We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

Lovely owners. Great wifi. Decent location. 5 min walk to beach. 10 min walk (max) to main town area. Stayed in a two bed apartment that had everything you needed. Parking outside if you wanted. Genuinely couldn't fault the place except for the odd bug in the place. Didn't have AirCon although whilst we stayed we didn't need it anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spinks7
Sydney
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I come every year to baystay b&b for a week away from Sydney. We like the location because its only a 5 min walk to centre Byron/beach but a quiet area where you can still hear the ocean at night. John and his wife are fantastic and make life easy when you are there. We usually eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrib01
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were very thankfully (as a couple of travelling mates) that at last minute (well a couple of days before) this place accommodated us on Valentines Day for one night. But.................. on arrival we were greeted by the very nice man who had not only upgraded us to the two bedroom 'apartment'....... he also was quite upfront that breakfast would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vmo m
Baystay, Manager at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always react to guest problems asap and would have appreciated the opportunity to do so in your case. A couple of points to clarify from your comments: town is 400 metres from our house and takes about 6 minutes to walk to the main street,...

Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the owners were not here (and we didn't see them at all during our stay) and nobody to welcome us. We had the badly surprise to find other people in our studio so they had to move at 9pm in an other room. But the studio was dirty (because they already used It for two days) so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophieaustralie
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hey things do go wrong sometimes and in the 20 years I have run this guesthouse the odd thing has gone wrong and I have fixed it. In these peoples' case they had a run of bad luck. Unfortunately they arrived tired at 2140 not to my place but to some other place in a different street. They called me...

Reviewed 20 March 2013

The setting is fantastic and the location is also amazing. It was such a shame that the owners were away and left their son in charge. The door bell was broken, we had to find out own room with a key and note stuck in the door. Turns out they had stuffed up the rooms and we were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lozzzz123
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is always useful whether positive or negative. The sad thing with your feedback is that you failed to mention that you were told before you booked that I would not be there and given a special price. You were also told that you would be staying in our lovely Garden Studio which is a...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Run by friendly and helpful proprietors, John and Janet, this is a little gem in Byron Bay. Comparatively affordable, and located 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs of town, this bed and breakfast offers cosy and clean rooms. Ask John or Jane about local sights off the beaten track and definitely try the home-made bread for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbEls
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just spent two nights here with a friend on a brief mid-week trip away from the Gold Coast. Was very impressed with what we paid for. Stayed in the spa room. Very spacious, comfortable, quiet and felt very secluded. The room has all the basics. Double bed, mini bar fridge, comfortable living area with small tv, spa bath and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cammyjs
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The location, accommodation, food and hospitality were all great. Many of the B&Bs in Byron don't offer breakfast - but Baystay is a wonderful exception. It is really close to town, but without the noise of being right in the centre. We really enjoyed our stay - and will definately return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 129Robyn
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Baystay B&B for 2 nights in the spa room. We were looking for something cosy, peaceful and handy to town and got all of this. The hosts were out when we arrived but had left a key and note explaining how to get to town, the beach etc. These are only 5-10 minutes walk away so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drcallycat
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I want to start by apologising to the family that looked after us for taking SO LONG to post this. I got there in the end. We stayed at Baystay for part of a long honeymoon at Christmas and we couldn't have been made to feel mroe welcome. Our room was upgraded so we had a hot tub and sauna...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SupaSal

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron@Clarkes
Byron@Clarkes
#55 of 63 in Byron Bay
3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Apartments - Byron Bay
2.2 mi away
Planula B&B Retreat
Planula B&B Retreat
#16 of 38 in Byron Bay
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 38 in Byron Bay
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tri Byron Bay
Tri Byron Bay
#20 of 38 in Byron Bay
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Baystay is a lovely bed and breakfast situated within 5 minutes walk to both town and beach. It is a traditional style Aussie beach house of the 70s and has been operated as a B&B since 1995. Your hosts are locals of over 25 years and can help you with information about our beautiful area and give you an experience of our laid back beach lifestyle. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range: £77 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Baystay Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Baystay Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you find out who is going to be available for service when you are staying so there is someone to tend to things that are broken.”
 of 5 bubbles lozzzz123, 20 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Ask John where the best place for coffee is. He did tell us but we forgot :-/”
 of 5 bubbles cammyjs, 7 Sep 2012 | Read review
“The spa room gives that extra bit of luxury.”
 of 5 bubbles drcallycat, 18 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Go for the one with the hote tub!”
 of 5 bubbles SupaSal, 28 May 2012 | Read review
“If you like big spas as for this room.”
 of 5 bubbles Gr_Taylor, 20 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay