We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Scarlet Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,440: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was recently lucky enough to stay at The Scarlet for 2 nights. It manages to be luxurious and cosy at the same time. The atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming, in every area of the hotel. The setting is fabulous, you have a sea view no matter where you are in the hotel. We frequented the lovely bar area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindadon
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I'm sorry I have not written sooner as we stayed with our Doberman in November and had the most amazing weekend ever. The weather was good, the beach was fantastic and the cliff top walks breathtaking. The staff were fabulous and the food first class. Can I say anything bad absolutely not. Thank you every one at the scarlet we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

No words can do justice to the beauty that is The Scarlet Hotel. Set in the picturesque town of Mawgan Porth, this is definitely worth a visit from near or far. My expectations at all levels were met, having read the reviews in the Telegraph. This goes from the greetings at reception to the stunning rooms and service at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misskumar
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, What a great surprise! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed each element that the hotel has to offer. I have shared your lovely review with the wider team and do hope that you will come and visit us again in the future to create some more...

Gibraltar
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! This hotel certainly has everything! Relaxing, romantic, eco-friendly, super helpful and friendly staff, amazing food and wonderful clifftop hot tub overlooking Mawgan Porth Beach. MASSIVE thank you to Shannon for making our stay so special. Booked as a birthday present for my Fiancé, he loved every minute! Such a brilliant idea to be able to call up and order...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gemlou3
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It is always lovely to hear about our guests celebrations, we hope your Fiancé had a wonderful birthday and you both came away feeling relaxed with some lovely Scarlet memories. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to Scarlet in the future and wish you both a very Happy New year. Warmest Wishes...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a weekend at The Scarlet Hotel for my boyfriends birthday and we went in September which was a perfect time to go just after the school holidays as it wasn't too busy. The long drive was worth it- such a beautiful place and the hotel did not disappoint. The friendly staff were great from when we first arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, September is my favourite month in Cornwall, quiet beaches and warm sunshine, perfect for a birthday celebration too! I hope you and your boyfriend had a wonderful birthday. It sounds like you celebrated in true Scarlet style. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to hotel and wish you a very Happy New...

london, england
Reviewed 1 week ago

Of course everyone has seen all the luscious photographs online. That means you have an expectation of something rather glorious. However the success and the enjoyment of this hotel lies in the subtleties of the environment. No reception, no rules and regulations and an all embracing old fashioned staff. There is a routine you arrive and someone pops out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomadic_10
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are very lucky to be nestled into the cliffs so that we feel part of the landscape. Each nook in the hotel is a framed view for our guests to enjoy. It sounds like you made the best use of the time to really get back to...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked one of the rooms with spiral staircase to a rooftop pod, poor standard of finish in room, cracked floor tiles, MDF logo on wall. Disastrously noisy plumbing, taking about 10 minutes after using a sink for the gurgling to die away (plumbing ran under bed through the room). skirting coming away in the toilet. Dinner pretty average. sommelier looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee w
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review, I am truly saddened that you were left feeling this way after your Scarlet experience, I am aware that you did discuss this with my colleague on departure, However I would very much appreciate it if you would kindly e mail me with a contact telephone number and convenient time so that we can discuss this...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked a spa break for ourselves to celebrate his birthday, and to de-stress and treat ourselves before Christmas. We own a Tesla, and due to the Scarlet's charging facilities, the hotel had been recommended by the Tesla community. On arrival, there is no desk, so we were greeted by a friendly staff member offering tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ab659
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It sounds like you choose the best package to suit your needs and enjoyed all the facilities on offer for some well deserved rest and relaxation. I am sorry to hear that you had a couple of glitches whilst you were with us, thank you for sharing these with us as this enables up to...

London, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here before when it first opened. Have always wanted to return for the NewYear break. This year they let you only come for 3 nights rather than 4 which was ideal! Despite taking 12 hours to get down there as flights fog bound; the rewards were enormous. Everything was designed as I would have in a dream hotel Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonworld
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you for taking to the time to write your review. This was the first time we have had a roaming band in the hotel and it was a such a success, New Year is such a lovely event to plan each year, so we hope that you will join us again for more celebrations in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a New Years Eve break at The Scarlet and words will not do justice as to how great an experience we had. This was our first stay at The Scarlet and after a busy year we were looking for a good rest and relaxation. From the moment we walked into the hotel everything was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly B
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New year! Thank you for your lovely review, I have shared this with the wider team. They too enjoyed the New year festivities and will be so pleased to hear that our guests had such a wonderful time. Feedback such as this inspires our team to deliver the best they can so thank you for taking the time to...

963 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (750)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,065 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
442 reviews
8.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
881 reviews
24.6 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £239 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no bad rooms all have a sea view I think”
 of 5 bubbles 293kerryw, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book rooms with sea views!”
 of 5 bubbles gemlou3, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“anyone facing the sea”
  • hot rooms outside in the gardens
 of 5 bubbles nomadic_10, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't book a "pod" room, try a front terrace room”
 of 5 bubbles leew223, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The unique rooms are quirky and great for couples”
 of 5 bubbles S6737PLkellyb, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay