We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

My husband, myself and my twin toddlers booked this place for hurricane evacuation. We choose it due to advertised in room separate seating and on site playground. We felt this would be great for two toddlers however on arrival there was no playground and no place for there ever to have been one. The hotel looked terrible and the separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy A
ABVIColumbia1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your stay with us. We are sorry about the inconveniences you experienced and can assure you we have taken care of the problems you had. Please give us another chance if you are in the area again.ones again sorry but we aren't advertised in room separate seating and... More 

Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Avoid this place at all costs.... The place is an absolute DUMP - the facility is filthy, the rooms are cheap, ill-maintained and poorly outfitted..... The staff is no help at all in either comprehension or assistance..... We had a reservation for a King size bed but when we got there were told we were in a 2-bed room.... they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray F
ABVIColumbia1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2015

We had reservations but when we got there it was horrid! Crackheads patrolling the parking lot trying to bum a cigarette before we got out of the car. Shopping carts parked in the walkways where the homeless were caching them. That was as far as we went. Even though it took a few more hours to find a place far... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
ABVIColumbia1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I were here for a friends party and it was a horrible experience. when were getting intimate a roach decided it wanted to climb on my husbands leg, at that point I was to through and I was ready to go! But my husband urged me into staying the night until the morning so we did and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren F
ABVIColumbia1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Dear Lauren F, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced in 2013. There is never an excuse for not providing our guests with an enjoyable experience. Due to our location in the South, there are bugs that are native to the area that resemble roaches. However, they are an... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here at this property in January to come and see my fiance, but this hotel was very nasty. I looked under the bed and saw beer bottles and other junk that should have been cleaned up. The bathroom was not well cleaned at all. The hotel was very run down and has not been completely kept up. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Niecy1178
ABVIColumbia1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Dear Neicy1178, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. We are now under new management. Improvements are underway, including new bedspreads, vanities, stucco, and new furniture in 25 rooms. We hope that these updates will enhance the overall experience. Regards, Ash-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Columbia, SC More 

Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

DO NOT BOOK FROM THE PICTURES!!!! THIS HOTEL IS A WRECK!!!! located off a side road where there are NO LIGHTS in the parking lot. When i pulled up at 10pm the front door was locked and had a side window, once they confirmed I had a reservation they allowed me in, which had a musty smell. Reserved a first... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank armysoldier0607
Raj P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and can assure you that we have taken care of the problems. We normally do not refund a guest after he stays in the room for 20 minutes; however, if... More 

Oswego, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

OH MY GOD!!! Non smoking room. It smelled like a chain smoking truck driver's butt. The carpet was STICKY. Mismatched touchup paint on the green metal door and the the caulk encrusted poor air conditioner. Burn marks on the edge of all the furniture. The lobby smelled like curry. We came in late and the desk clerk behind the plexiglass... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank baloondog
Raj P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your stay with us. We are sorry about the inconveniences you experienced and can assure you we have taken care of the problems you had. Please give us another chance if you are in the area again, and we will offer you a 15% discount off... More 

Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We just stopped overnight at this hotel on our way up north. For $50 a night, the room was clean, everything was in working order, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. And the gentleman that checked us in called our room about 10 minutes after we got in just to check if everything was ok and if we needed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bdoyle513
Nuts NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The room wasn't bad but the bathroom was infested with both large roaches and waterbugs. One perticular waterbug was on top of the toilet in the morning and decided to sit there so I grabbed my phone and snaped a photo of it to warn everyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainDees

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#45 of 96 in Columbia
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, conveniently located in the center of historic Columbia, South Carolina. Located 13 miles northwest of the state's geographic center, Columbia was the first-planned capital city in the United States. Founded in 1786, it remains the center of government, education, and commerce in South Carolina. The Columbia metropolitan area is home to beautiful Lake Murray, the University of South Carolina, and Fort Jackson which is the army's largest training base. Must see area attractions include the state capitol building, South Carolina's Governor's Mansion, Columbia Museum of Arts, Williams-Brice Building, State Farmer's Market, and Riverbanks Zoo and Garden.Free continental breakfast is available daily from 6.00-9.00Am and typically includes muffins, cereal, fruit, coffee, milk, and juice. Great local restaurants include Hardee's, Ruby Tuesday, Zaxby's, and Tios Mexican Cafe.Hotel is a charming two story building with 40 spacious guest rooms. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel. Our front desk and lobby are open 24 hours/day. All of our guest rooms are furnished with a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson

Address: 131 Veterans Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-1552
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: £48 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn Fort Jackson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room as long as it's at a DIFFERENT Hotel....”
 of 5 bubbles RayF477, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here at all, make sure to go somewhere else even if it is a higher amount. This is in a bad neighborhood.”
 of 5 bubbles Niecy1178, 28 Feb 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay