We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood Hotel

Save
Share
Rosevine Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$346
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$346
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (327)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (164)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Rosevine
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes, South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a highly-acclaimed restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Beach
Snorkelling
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
621Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 509
  • 84
  • 21
  • 7
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AJFfinch wrote a review Dec 2020
Shropshire, United Kingdom92 contributions100 helpful votes
We visited Driftwood for lunch on a wet and windy (newly) post-shutdown Sunday. It didn’t really give the Driftwood an opportunity to show-off - staff were coming to terms with strange new protocols and we couldn’t venture outside to take advantage of the stunning location, but we still had a great experience. Starters (for the table to share) were innovative, tasty and ensured that the meal began with a smile while the mains and dessert were also excellent. Choice is limited – that sharing plate is followed by a choice of three mains and two desserts, but we don’t view that as a problem: Especially in these difficult times it provides restaurants with an opportunity to avoid wastage and maintain quality and The Driftwood certainly delivered on quality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Robinson, Owner at Driftwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you , that is very kind and I hope we will see you again. Why not try our Sunday Sleepover, lunch and then a light supper.
Read more
Martin W wrote a review Dec 2020
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
Our first Christmas away from home exceeded all our expectations. We stayed for 3 nights (24-27 December) and arrived to a warm and friendly greeting and to a hotel heaven subtly decorated with Christmas themes. The stars at this hotel are definitely the staff and the cuisine.....but then there is also the cliff top location with stunning views out to sea. Our room (no1) was small but nicely decorated and very comfortable. There is no doubt that the chef here is surely just one inspection away from a Michelin Star. The food was mouthwatering in taste and beautifully presented at every meal.......including breakfast!! The wine pairing for the tasting menu was also a well selected delight. We have already booked a return stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Robinson, Owner at Driftwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you to share Christmas with and we look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully life will have returned to normal by next Christmas!
Read more
phoebewillett wrote a review Dec 2020
Sleaford, United Kingdom270 contributions133 helpful votes
This hotel is situated in such a beautiful area with the most beautiful church nearby, we booked for Christmas having eaten here before, the room 5 was dated and needed a bit of renovation as the roof has damp patches and the hatch kept flying open it’s also quite small although we were told it’s one of the larger rooms, the staff are lovely and bend over backwards to help, the 7 course tasting menu paired with wine was outstanding I have to say it was truelly one of the best menus we have had, we were really looking forward to Christmas Day lunch but we were very disappointed I asked one of the waiters if they brought in a different chef as I couldn’t understand how it could be so bad, anyway that aside everything else was amazing including the food on Boxing Day, guy one of the waiters really makes you welcome and at ease, the walk from the hotel into Portscathos was another amazing experience for me with hot chocolate mince pies and baileys waiting for you half way there or back.. this hotel is like home from home and the staff make you feel like family which was very much appreciated after the year we have all had I will go back as it’s so beautiful there and you are really amongst friends
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Robinson, Owner at Driftwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, I know you were disappointed with your room as you were hoped to have a deck room with more space and an outdoor area for smoking. I am delighted that you thought so highly of the tasting menu but wasn't aware you were underwhelmed by your lunch on Christmas day, my impression was that you really enjoyed all the meals with us. We look forward to seeing you again but please book a deck room.
Read more
Sarah S wrote a review Dec 2020
9 contributions
+1
We have been wanting to go to the Driftwood for several years. With some unfortunate family news, we have been slowly working our way through a bucket list and the hotel was on it, being in Cornwall where we have always made such good family memories. The approach to the hotel offers the breathtaking views of the peninsula coastline on which it sits - the first night’s sunset was truly amazing! For us, there were a couple of great things and there were a couple not so great. The location, the views from our window and the hugely helpful and friendly staff were outstanding and cannot be bettered in the UK. However, we felt that our particular room was a little tired - it always seems a shame to look up and see poorly repaired, cracked and peeling ceilings in both the bedroom and bathroom. Since you spend time lying horizontal in both the bed and Bath, you would think more attention would be paid. The window got stuck and we had to call a staff member to help. The curtains were stained and the TV was very small for the size of the room. We also felt the the dining menu, although fabulous, was overly rich and complicated for our tastes. On the plus side, the breakfast was very nice and the staff, as said, were excellent. All in all, an 8/10 for us for the money but we are glad we got to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Robinson, Owner at Driftwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves. One of the consequences of Covid and the lockdowns has been that certain maintenance issues have been restricted and your window problem is one, indeed we cannot get the required work done until mid January. I offer that as an explanation and not as an excuse. With regard to the menu, we are always happy to simplify dishes, please just ask. Do come and see us again.
Read more
DB27 wrote a review Nov 2020
Palma de Mallorca, Spain32 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the hotel at the beginning of the month, that being our only holiday since lockdown 8n March. It was 3 days of sheer indulgence and luxury and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The food and drink was of the highest quality and the short walk down to the beach and the coastal walk to Portscatho is not to be missed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Stewart (who gave us a guided tour of the hotel and took us to our room) and waited upon and advised by Alex ( the Frenchie), Alex (the Brummie) and Severinne and ate delicious food prepared under the expert eye of Ollie, we couldn’t have asked for more. We are definitely going back in the new year as this is an experience I can’t wait to experience again. You will not be disappointed visiting this hotel and the village of Portscatho and its lovely art galleries as well as the beautiful St Mawes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Robinson, Owner at Driftwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow, thank you. I am delighted that you had such a good time and will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$233 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
driftwood hotel rosevine
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallRosevine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Driftwood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Driftwood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Just in Roseland Church (2.2 miles), Falmouth Lifeboat (4.9 miles), and St. Anthony Head Walk (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Driftwood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Driftwood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Driftwood Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Driftwood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Driftwood Restaurant, The Thirstea Co, and St Mawes Bakery.
Is Driftwood Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Rosevine.
Are there any historical sites close to Driftwood Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pendennis Castle (4.9 miles) and Tregothnan (3.3 miles).
Does Driftwood Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.