We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Dunes Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Dunes Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very well appointed condo. We thoroughly enjoyed a first time at Royal Dunes. We will return here in the future. Hilton Head is absolutely beautiful with plenty to do. The condo is approximately 1500 sqare ft. Large enough to fit six people comfortably. The 2 master suites are well appointed at each end of the condo. Twin beds in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank itsawonderfulllife61
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review isawonderfulllife61. Hurry back! More 

East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So disappointed and not able to stay at the time share due to hurricane damage to South Carolina. Got a hotel in town. Things are going back to normal and will try again. Missed golf as these courses were closed..........

Helpful?
Thank bbmsu56
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments bbmsu56. We did have a lot of damage due to the hurricane. We are now back up and running. We aren't 100% but we are getting there. See you next year! More 

Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the welcome at the front desk, to helping plan day trips, to friendly and delicious welcome cookouts, to the wonderful location....absolutely nothing to complain about. They even gave me directions on how to cook blue crab after my blue crab fishing trip. Also, love that they will come to pick you up at the beach....especially when it was raining!

Helpful?
Thank maryalicebruder
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review maryalicebruder. We strive to provide our guest and owners with a care free relaxing vacation! More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Loved this place! Accomodated our family of four very well. Great proximity to everything including the beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The surroundings were nice and quiet. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful?
Thank secadc
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review secadc. Come back and see us again soon! More 

Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had six adults in our unit and we were very comfortable. We really had a great time and the staff was great, but maintenance never did come to fix the broken light under the microwave or the dryer door which had to be rigged to work every time we used it. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi V
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Debbi V. We are sorry that Maintenance did not tend to your needs while on property. That is not like us, we strive to provide the best possible service to all our owners and guest. We are in the process of purchasing new pillows. We do not have onsite housekeeping so we do require that... More 

Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we were 4 seniors traveling together and found this place to be excellent! Everything was clean and well maintained. We were in Bldg 4, so the beach was a hop, skip and jump away, The pool was quiet and relaxing. Pool towels were getting a bit shabby, but we didn't mind, as the indoor towels were excellent, We got chased... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanandJennifer
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you review JanandJennifer. We are sorry you had to leave so soon. The Hurricane left quite a mess but we are now back up and running. Come back and visit us again! More 

Canton, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

2nd visit in about 12 months. Although we were impressed last year, we detect that the facility has seen a drop off in overall maintenance and service. Initial reception was just so so and later found out that as a result of not getting their packet from the registration desk we missed several activities. Also, we were expecting transportation to... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your response John W. We are sorry to hear that you missed the Monday morning breakfast and the Tuesday cook out. Is it possible you checked in later in the week? We do hand out packets to all guest upon arrival. We usually do have transportation to and from the beach. Unfortunately, as you stated, our golf... More 

Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We booked a suite at Royal Dunes for 2 couples. We found the property very well maintained, the rooms very clean, and the suites well maintained. The pool and hot tub were also very well maintained and clean. We used the Weber Grill that was provided and that was also very clean and well maintained. This is an excellent resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank EdM403
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We exchanged through Diamond Resorts for a week. The location was in building #1 which has been refurbished. We found it very clean with none of the problems reported earlier with roaches, torn towels or subpar accommodations with noisy neighbors. We will definitely try to return.!

Helpful?
Thank william w
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review William W. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

While the outside of the buildings and resort are not as flashy as some other properties you'll see, the inside of the accommodations are huge, very clean, in excellent condition -- an outstanding value. Be aware there is no daily maid service. Also, their check-in desk closes at 5 or 6 pm. It was clearly stated on the reservation confirmation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leejia
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review leejia. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly renovating our buildings and do have plans to update the exteriors in the near future. Please come back and stay with us again soon! More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: £139 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Dunes Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Dunes Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have children, ask for the one by the playground.”
 of 5 bubbles maryalicebruder, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bldg 4 is closest to beach”
 of 5 bubbles JanandJennifer, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for buildings 1-3 - they have been renovated”
 of 5 bubbles Stacey4iu, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Buildings 1-3 have been renovated. Building 4 is due for renovation but is closest to the beach.”
  • dirty towels
  • ripped towel
  • shower curtain covered with mildew (picture actually does not look as bad as it really was)
 of 5 bubbles SH264, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Building 1 is great”
 of 5 bubbles gmet47, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay