We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Ballina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Ballina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Blackwall, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This park is located within easy walking distance to the CBD and across the road from the river. The facilities at the park are clean and very tidy and disability friendly. Great camp kitchen,but found the sites a bit cosy. Management very friendly and helpful,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location, camp kitchen and customer service! Thank you for sharing your review, Helen.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We haven't even stayed there yet. We went for a walk there this morning to see if we would like to visit and stay with our van next time as we are at Shaws Bay now. Walked around and thought is was nice suited all our needs, walking heated swimming pool, fishing and general relaxing. On our way out I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our level of customer service. We appreciate all feedback in order to continue to make improvements to our park. Thank you for the review, Debbie.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I've been to this place twice now. Each time with a few groups of families and kids. We've stayed in tents or camper trailers and have had sites that all join each other. The park itself is really nice and well presented. The toilets and showers are very clean and well maintained. The common kitchen area is awesome and makes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ShaneBlack
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the customer service at our park, Shane. We're happy to hear the kids enjoyed themselves on the jumping pillow! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

greymouth
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We visited this park last week for 1 night. My 11 year old son had a hard year being diagnosed with anxiety and Tourettes Syndrome so we wanted to give him a great Birthday. His night away also had to be delayed and changed 3 times due to his grandma dying. The staff online were extremely efficient and very accomodating....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank evmaya
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We rely on feedback in order to continue to make improvements to our park. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your experience, but happy that in summary you feel the park is a great spot for kids!

Queensland
Reviewed 29 June 2016

What a delight it was to stay in a waterfront studio at Discovery Park Ballina in June 2016. The 'studio' was modern and offered a separate bedroom, en suite bathroom and sofa for a guest to sleep on. The kitchen opened up to an outdoor setting on a private patio affording the most tranquil views i have enjoyed for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jazznhanoi2010
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

What beautiful words! Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you do stay with us again.

Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2016

The park is very nice well laid out. Very clean and very well Managed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The park is only a short drive to the shops, club, and other facilities. The only thing I can say wrong with the park is the dog section could have been included in a bit more of the park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback, Robert. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and customer service at our park. We hope to see you again in the future!

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Had a lovely stay last year in our van but decided to try the waterfront sites this time for 4 nights. Really lovely overlooking Shaws Bay and easy walk to Hotel along the rock wall beside the park. However on day 3, we had 4 families move in on 3 sites directly in front of us with an assortment of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gmc292
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience on our sites. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Not a bad Park but who rates these parks, 4.5 stars is being very optimistic and an over rating by far. The park has plastic shower curtains and the amenities block is old and dated, that said they at ,East had plentiful hot water and a floor mat which some don't have. Seriously, this park is a tale of two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramondavich
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the facilities at our park, but happy you enjoyed the hot water! Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au . Thank you for sharing your review.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I stayed here with my husband for four nights in April. We had booked a waterfront studio cabin.The photo when we booked showed the cabin right on the waterfront. We were very disappointed when we found that our waterfront studio cabin was actually behind another true waterfront cabin and when the guests in that cabin parked their car we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda D
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your accommodation at our park, Linda. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Belmont, Australia
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The park is quite and well maintained. We stayed on a water front site at a cost of $47 pn. We expected for the price the amenities would be new & modern. There were 3 toilets (1 out of order) the 3 showers had nylon shower curtains, the old sinks had corrugated iron as a vanity front! There were newer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie H
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at our park, Kerrie. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au .

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.1 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw's Bay lake, Discovery Parks - Ballina offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Discovery Parks - Ballina is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Drive, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Campbelltown, Australia
Morayfield, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Discuss accommodation style and age of facility before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 140lizr, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hubs were good (like a 2 bed cabin but roomy)”
 of 5 bubbles tripreviewer149, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would choose a larger cabin next time if staying longer.”
 of 5 bubbles crystalice16, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the cabins, camping is great. Maybe the deluxe cabins are worth they money”
 of 5 bubbles sonity, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“research best option for your budget”
 of 5 bubbles ceterpaple, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5