Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 10/2/24
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St George's Hotel

Traveller (34)
The lovely beach
Pool & Beach (3)
Homely dining areas
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Perranporth
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
"This Place is temporarily close. Close for the season." The St George's Country House Hotel is a small and cosy hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
316Reviews0Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 233
  • 51
  • 18
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve Jackson wrote a review Aug 2020
20 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at St George’s Country House Hotel. We were welcomed by Ulrica on arrival for our stay in the family room which had 1 double bed & 2 single beds. The room was very nicely decorated and ample in size. The room overlooked the gardens & surrounding countryside. There is plenty parking outside the front of the hotel. The town centre is about 0.7 miles away with a fantastic scenic walk into town (unless you wish to drive) The hotel itself is very well decorated. The lounge area is beautiful with sofas & large screen tv overlooking the hotels gardens. The bar is very well stocked with a variety of wines, spirits & beers. The breakfast area is very well appointed, again over looking the gardens. Brad cooks up a fantastic breakfast of your choice. Full English or you can order an assortment including cereals, porridge, Greek yogurt. Tea / coffee & orange juice. The owners Ulrica & Brad are fantastic hosts. I highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of staying in perranporth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_luce19861 wrote a review Aug 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed over the bank holiday weekend and had a lovely time here. We were unable to leave Derbyshire until teatime on Friday and were quite anxious about what time we would arrive, but the owners were very accommodating about a late arrival which made a stressful journey feel much less pressured. The lady that owns the place is very passionate, and you can really sense how important this place is to her and she genuinely wants you to have a nice time.
Obviously covid is an ongoing issue for all of us, but it was very clear that every possible measure had been taken to keep everyone safe.
Having stressful jobs we were both desperate for some peace and relaxation, and this hotel is perfect for that. It’s close enough to Perranporth that we felt as people in our thirties that you could walk into town, but equally far enough away from the hustle and bustle that you get a good nights sleep.
We accidentally booked a twin room, although having an few metres distance from my husband’s snoring was actually an unexpected bonus, and the beds were super comfy!
We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ruth wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed At St George’s Hotel for one night whilst doing the coastal path. Really welcomed on arrival to this beautiful little place. Everything was immaculate and well organised. Our room was clean and ready early for us - an added bonus after walking in hills in the mist! We opted for the evening meal which was delicious, similarly breakfast was served at a time to suit us. We relaxed in one of the lovely lounges in the evening, with the resident cat snuggled on our lap - thank you all for making us so welcome. We would love to return again !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James M wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We all know that every now and then you get a bad experience. Unfortunately it’s getting worse. Quality of service and professionalism are in decline. It is sad. And I, in this instance have to call out this experience as my No. 1 Worst Night Ever in a B&B. I don’t want to experience this or anything worse ever again so I am holding it up as a beacon of how not to run a business.

It’s time for all of us to think about how we can our raise standards. If they are high, then we need to make them higher. Let’s think about the people we are in business to serve. What can we do to make their experience of engaging with us better?

Anyway, on to the review. Although appearing well appointed and presented in the main communal areas, the room was a massive disappointment.

The traffic noise was terrible. We either had the windows open and strained to hear the TV each time a car went past, or baked with them shut.

There was only one pillow each on the bed and no spares in the room. We had to ask for two more.

The windows had no net curtains in the bedroom or privacy glass in the bathroom. The room looked out onto the car park and it was not possible to use the bathroom without being clearly seen. Privacy was only possible by fully closing the roller blinds, which left the bathroom in darkness on a sunny day.

The refreshment station presented the cheapest array possible; five paper cups, two packs of the cheapest biscuits, the most basic and cheap tea/coffee options, two bottles of water but no glasses.

I paid extra for a “Spa bath”. There were no frills in the bathroom, no complementary shampoos, bath salts or anything to add to the experience and justify the extra money. The bath took ages to fill.

The proprietors were strongly passive aggressive when we asked for a discount due to our poor experience, which was refused outright. It was my No.1 Worst Night Ever.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JK86London wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom114 contributions115 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic place to stay. The hotel has been tastefully refurbished to a high standard and the welcome m and service whilst we stayed was very attentive throughout our stay.

The breakfast was amazing as was the atmosphere for a chilled drink in the evenings in the boutique bar.

Will definitely be back soon👌
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt L wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start. really wish I’d read some of the reviews.
paid £380 for two nights for just me on business in the
so called spa bath room.
Hotel is very very basic. outside is shabby with plastic roses in the window by the front door.
The little B road is the busiest and noisiest imaginable.
The hallway smelt of stale fat.
Friendly staff / possible owners. Well they have to be when they tell you £190 a night and breakfast not included! They hide this on the booking site by saying something about meals that’s not at all clear.
Wasn’t even shown to room.
The pics on the web are not recent. Room was tired, bed cheap and weird cushion pillows. Road noise within seconds was horrible. Bathroom half done up with a spa bath that did not look pristine and white and would look more suited to care home. No shower. it’s just a large tired bathroom.
As others have said , nasty cheap biscuits and paper cups.
It was so depressing I just walked out. I’d had a long four hour drive and work and didn’t even have it in me to tell them what I thought of the place.
Drove the four hours back home to my own bed.
It is just a tired old Band B worth £55 per night and even then I wouldn’t stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ulrica Harris, Owner at St George's Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Dear Matt, the room is exactly like the photos. Your jobs assignment had ended and you no longer needed the room which you had booked for 2 nights. Hence you decided to leave and write us this nasty review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet618540 wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately I’ve been unable to stay here as my plans have changed with storm Agnes approaching . I requested to change my date of stay by 48 hours ( rooms were available ) but staff declined to assist me , as the booking was ‘ locked into the computer ‘ . They have therefore taken the entire booking fee . Earlier in the week I had rang to make an adjustment to my booking and staff were rude and unhelpful . I would avoid on the basis of this
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ulrica Harris, Owner at St George's Hotel
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Dear Lisa, as we explained, you had booked though booking.com, the cancellation policy is 7 days. We cannot amend your booking. Imagine if the system allowed us to change the bookings as we pleased, ah, somebody else turned up and needs the room, we'll just cancel that booking and take this new one instead and so on. It would be chaos. When you booked you were informed by booking.com of the terms and conditions. If you did not like the T&C, don't book but wait until the last minute and book a room then.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MABS wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was clean and minimal. The rooms very basic with soft bed and mattress which rolled us into the middle. One pillow each only. No room cleaning during stay (covid?) This included the loo and no utensils to clean it. Paper cups in room for tea or coffee. Bathroom very small. The hotel is on a very busy road into Perranporth with access to South West Coast path. Perranporthporth can ge accessed by walking off road although the return is very much uphill. Charged at high rate per night as half term expected more for the money
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MommyKerry wrote a review Aug 2020
Hednesford, United Kingdom65 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely little cottage, perfect for today’s current world situation. It had all you needed and a few extra mod cons- coffee machine, Wifi and usb wall sockets.
The tv a good size and WiFi super fast.
Shower really powerful and large.
There is a lovely patio area, just a shame the weather wasn’t good enough to enjoy it.
Very friendly owners who even brought us round delicious homemade Rhubarb preserve.
Bed not massive but that didn’t bother us, the sofa bed a good size.
Really enjoyed our stay, thank you .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason007 wrote a review Sept 2022
Felixstowe, United Kingdom48 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our daughter was staying on Peranporth and we needed somewhere to stay in the area. Googled this hotel. The room was clean and spacious, we had the room on the top floor. Parking on site, although the exit and entrance are on a main road. The breakfast was very nice and we were not left hungry. Nice well stocked bar on site and the owners were friendly, would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Inneedofabreak66 wrote a tip Jul 2020
Wales11 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No bad rooms, just book early to ensure type of room suits your needs."
Read full review
Helen H wrote a tip Oct 2019
Worcester, England, United Kingdom45 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spa bath room was lovely"
Read full review
chrisnashoakbloke wrote a tip Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom13 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out the hotel Photo gallery"
Read full review
ian f wrote a tip Apr 2019
Miami Beach, Florida7 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"check the bathroom."
Read full review
tamarman33 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Plymouth, United Kingdom45 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"25 minute walk to the beach."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Perranporth area.
PRICE RANGE
£141 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st georges country perranporth, hotel st georges country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPerranporth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST GEORGE'S HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about St George's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St George's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Llama Lland (4.8 miles), Wheal Coates Tin Mine (3.6 miles), and Holywell Bay Beach (3.9 miles).
What are some restaurants close to St George's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Stepping Stones Cafe, No.4 Breakfast & Bistro, and Cafe Q.
Is St George's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Perranporth.
Are there any historical sites close to St George's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wheal Coates Tin Mine (3.6 miles), Holywell to Crantock circular walk (4.2 miles), and Goonbell Wheal Liberty Viaduct (2.2 miles).
All Perranporth HotelsPerranporth Hotel DealsHotels near St George's Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire