr of booking as I had nowhere to go. I Finally reached them at 7pm the lady was very unsympathetic didnt Care what I had to say she refused to even give me a partial refund. Made an easy 95 quid of me. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Evason, Owner at The Countryman Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2023
As I explained we if you book on the day then there isnt a free cancellation, booking com is your agent. You agreed to the T&Cs when booking the room. Which you should always read. We dont refund, on the day bookings as the room is booked out to you and we cannot cancel the booking off the diary. I also said can claim it from your travel insurance,if you had taken any out? Regards suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ADKINS28 wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked here for a few nights en route to friends and were not disappointed. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, their breakfasts are superb, hot and fresh and lots to eat. Our room was on the 2nd floor but that suited us. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bryan M wrote a review Feb 2022
Cornwall34 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a wonderful private hotel. It's been years since I have been in one (rather than a chain hotel or a large hotel) and it was brilliant. The host is lovely, the bed super comfortable and the place clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious - good quality eggs, bacon and sausage. Made a lovely change from the more corporate world of many hotels and chains. Felt like being at home. Handy location too!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helenehurley wrote a review Feb 2022
Somerset9 contributions
We stayed here overnight after helping a relative move house. We had a welcome reception on arrival, The room was clean, bed was so comfy- best nights sleep in ages. Fabulous scrambled eggs in the morning and a really friendly host. Will definitely stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gerry O wrote a review Oct 2021
26 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights. Sue and Kevin were good hosts. Breakfast is very good and thank you to Kevin for getting decaf coffee for my wife. The room was very clean, beds comfy and tea and coffee on hand. Having read through previous reviews it seems Kevin and Sue are relatively new owners who have endured the pandemic. This would explain the need for the refurbishment of some areas which is a work in progress according to previous reviews. It will be an amazing place once they are able to invest more into it and I'm sure the pandemic has put their plans back as with so many other businesses. One small point...could the heating go on more often as room was cold overnight. All in all ok for the price and I'm sure it will continue to get better. Give it a go.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Camelford area.
PRICE RANGE
£64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallCamelford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COUNTRYMAN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices (Camelford)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Countryman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Countryman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Perseid Meteor Shower (0.2 miles) and Gillings Farm Bakery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Countryman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Countryman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Countryman Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Countryman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peckish Fish and Chips, Masons Arms, and Mexi-Kernow.
Is The Countryman Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Camelford.
Are there any historical sites close to The Countryman Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Breward Parish Church (4.8 miles) and Three Bowl Barrows (2.1 miles).