We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elliott House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 734: English reviews
Chevy Chase, MD
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third or fourth stay at the Elliott House Inn, and the worst. Whether our fault or theirs, they had no record of our months-old online reservation for a particular room—No. 19—that we swore we had placed months before. It's a ground floor room with a patio. We love it. Like the year before, we had come for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited his hometown for two days recently and stayed at the lovely Elliott House Inn. It is near great restaurants (be sure to get a reservation at Husk next door, or 83 Queen--both serve very good food and are in high demand!) The service at Elliott House Inn was excellent. Would you believe, the room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovette B
Seneca
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Elliot House is outstanding. Great location, friendly people. Fantastic breakfast and reception. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants a great place in central Charleston. I'd suggest staying in an interior room as opposed to one's on the street that may be a bit noisy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B4873JVedg
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We agree, the staff and the location, are just a few of the great reasons to come and stay with us. The Courtyard Rooms are located towards the middle and back of the property, so they tend to be a little quieter than the Traditional Rooms. We look...

Washington,Dc
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a corner room which seemed larger than most of the other rooms. We had a huge walk-in closet and a dining area with a very nice kitchen. Room was #27 I believe. The hotel has a great location centered within the historic center of the city. easy walking distance to the sights. Parking garage directly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrdesign
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about the property, and the staff. The location cannot be beat, because we are centrally located in Charleston’s Historic District. Room 27 is the old suite, and is the only room on the property with a large walk-in closet. The breakfast is something...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently. We got a good deal especially for the location. Its right next to Husk, The Bar at Husk, Poogan's Porch, 82 Queen, and right around the corner from King and Meeting Streets. There is no parking so we had to pay $20 to park in the garage across the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorni10
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We agree, the wine and cheese is a great amenity that we offer at the Inn. As you mentioned, most places in Charleston do not include parking, so we are lucky to have three parking facilities within a hundred yards or so yards from the property. The hot...

Schwenksville, PA
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at the Elliott House Inn and I am conflicted writing this review because there are many good things about staying here but there are some things that need work. We were given Room 28 which is a lovely room with a king size bed and a love seat sitting area. The bathroom was very nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laudb
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you decided to stay with us again, while you were returning to Charleston. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed Charleston so much, that you have chosen to purchase property here. Room 28 is a wonderful Courtyard King Room, which has a...

Charlotte
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Elliot house is a nice old hotel in a great location with something left to be desired. Staff is very nice but the immenities for the cost is over valued. I did some checking around and could have stayed at a couple of B and B's for less and received more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patickc2017
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We glad that you found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. The breakfast that we provide at the Inn, is comparable and much more in many cases, than most properties that serve a breakfast. Also, we are surrounded by several breakfast restaurants, which provide a full breakfast. I’m glad that you...

Savannah Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I took a quick getaway trip from our Savannah home to spend the night in Charleston. We stayed at one of our favorite small inns, the Elliott House Inn. We first stayed there in 1984 and have gone back numerous times over the years. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is always very friendly. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bplawsavga
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m glad that we were able to host you while you were visiting in Charleston, from our sister city of Savannah. I know that Neal enjoyed talking to you about your time with us and the possible matchup between Clemson vs. Alabama, before it was set. Even though you are an Alabama guy, Neal said he wouldn’t hold it against...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We liked almost everything about this hotel, but if you stay here, bring earplugs! The courtyard is charming, and we liked that the hot tub was still in service during winter. We booked a "courtyard king" room in the back of the hotel, away from the street and backing up to a little garden. It was a pleasant surprise to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Room is a great Courtyard King Room. As the reviewer mentioned, it has a good amount of space and provides you with a private courtyard. The location is in the middle of downtown Charleston, so no matter where you are located there is a possibility for noise. We do the best we can to mitigate the issue, but being surrounded...

Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love staying at the Elliott House Inn! The location is walking distance from anything in the downtown Charleston area! The staff make you feel as if you were family (a shoutout to Neal in the front office) and the evening reception and breakfasts are completely perfect! It is, without a doubt, one of our favorite parts of Charleston!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank njl1965
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We always love seeing you and Jerry, when you are visiting family in South Carolina. I know that Neal enjoys talking to y’all about a variety of topics. Neal said he always look forward to seeing your name on the reservation list. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in town visiting family in...

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
1,449 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
845 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,595 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
581 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#33 of 60 in Charleston
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: £127 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elliott House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
atlanta
over a year ago
9 months ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elliott House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with a patio.”
 of 5 bubbles ChevyChaseOne, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The front room we had is not dark, because the windows allow street lights in, but we shut the blinds and it was ok. Just not really dark.”
 of 5 bubbles lovettepb, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was very nice and our corner room was larger than most #27.”
 of 5 bubbles mrdesign, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose an interior room that is not right on Queen St.”
 of 5 bubbles lorni10, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room in the back that does NOT abut the restaurant next door would have been quieter, but it wasn't a problem really.”
 of 5 bubbles LC_in_SD, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay