We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,209: English reviews
Lake Jackson, Texas
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

I love to stay in historical properties and this one was not a disappointment. It maintainers its historical identity with modern services and rooms. Located in the heart of the city, easy walking to it all. Missed out on the ghost :( *Worth reading the history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JVSibley
Norcross, Georgia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfect downtown location near great restaurants and shops. The service was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were basic and simple, but clean. Would definitely stay here again. The lobby is classy and the rooftop wedding photos are very cool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett hotel! We agree that our location in the heart of downtown Greenville is perfect where nearly any attraction can be reached by foot. Thank you as well for your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and the ambiance of our public spaces. With close to...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Whenever we're in Greenville, we try and book at the Westin. It's right in the heart of downtown, so it's convenient to walk to restaurants, shops, etc. We've always enjoyed the room, especially the beds - heavenly indeed! The property is gorgeous and the hotel has a nice charm as it was built in the late 1920s if I'm not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChasCaroline
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett during your recent trip to Greenville! You are correct, the hotel first opened its doors in 1925 and was fully renovated in 2000. However, upkeep and improvements are constant so that you enjoy the historic aspect of the public space while finding modern amenities, such as...

Gloversville, NY
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

.....from the room to the service to the cookies at the desk!! People were warm and welcoming! And the breakfast is just NOT TO BE MISSED! Loved the shower!! Only disappointment....as an animal advocate....is the horse and carriage right outside the front door! This is not a good life for these city horses.....they should know better!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan911
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about the Westin Poinsett hotel! We were so happy to hear how highly you thought of everything, from the cookies at check in, to the breakfast in our Spoonbread Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you were distraught by the horses outside the hotel....

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at this hotel last fall for a business meeting and we had a wonderful experience. Each staff member was personable and enjoyable, and they were very accommodating to our group's needs. The rooms were spotless and spacious and the food we had at the hotel was very good. When we had some down-time, we got out to explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbstlouis
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Poinsett for your business meeting! We gladly shared your wonderful review with our staff. Thank you for all of your kind comments not only about our personable associates but also the clean rooms and the good food. As to the location, you are right, it is hard to beat. Our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I travel often, and always stay at hotels 4 stars or over. This has been one of the most unacceptable experiences so far. Every time we visited my family in Greenville, we would book a week here and always leave unhappy. Spent my wedding night here plus an extra day in one of their king suites. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly C
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken your comments seriously and shared them with our Department Heads in order to improve on our service. We would also like to apologize for not being clear about our photography policy. Roof top photos are exclusively granted to bride and...

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin is a happy place for us. We'd go there for no reason at all. The Staff is incredible; starting with Janice (consegiere) and John at the bar. Convenient to everything downtown has to offer....love that too. You will appreciate the quaintness and the comforting vibe the minute you exit the elevator.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine, We are very appreciative of your kind words, which have been shared with Janice and John. Thank you for your comments on the "comforting vibe" of our public spaces which project the style of the roaring twenties, the time when the hotel first opened its doors. We look forward to seeing you again soon exiting this elevator!

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of my favorite places in Greenville. We attended a formal evening wedding on New Years Eve. This historic property is a great setting for a formal event. The hotel was set up very nice and the staff was great and attended to all needs. The room we had was large and the beds are great. Didn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben4UND
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Ben, Thank you so much for writing such a complimentary review of the Westin Poinsett! We love it when Greenville residents decide to take a "staycation" and select our hotel for the occasion! New Year's Eve was very lively this year with three weddings, a bar full of guests enjoying football games and live music in our Lounge with...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely old style classic hotel. Built in the 1920's. Very solid with some beautiful details. Mostly, it has been nicely updated (bathrooms still need some work). A little overpriced but a Great location for walking, dining, experiencing and seeing downtown Greenville,SC. The 24-hour room service is a nice plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma A
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Norma, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett hotel! We appreciate your kind comments about our authentic 1920's decor and our 24-hour room service. We are constantly updating our hotel and have included the guest bathrooms for this year. Our rates vary depending on hotel demand, but are generally reasonable for a 4 diamond...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel with a 60% travel agent discount. I wouldn't pay the full price for this hotel. Lobby and rooms are nice and spacious, just a little dated. I really liked the soft bathrobes that comes with a room that we were assigned.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ginopaulie
Fabian U, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Westin Poinsett. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our soft bathrobes. We are constantly updating our rooms and public spaces and have already started for this year. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (76)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (11)
Viewed
King Room (9)
Viewed
King Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: £153 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Poinsett, Greenville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Laurel, Maryland
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Poinsett, Greenville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay away from rooms near the ballrooms. The parties in them can keep you up all night.”
 of 5 bubbles W7073YTkellyc, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy a first class breakfast, pistachios at the bar, and the chocolate chip cookies. Say hello to Janice and John.”
 of 5 bubbles 308lorrainem, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles Ozark1, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The 9th floor had a beautiful skyline view of Greenville!”
 of 5 bubbles U15SSnicoles, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms appear to be good.”
 of 5 bubbles lifeskills4you, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay