We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ecotel Narooma

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ecotel Narooma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had just an overnight stay at Ecotel. We knew this was going to be basic and we just needed a place to sleep so it served our need well. Surprised to hear some bad comments as our experience wasn't bad at all! Our room was tidy with two single beds and a queen bed. All beds were comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RioTraveler31
Garry K, Public Relations Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our favorable points. We are a budget motel and we are a family motel. We aim to give friendly service so glad you noticed.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dirty (filthy quilt covers, crumbs on ground, mood in shower and ants everywhere in kitchen when we arrived), smelly (musty, mouldy), noisy during day & very very old. Almost like someone was playing a joke on us. Yes it was cheap but at over a $100 a night we wish we had stayed in a tent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany W
Croydon, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend booked this for one night as we were just passing through and needed a bed for the night. The rating was 3 1/2 stars... I wouldn't give it 1 star! The room was musty and the bathroom was just plain gross. We just couldn't bring ourselves to stay there so we handed the key back and forfeited our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swifty150
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Nice and quiet, clean room a little outdated but not badly, stayed one night with 3 kids, only disappointment was I specifically chose this motel as it had a pool but when we arrived it was not in use much to the kids disappointment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bec J
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Sorry you were disappointed re. swimming pool. We advertise it as a seasonal pool and it is open during the summer. I wonder if you found your way down to the swimming area at Bar Beach? A very special place and a kids' paradise. If not perhaps next time you...

Hartley, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Last minute check in late evening, thank you. Clean and tidy but quiet, even though its on the main rd coming into Narooma. Beautiful grounds, older hotel style but peaceful feeling. Thank you again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Halcyon_urge
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Ecotel. Glad you had a comfortable stay. Hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The receptionist was very pleasant....and very helpful. Even though the place looked a little bit old but it was clean & comfortable. The staff even provided us with a hot plate. It was really value for money. We had a nice stay & enjoy Narooma very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zaharah B
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found us friendly, helpful and comfortable. Narooma is indeed a great place to visit with many things to do and see usually necessitating several visits! We hope to welcome you to Ecotel again.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I have been off and on staying there for over 25 years when this Motel was run by a German couple. It was then known as Motel Montague. Since then it was bought by a Jewish couple who have renovated the entire facade of this Motel. When the owner died the motel was sold and the new owner transformed this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
Garry K, General Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and informative review. Always lovely to hear from folk who have known the property over the years. The original homestead, with hill-top views, was built around 1903 when this property was the Kianga Dairy Farm. Now of course Kianga development is a 'suburb' of Narooma. Several times a year we will get folk calling in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a scuba diving road trip. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are fairly cheap. The rooms are old but fine, it reminded me of family holidays in the 70s! Rooms are small, beds are comfortable and clean, showers were hot, toilet flushed, tv and fridge worked and wifi was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aquatic_Ape
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a review. Having the dive groups here is always fun so I am glad you enjoyed it. Pleased you were able to have some good dive time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

My partner and I made a last minute booking at the Ecotel in Narooma in mid holiday season. The room was clean, a good size for two people and we had a nice view of the ocean out the windows. The staff were really friendly and were happy to suggest good restaurants and beaches in the area. The biggest downfall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddie602
Garry K, Guest Relations Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Ecotel and pointing out our virtues re staff, location etc. Yes the bathrooms are dated and on our To-Do List as we work through the refurbishing of the motel rooms. Apologies if you found them lacking and we hope to have them re-vamped for your next visit.

Burrill Lake, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2016

The pool would have been lovely and cooling for a swim after a scorching hot day out but it was filthy with tree foliage ,etc on the pool floor,with very murky coloured water as though the actual pump didnt work.the surrounding grass of pool area hadn't been mowed in ages and there were broken lounge chairs on the grass.The kiddies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules l
Garry K, Owner at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

How unfortunate that you did indeed arrive when there was a pool filter problem. These things happen but it means once the filter is repaired it takes the pool a few days to get its balance back. Fortunately the sea is close by and the netted area at the North Bar a joy to play and swim in. We have...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narooma hotels
1.5 mi away
Top Of The Town Motel
Top Of The Town Motel
#2 of 8 in Narooma
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amooran Oceanside Apartments and Motel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
#5 of 8 in Narooma
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Horizon Apartments
Horizon Apartments
#3 of 12 in Narooma
115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Narooma Motel
Narooma Motel
#6 of 12 in Narooma
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whale Motor Inn
Whale Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Narooma
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ecotel Narooma provides great value accommodation in a tranquil bush setting combined with comfort and friendly service. There is easy access to beach, boardwalk, public boat-ramp, town and Wagonga Inlet. We have rooms to suit individuals, couples, families and groups at affordable prices. Special pricing is available during most times of the year for parties of over 10 people. All rooms have expansive views from large picture windows. Rooms include linen and towels; ensuite with shower; kitchenette equipped with kettle, toaster, crockery, cutlery and glasses; bar fridge; heater, fan; TV and WiFi. Microwaves or hotplate and pans available on request. Some rooms have the option of additional fold-down beds or travel cots. All rooms are NON-smoking. However smoking outside with sensitivity to other guests is OK. Shared north-facing verandas provide a sheltered spot to relax overlooking the lawn and BBQ area. There is ample on-site parking for cars, trucks, vans and boats.There is easy access through our property to and from the Apex Park boat ramp without going onto the highway. Enquire about monthly boat storage and make the most of summer fishing. Please make use of the seasonal swimming pool nestled in a landscaped glade with undercover picnic tables. Use the BBQ and picnic tables under our magnificent Jacaranda tree. Get to know our hens, feed them your food scraps and enquire about availability of eggs. Find out more about our ECO practices. You may like to participate in some of the workshops, courses and weekly groups held in the homestead. These cover such diverse interests as cheese-making, permaculture, belly dancing, meditation, health & wellbeing, creative writing, yoga and much more. Ecotel Narooma lies on the spectacular south-east coast of NSW Australia. It is in Eurobodalla Shire and part of the Batemans Bay Marine Park. We are 345 kms from Sydney, 696 kms from Melbourne and 217 kms from Canberra. Narooma is said to have one of the most clement climates in Australia ... And we can vouch for that! We look forward to welcoming you at our friendly 'motel with a difference'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ecotel Narooma

Address: 44 Princes Hwy | North Narooma, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Narooma
Price Range: £45 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Narooma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ecotel Narooma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ecotel Narooma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with waterview or room further away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles RioTraveler31, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the view on the opposite end of the building from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles Maddie602, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“no tip given”
 of 5 bubbles 529julesl, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“never have unit number 2”
 of 5 bubbles 196barbl, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose this motel”
 of 5 bubbles 68cynthiab, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay