We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$281*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$343*
US$281*
Great Deal
US$341*
US$341*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Vendue Charleston\\
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,074: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

At $400+/night mid-week for a hotel I'd say "disappointing" is a massive understatement. The rooms are dingy and dirty. A colleague of mine staying at the same hotel said, "did they forget to vacuum the floors"? My $400+/night room had stained and dirty floors and the hot water took 10 full minutes to come on. The white trim and doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scout_II
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scout_II, following our phone conversation I again wanted to thank you for staying with us and apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Shawano
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Vendue for the 1st 4 days of our week long trip to Charleston. People could not have been friendlier and more helpful. We were disappointed by our room because it was so small. It was cute, and would have been fine for a night or 2. When approached by one of the managers the 2nd day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue H, thank you for staying with us and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with Ed, Brittany and the rest of the staff and we will all look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Riverside, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was great. Terrific location, rooms are wonderful. Roof top bar is really terrific. Warm cookies in the lobby at 9pm. People are great. If you are an art lover this is a 6! There are real, authentic artist based in the hotel and artwork throughout. We chose the location and the rooftop bar for the view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pres1ton
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pres1ton, thank you for choosing The Vendue and for the lovely feedback. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a quaint hotel with personalized service of the old Europe flavor... the bar ..coffee shop to the unbelievable restaurant..hard to believe but the general manager has more class then any five star!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr. Joe M
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dr. Joe M, thanks for the great review and much undeserved personal compliment. We hope you'll join us again soon. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Lake Mary, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We absolutely loved every bit of our 2 night stay at the Vendue. The location was perfect, steps away from the view of the harbor, pineapple fountain and green spaces for our son to get some energy out! Just a short walk away from restaurants galore! Free coffee in the morning, complimentary happy hour in the afternoon and cookies and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJensen10
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JJensen10, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your wonderful review of our Hotel. We hope you will join us again soon. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Woodstock, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel thru Priceline which is the best site ever btw! When we arrived, we were greeted in a gorgeous lobby by a wonderful and friendly lady. She checked us into a nice king room on the second floor and gave a gift certificate for $25 for their restaurant for drinks or a meal! We were so surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhairavicraig
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bhairavicraig, thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to us. We hope you will chose The Vendue again in the future, and when you do, please feel free to contact me directly to make your reservation. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Are you an artful wanderer? Then you will fall in love with the Vendue! When you are in the hotel you are surrounded by beautiful paintings. As you browse the halls, in your room, everywhere you go in the hotel you are surrounded by beauty. And when you leave the hotel you are steps from Battery Park where you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larretta
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larretta, thanks for the kind words... glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly, we only had one night at the Vendue, but the hotel was amazingly lovely. Our room was beautifully furnished with fantastic art on the walls. Comfortable bed and a complimentary decanter of sherry on arrival. The hotel has a great rooftop bar. Wasn't in love with the quality of the drinks, but the view and ambiance is worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patty H, thank you so much for staying with us and for the feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. I am sorry to hear your experience at The Rooftop was not on par wit the rest of your stay and I hope you will give it a try the next time you are with us, I'm sure it will not...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at The Vendue the last week of March. The Vendue is modern and great for art lovers. It's location is fantastic! Just a few steps to the pier where we watched dolphins playing in the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah G, Thanks for the great review, it means a lot to us! We hope you will chose to stay with us again soon. Best Regards, Pietro Giardini General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

1. There was an issue with my reservation when I checked in despite the fact that I spent more than 10 minutes over the phone when I did my reservation to make sure they know I had 2 separate reservations and I did not want to change rooms. The lady at check in was able to get it fixed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank firas b
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review

Dear firas b, first of all, on behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for choosing The Vendue during your recent visit to Charleston and for taking the time to share your feedback. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations, at the same time I would like to reassure...

931 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (571)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (154)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (234)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
East Bay King (34)
Viewed
Premiere Double Queen (33)
Viewed
Premiere King (36)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Signature King (30)
Viewed
Signature Queen (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,767 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,982 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,343 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,706 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Price Range: £176 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Great Neck, New York
1 month ago
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
19 days ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
29 days ago
Schererville, Indiana

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go main building, second floor for windows and quiet. Front side has bigger bathrooms than those across the hall (choose odd # side).”
lynsiehall, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Room #221 is phenominal!”
X7357KZjeffg, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have no windows and other look into a courtyard of electrical equipment, check before booking.”
BrendanB717, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The view from the roof top bar not all that impressive. However it was quite crowded and noisy.”
presleyTennessee, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sureness were on. The second floor with a bay view”
drjoem, 17 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$281* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$341
Expedia.comUS$341
getaroom.comUS$343
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates