Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Polurrian on the Lizard

View from Room 124
Traveller (1141)
View from Room 124
Room & Suite (167)
Dining (90)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£116
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£130
Breakfast included
No booking fees
£91
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Mullion
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Perched on the cliffs on the Lizard Peninsula, amongst 12 acres of mature Cornish gardens, this contemporary seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay, the Atlantic Ocean and has its own beach – Polurrian Cove. The communal areas have a relaxed welcoming feel, whilst the bedrooms are homely with fluffy towels, feather bedding and comfy beds. The restaurant menus feature dishes inspired by the rustic and bold flavours of the Mediterranean, and use the finest local Cornish ingredients, with many dishes being cooked in a wood fired oven. There’s a range of facilities to make a stay enjoyable, including two swimming pools, a gym, tennis courts and a spa offering pampering treatments.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Private beach
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1,517Review10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 889
  • 359
  • 158
  • 75
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
brodiesmate wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom492 contributions224 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a mini break recently at this lovely hotel. Attractive victorian building set in acres of very pleasant gardens and overlooking Mounts Bay with uninterupted sea views. Externally there is a swimming pool, tennis court, childrens playground with climmbing equipment and a field set aside for those that want to have a kick around. There is also access to the beach. At the rear of the property housed in a seperate building is an indoor pool, gym and fitness room, treatments are offered at additional price.
On entering the hotel we received a warm welcome. We took an afternoon tea which was really good in their vista lounge which has a full glass wall overlooking the bay, comfortable and with those stunning views.
We paid a little extra to have a sea view ground floor room which was light and airy with good bathroom and very comfortable beds. NB those with walking difficulties will need to book ground floor as there is no lift.
Evening meal in the attractive dining room was excellent as was the breakfast bar each morning with a good selction and also good menu for hot food.
In addition to the large vista room there is a small snug reading room, snooker room with large TV and a childrens play room.
Dogs are welcome at a small additional fee and are accepted in all rooms except the dining room, there is a pleasant smaller dining room for those with dogs.
Finally and very importantly the staff were absolutely wonderful, very welcoming, friendly and helpful, they just could not do enougth for you to make your stay enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant Callaghan, General Manager at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Dear brodiesmate, Thank you for your review. Kind regards Grant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoyQ wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we are just home from 2 nights, 3 days at the Polurrian Hotel and it's been a wonderful short break, so relaxing. Hotel wasn't busy as you'd expect given CV19 but staff are doing upmost to make this a safe and enjoyable stay. Our room wasn't huge but big enough to roll out my yoga mat with a beautiful sea view, tasteful decor and spotless clean, nice bedding, snug bathrobe, Elemis toiletries in a very good bathroom.
Full marks to dining room staff, at a difficult time they have service sussed. We had 'social distancing' of tables, tables are not beautifully laid as you'd normally expect (but this isn't normal times) with tablecloths, serviettes et al but instead wiped clean and everything is delivered clean and hygienically to table. To explain we were handed cutlery wrapped in spotless serviettes and anti bac ed salt and pepper pots on demand. Even a candle on demand. No breakfast bar to help oneself from but instead helpful friendly staff sourced everything we wanted, and delicious too, in individual pots to avoid cross contamination.
I am recommending; full credit to friendly and helpful hotel staff working in difficult circumstance. Thank you for a fab' deep tissue massage in the Spa. Thanks to all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: sea view a must.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nickonthelizard, Sales & marketing coordinator at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Henryd0g, Thank you for such a glowing review! We have experienced a lot of challenges regarding CV19, as has everyone, but I am glad you appreciated all the extra touches and precautions we have taken. Your comments regarding our service are warmly received and I will make sure the whole team hears. I hope you both will be able to return to us in a calmer climate! Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
26CCG wrote a review Oct 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom131 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful views and great garden. The staff were excellent, efficient and were very pleasant and helpful With the Covid protocols they worked ever so hard. The food was excellent and good choice. The food did not arrive quickly but this no doubt was due to the Covid protocols as I have noticed service is slower in restaurants due to these extreme circumstances we are in. There were many bottles of sanitisers around the staff were very thorough in cleaning the chairs and tables and cleaning regularly door handles etc. It made you feel very safe. They had 2 restaurants in operation one did not allow dogs, the other dogs. We very much appreciated this arrangement. We will definitely return, The Polurrian is an excellent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nick Kimberley, Marketing at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear 26CCG, Thank you for your 5* review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and your kind words about our staff are greatly appreciated. We've taken those extra steps to make sure the hotel is safe and secure for our guests, so I'm glad you felt the same. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul E wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a beautiful setting with fabulous views of the sea. Upon arrival we were struck by the impressive building and grand feel of the entrance and hallway. The rooms however are somewhat less impressive as they are sparsely furnished and tired. We had a 'superior sea view' room and there was no tea/ coffee facility or even bottled water ‘due to the coronavirus pandemic’ but we could order these items to be brought to the room (they would then be delivered after a 30 minute wait and a phone call to reception to ask where they’d got to). Other hotels do offer such facilities with disposable cups, so why it’s safer to increase human contact by having items delivered to the room each time is something of a mystery. In the public areas there were one or two signs asking guests to wear face coverings but very few bothered and the staff did nothing to remind them of the requirement to do so or to promote social distancing. Quite honestly, no one seemed to care and some of the staff even struggled to understand how masks should be worn - I had to remind the new restaurant manager that face coverings should cover the nose and mouth but she simply kept repeating that ‘it keeps slipping down’. Others also found the concept of how to wear a face covering somewhat challenging. Surely in a hotel where most guests ignore the rules, the staff should at least be setting an example and taking the threat of the virus seriously. Apparently not. In the bar, signs pointed out that a table service was in operation but there was very little or none. The only way to get a drink was to order at the bar, wait while it was poured and take it to a table yourself, otherwise it would remain on the bar. Again, no one was remotely interested in serving guests at tables and later in the evening, most staff abandoned face coverings altogether. In the drab restaurant (complete with pizza oven), the mussels and what they described as seafood fricassee for £25 (the mussels dish with a few cockles added and exactly the same sauce) were ok, just not fricassée but the gritty scallops were like balls of leather and the fish was overcooked and under seasoned. I overheard some guests complaining bitterly to an indifferent staff member about a very long wait for food. We had a long wait for breakfast on the first morning and whilst the eggs florentine was good, the cold scrambled eggs on unbuttered toast with inferior quality bacon was not. Our stay was quite a disappointment and it’s a pity because the location is idyllic and it could all be so much better but poor service, low quality ingredients, uncaring staff and scant regard for social distancing or face coverings ensured that we won’t be back and wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We tried two rooms and both were very dull, sparsely furnished and over priced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nick Kimberley, Marketing at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear Paul E Thank you for your detailed feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Your review has raised some notable concerns among the staff, which our general manager Grant would like to discuss with you in greater detail. If you could email him at grant.callaghan@polurrianhotel.com he will respond as soon as possible. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Cornwall Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Londontraveller54 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom24 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t emphasise enough how hopeless this place was given the luxury price tag. Very tired And in places dirty decor and other guests could see straight into both rooms during day light as no blinds. Cleaning didn’t materialise some days and staff acted more like they were on a ski season, with unfounded Nonchalance. No efforts around recycling or sustainability either which is not good enough. We did raise issues both during the stay and afterwards with no offer of any refund for the non-existent kids activities, poor cleaning and poor service in restaurant and regarding overall facilities. The manager has acknowledged some concerns on email but the fundamental issue that for £260 per night in October for a couple and a 6 year old this is a titanic rip-off when we had to speak to reception multiple times a day. Leisure facilities also v small, crowded and changing rooms dirty. Communal areas look very stylish but it stops there, at which point the £3.50 for a small black coffee and 1 hour wait for some food in the restaurant, takes over the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony S wrote a review Jul 2021
United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently spent our honeymoon here, booked in 2020 but transferred due to Covid postponement of our wedding. Initially booked 4 nights but due to change of circumstances were able to extend by 2 days. For some reason the hotel could not or would not deal with the extended 2 days as the same booking even though when we booked we asked if we were able to extend our stay in the same room and this was confirmed. We now realise that they were treating it as 2 separate bookings. When we checked in nobody said anything to us but on the day we would originally have been leaving housekeeping turned up to the room and told us we had to move to the room next door. We were about to go out for the day so we wonder what would have happened if we had gone out a little earlier. The extra 2 days were more expensive than the 4 days originally booked but we were happy to accept that but we really were not happy about being moved to a slightly smaller room and be charged double the rate. We raised this and were promised that there would be an adjustment on the bill. However, this was not honoured so we paid over £300 per night for what was an inferior room.
The other negative was the first & last nights when we ate in the Hotel restaurant. Quite frankly the restaurant staff are very poorly trained. The first night we were given menus and then had to wait 20 minutes to be even asked if we wanted to order a drink! The waiters breeze about as though they have blinkers on never looking around to see if anyone needs anything. It seems like they can only deal with one table at a time. On the last night we were shown to our table and possibly because we already had a bottle of prosecco in an ice bucket we had to wait 20 minutes and actually ask for menus. I complained to one of the waiters and to be fair he really tried to make up for the poor service of his colleagues. The hotel is in a superb location and they have some very good people working there - the breakfast "crew" are really good on weekdays but that changes on the weekends when it gets a bit shambolic. In summary apart from the view it is really not a £300 a night hotel. Also, the sound insulation between rooms is not very good. We have stayed in pubs as good if not better quality than this.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for sea view and first floor but in the 2 storey wing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomcat wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked this last year and had to cancel last minute, we do not live to far away and the reviews were good so we were looking forward to staying, however sadly our experience did not live up to our expectations. Our room was nice and clean, not huge but adequate, unfortunately the radiator made a very loud noise all night which we did report to the staff the next morning.. The hotel swimming pool was nice but freezing cold and we saw some guests dip their toe and leave. The hotel location is beautiful but our breakfast was not, the ‘buffet’ selection was nothing to write home about, we had to order with the waiter due to the Coronavirus issues, no fault of the hotel but the selection seemed limited and my smoked salmon, scrambled egg on bagel was luke warm and almost inedible it was so overcooked, I couldn’t finish this. As we checked out the couple in front were complaining quite loudly about their breakfast to the receptionist so we waited in the lounge, which had some housecleaning issues, most of the tables were dirty. We didn’t think it fair to give the poor receptionist another grilling about our own breakfast experience so decided to raise the issues here in the hope it will be addressed for future guests. Such a shame that housekeeping and kitchen issues spoiled our stay. We were surprised at how tired everything seemed around the hotel and we felt that just a beautiful location is not enough to bring us back or recommend this hotel as there are many basic issues that need improvement.
The staff were helpful and friendly although some of the waiting staff seemed a little chaotic. Such a shame as it was a treat we looked forward to spoiled by the issues raised here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nickonthelizard, Sales & marketing coordinator at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Cornishmai Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. As you can understand, the current climate is very challenging and if you have the time, please feel free to contact our General Manager Grant, he would appreciate the chance to discuss your stay further. His email is - grant.callaghan@gmail.com Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kieran H wrote a review Jan 2020
Yealmpton, United Kingdom7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Still reminiscing over the fantastic weekend me and my girlfriend had last week. The room I booked (inland double) was slightly smaller than anticipated but i was offered a discount to upgrade to the stunning deluxe sea view room which had incredible views; i highly recommend booking a sea view room! Staff were very friendly from the lady at the desk who assisted me with the room move, to the chap who served us for dinner and invented the awesome cider cooler cocktail and finally the liverpudlian who continued to serve us cocktails through the night.
The pool area was on the small side considering the size of the hotel and was fairly busy but in the summer I guess it's not needed due to the gorgeous beach at the bottom of the hill. Cracking walk to mullion cove and quick drive to the most southern part of england before we left topped off a fabulous weekend. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nickonthelizard, Sales & marketing coordinator at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Kieran H, Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us! I'm glad you got to see why our sea view rooms are so popular, the views are stunning and particularly wild at this time of year. I'll make sure your comments are passed on to our team, we really do appreciate the feedback. Hopefully you will be able to return in warmer weather to enjoy our beach! Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacky T wrote a review Nov 2021
Crediton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We eventually made our trip after 2 postponements due to Covid . The hotel was slightly worn in a warm and homely way. Our room with seaview was large and comfortable with crisp white bedlinen, soft fluffy towels and oodles of hot water. It was clean and made up every day and the tea and coffee tray was generously filled every day. Yes, the tv was small but we are not telly watchers on holiday so no problem.
All the staff we met were friendly and kind. There were times when the service was a bit slow and all the staff were busy so I think they were understaffed but were very aware of this and apologetic. However, we were pretty relaxed on holiday and it didn’t matter to us.
There was a good choice at breakfast and we had the afternoon tea as part of our holiday package with lovely fresh sandwiches and cakes. We only had dinner once and the menu was varied and tasty.
The location is superb and we did a wonderful walk on the SW coastal path from the hotel to The Lizard and caught the bus back, and other smaller walks. There are so many local places to explore on foot and a bit further afield by car. The spa and pool looked good although we didn’t have time to ry them out- maybe next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant Callaghan, General Manager at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Dear jackyt2014, Thank you for your recent review. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable visit. Kind regards Grant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelvalerie wrote a review Aug 2020
London2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve just returned from a disappointing 4 night stay at the Polurrian hotel. Whilst the main dining area has stunning views onto the sea, the rooms and other areas are in need of modernising. The rooms felt cold and soulless with strips of ageing carpet and old, tired furniture. There is no real atmosphere around the hotel and although most of the staff were friendly and welcoming it was clear the hotel was overbooked. We regularly had to wait up to an hour to be served at breakfast and dinner and we had to repeatedly ask for things like menus, water or missing items from our meals. Our waitresses were lovely and friendly so we couldn’t fault them but they were rushed off their feet and had to put in extra shifts to make up for the lack of staff. The food was average - my main salad course had no dressing / pizzas were undercooked / some of the food was under seasoned and the continental breakfast was concentrated juices and cold croissants. We were charged 5 star prices for our stay which we begrudged paying given the quality of the rooms, food and service. We understand it’s a difficult time but the place needs some management and an update. We saw someone else complaining about the same things during our stay too. Such a shame as the setting is stunning and it has so much potential.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nick Kimberley, Marketing at Polurrian on the Lizard
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Dear travelvalerie, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. Our general manager Grant would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your thoughts in more detail. Please feel free to email him on grant.callaghan@polurrianhotel.com at your earliest convenience. Kind regards Nick
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from JudyD37
Farnborough, United Kingdom164 contributions41 helpful votes
Agreed only one EV in the car park. However, it might be worth ringing the hotel to see if they are planning any more.
Kaira A asked a question Oct 2023
Cobham, United Kingdom
Hi do you know if there is an iron available in the room??
Answer from Stephen Mason
16 contributions4 helpful votes
No iron in the room but I asked at the reception desk and housekeeping brought one to our room with a full-sized ironing board. Excellent service!
Cathy A asked a question Apr 2023
Walton, United Kingdom109 contributions62 helpful votes
Are there robes in the rooms?
Answer from Rory561
Windsor, United Kingdom256 contributions79 helpful votes
We had a villa and yes, they were in the wardrobes, have a lovely time
DayTrip280812 asked a question Aug 2022
1 contribution
Hi, are dogs allowed?
Answer from Ian
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, its dog friendly
Answer from 444bernardl
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
We didn't notice any charging points at the hotel. I would phone the hotel and see if they intend to add proper charging points soon or if they would at least be happy for you to plug in to the hotels regular 13amp supply so you can charge overnight.
richard davis wrote a tip 22 Apr
Curral das Freiras, Portugal18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a Seaview room"
Read full review
moorlands12 wrote a tip 2 Apr
Okehampton, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You'll need to book the pool/spa ... there's no lift"
Read full review
EmmaKT1 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom27 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you specifically want a sea view room don’t worry too much about room choices - they’re all great, all recently refurbished."
Read full review
Laura T wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your swimming slot as early on the day as you can if you need a particular time"
Read full review
Beverley C wrote a tip Feb 2024
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book to use indoor pool"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mullion area.
PRICE RANGE
£89 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
polurrian hotel mullion
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallMullion
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POLURRIAN ON THE LIZARD - Updated 2024 Reviews (Mullion)

Frequently Asked Questions about Polurrian on the Lizard
Which popular attractions are close to Polurrian on the Lizard?
Nearby attractions include South West Coast Path Walk- Mullion Cove to Lizard Point & Village (0.4 miles), Mullion Cliffs National Nature Reserve (0.5 miles), and The Chocolate Factory and Craft Centre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Polurrian on the Lizard?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mounts Bay Inn Restaurant, Porthmellin Cafe, and The Galleon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Polurrian on the Lizard located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Mullion.
Are any cleaning services offered at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Polurrian on the Lizard?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Polurrian on the Lizard offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Polurrian on the Lizard?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Marconi Centre (0.8 miles).
All Mullion HotelsMullion Hotel DealsHotels near Polurrian on the Lizard
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire