We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royal Oak Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Lostwithiel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Ukrainian
271Reviews2Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 174
  • 66
  • 21
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jasmin H wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We have had the busiest of times recently so decided we would find a bolthole to escape to for a night. Great welcome and a fantastic atmosphere. We ate too much of your good food and sampled way too many of your delicious drinks! Bedroom was comfortable and cosy. Everything we needed. Thank you both. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jane-Thurs wrote a review Oct 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom65 contributions16 helpful votes
Two visits here this week. Superb Sunday roast with a choice of three meats or all of them, lots of lovely fresh veg. Quiz every Weds we were made to feel really welcome for a fun quiz night with a good pub meal. Great food and service. Meals very reasonable priced.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Remember to add your reg number in the car if you park in the car park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrea W wrote a review Aug 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom136 contributions79 helpful votes
We visited 4 times during our stay in Lostwithiel- eating at both lunch and dinner. The staff soon got to know us and used our names. For me that's a remarkably personal touch! The food was superb. The service even better and the atmosphere warm. The soundtrack is also on point! It means a lot to feel so welcome when you're visiting. We'll be back to stay with you soon. Thank you so much! X
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sally C wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited Royal Oak Inn whilst on holiday in Tenby. We had an absolutely amazing meal here, it was delicious. The portions were very generous, the menu had something to suit all tastes and the service was lovely. The staff were so accommodating and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The establishment was very clean and very quaint inside. The prices were reasonable and the quality of the food was very good. It was that good, that we returned the next day for another delicious meal. Would 100% highly recommend a visit here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no parking outside the Inn, however there is a really big pay and display car park...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
peter t wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
What a wonderful stay. From the minute we arrived we were looked after. Shown to our room (room 4) and bags carried up for us. A lovely welcome. Had dinner in the onside restaurant. My fish pie was delicious and my partner said it was one of the best lasagnes he had ever eaten! A comfy night's sleep was had, quirky bedroom with sloping floor and a great walk in shower. Was told room was planned for a refurbishment but it suited us fine. Breakfast was amazing. Greeted by Pete and topped up regularly with coffee. Full English.........well, it set us up for the day. Overall I would highly recommend The Royal Oak and we are planning another visit. Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
natalie_pougher wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
+1
Sadly our experience at the Royal Oak Inn was terrible. The room was mouldy, damp and stank. There was obviously a leak in the room and the smell was disgusting. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet black with dirt. There was mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. Music was playing until 1.15am on friday night and there was no warning how noisy it would be. It was a very disappointing stay and a waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PHIL M wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
Trying hard and friendly but not quite there yet. Miniscule basin in the bathroom and electric shower not good features. Good breakfasts and comfortable bed but evening meals disappointing. Dismayed to see a local using what appeared to be an electronic cigarette in the bar area. Has the potential to be so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graham Tobias, Owner at Royal Oak Inn
Responded 14 Mar 2023
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our small Inn. I feel myself and Peter looked after you very well at breakfast and have always had excellent feedback on our friendliness. We have many fantastic reviews about our food so it would have been nice if you mentioned any problems to the team member looking after you if you were that unhappy. As far as I am aware the smoking of electronic cigarettes and vapes have not been banned inside public places!! I do so hope you find yourself somewhere better when you next visit Cornwall. Regards Graham. Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trish B wrote a review Sept 2022
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Came today for a meal ,did not book a table the place was quite busy but they still found room for us to eat the staff was very friendly and nothing was to much my partner had rump steak cooked to perfection i didnt fancy a big meal so asked if i could order a panini off the lunch menu which the chef was happy to do the panini was great and the blue cheese sauce was amazing compliments to the chef and front of house our visit was well worth the stop and will definitely be coming back soon . Highly recommended to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
robert a wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Clean rooms, lovely attentive staff, great food and drink. Fantastic hospitality from taking our bags to the room on arrival to checking out the following day. Cant wait to return and planning on doing so early next year. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AdrianG wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
Would give it a zero if I could. Never in my life I've been treated so bad. I'm suprised that this place is still running! The manager was an absolute joke... If he could be called a manager. Two elderly female staff were absolutely rude. Bartender was rude. Come here if you want attitude. Would not recommend this place to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lostwithiel area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal oak hotel lostwithiel, royal oak lostwithiel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Royal Oak
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallLostwithiel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL OAK INN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Lostwithiel)

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Oak Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Oak Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Tudor Bridge (0.2 miles), Lostwithiel Museum (0.08 miles), and St Bartholomew's Church (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Oak Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Oak Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Oak Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Oak Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asquiths, Restormel Kitchen, and The Globe Inn.
Is Royal Oak Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Lostwithiel.
Are pets allowed at Royal Oak Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Oak Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Oak Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bodmin Keep, Cornwall's Army Museum (4.4 miles), Lanhydrock House and Garden (3.0 miles), and Restormel Castle (0.9 miles).