We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

South Wind On The Ocean

Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool & Beach (9)
Overview
5310 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2531 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
96
26
25
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
96
26
25
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom corner unit family vacation three bedroom lazy river major attractions beach colony resort a great vacation working order pool area full size housekeeping staff southwinds condo ocean balcony pools furnishings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was not what was shown on the website... Beautiful on the outside but the room door require an actual key the carpets were severely stain as well as the living room furniture....the bathrooms were dirty. Will not stay there againMore

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank 419priscillal
Response from Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The OceanResponded 1 week ago

Priscillal, We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Please know that the issues you encountered were unusual as this is not our standard level of service nor the service that you deserve as a valued guest. Your...More

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We had a long weekend family vacation. Parents and 1 brother had never been to a beach and mom never stayed in a hotel. We all absolutely loved it. 7 adults and 1 child and we had plenty of room in 1003. It was clean...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Sightsee19051405636
Response from Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The OceanResponded 2 December 2018

Sightsee, Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the review you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!! Best regards, Brittany Stone Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 9 September 2018

We have stayed at Southwind many times. If fact every year from the time they opened. This USED to be the premier place to stay. We haven't been here in 4 years and what a disappointment when we came back this year. We were given...More

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Dasquatch4
Response from Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The OceanResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

My family stayed at South Wind last year August 2017, we had such a wonderful experience we decided to stay this year August 2018. Making the reservation was wonderful, the gentleman that helped me gave such wonderful discount opportunities that I thought we were on...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank lesliemoore2018
Response from Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The OceanResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this...More

Reviewed 20 August 2018

We have stayed at this property 3 times: the first was fabulous so we tried it 2 more times and were very disappointed. Our first visit was in a seldom rented 5 bedroom corner unit and it was great! Second visit was a 2 bedroom...More

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank BethC1594
Response from Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The OceanResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this...More

View more reviews
About
Description
South Wind On The Ocean is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Myrtle Beach, offering a luxury environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. More Close to some of Myrtle Beach's most popular landmarks, such as Myrtle Beach SkyWheel (5.0 km) and Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade (5.2 km), South Wind On The Ocean is a great destination for tourists. Guest rooms include a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests, and South Wind On The Ocean makes getting online easy, with free wifi. While in Myrtle Beach be sure to experience local oyster favorites at The Original Benjamin's Calabash Seafood, Sea Captain's House, or Captain George's Seafood Restaurant. Should time allow, Treasure Island Mini Golf (0.8 km), Spy Glass Golf (2.0 km), and PineHills & Palmetto at Myrtlewood Golf Club (1.1 km) are some popular attractions that are within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in Myrtle Beach! Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Restaurant
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
21
Also Known As
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Location
United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
21
Also Known As
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Location
United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Photos
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool & Beach (9)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 209 nearby hotels
The Mermaid Inn
257 reviews
.04 miles away
Beach Colony Resort
2,467 reviews
.06 miles away
Forest Dunes Resort
799 reviews
.12 miles away
Dunes Village Resort
6,749 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 965 nearby restaurants
The Melting Pot
1,800 reviews
.40 miles away
Ciao Restaurant
1,241 reviews
.29 miles away
Crave Italian Oven & Bar
397 reviews
.70 miles away
Aspen Grille
829 reviews
.36 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 384 nearby attractions
Rainbow Harbor Shopping Center
5 reviews
.40 miles away
A Touch Of Brazil
24 reviews
.29 miles away
Treasure Island Mini Golf
179 reviews
.53 miles away
PineHills & Palmetto at Myrtlewood Golf Club
108 reviews
.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lesa J
17 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Sarah-VMB | Property representative |
Hi Lesa, We do have carpets in all of our bedrooms. If you can please give us a call at 844-289-3469, we'll help find the best option for your visit!
1
Vote
Jim M
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KristinVMB | Property representative |
Hi Jim, our units are individually owned, therefore furnishings, upgrades and decor vary from unit to unit. To be on our rental program, the units must be up to a certain standard to prevent any issues. -Kristin, South Wind... More
0
Votes
gwebb06
23 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KristinVMB | Property representative |
Hi, we have 15 floors. -Kristin, South Wind Resort, Vacation Myrtle Beach
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Go somewhere else"
Dasquatch4
8 Sep 2018
Read review
"Make sure that you pay the extra 32.00 for the VIP. According to what we were told, this helps to ensure..."
lesliemoore2018
27 Aug 2018
Read review
"Only rent rooms from owners who seldom rent"
BethC1594
20 Aug 2018
Read review
"If you must stay, see the room first before you pay at check-in"
Ljc0114
20 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing