We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Sands Ocean Club Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sands Ocean Club Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 900: English reviews
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights in July. It was a spur of the moment trip because my daughter's cheer qualified for nationals on a wildcard bid. We couldn't beat the price for an ocean front and I was amazed at how nice it was for the price. Loved that the beach was RIGHT THERE. Outdoor pool overlooks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Little River, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not stay here.it is a dirty old broken down bug infested place. we are locals and we fear that this nasty place is not the myrtle beach experience we want for tourists. There is nothing that the management can say that makes it ok for any of the many un fixable issues with this hotel. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zach2323
NC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a girls shopping weekend. Unit 929 has 2 bedrooms, living room & kitchen. Everything was nice and clean. Carlos helped us with our bags on arrival and departing. Great employee with a great attitude. It's always great to see Steve the bartender at the inside bar. David was our taxi driver each night. He was spot on with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrapleNc
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting Sands Ocean Club be your 'girls getaway.' Sounds like you ladies had a wonderful vacation. We appreciate the positive feedback about our staff and we will share your comments with them. We strive to make each guest feel like they are at home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future - Hurry back!

Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great location, right on the beach. The hotel is run-down, there is confusion between the hotel and the time-share portion of check-in. Our bedspread was stinky, but the staff was quick to change it out. Time-share and bell staff were great!!! We will travel back that way eventually.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank regahcfs
Sands R, Public Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and would like to apologize for any confusion. Glad our staff took care of your needs promptly. We are surprised to hear the hotel is 'run down'. Yes, it is one of many older resorts in the area, however we did major renovations last...

Ft Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First Let me say "Thanks to Amy, Allison and Natalie" for the AWESOME Service prior to our arrival and after we arrived. The Sands Ocean Club Resort and it's staff assisted in allowing the room setup in a Stunning show of customer service. When my wife and I arrived to our room on the 15th Floor, the view started with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBranch
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

First we would like to say congratulations to you and your bride. It sounds like a spectacular anniversary celebration. We are beyond thrilled to know our staff went above and beyond to make this milestone special for the both of you. We are very honored you chose the Ocean Club as your vacation destination while in Myrtle Beach, and are...

West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best features: it is directly on the beach and has nice indoor and outdoor pools. Worst features: The rooms are ok in terms on cleanliness but are dated. The exercise room was limited. There were no wipes or sprays provided even after I notified the front desk staff. I ended up bringing my own wipes to clean off the equipment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terryandskipper
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Ocean Club. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. We will pass on your suggestions concerning the fitness room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope you will join us again ocean front very soon!

Newark, Ohio
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The weather was great the week we were there! We stayed in a time share efficiency... the room was clean including the cookware. The beds are decent as we're the pillows. If you book the week pkg, housekeeping only comes in Tuesday or Wednesday. You have to strip ur bed gather your own trash and put it at the door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celticlady540
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sands Ocean Club. We are very glad to hear you had a great week with us. We appreciate the feedback and pointers for potential guests. Please join us again - we would love to have you!

Cornelius, North Carolina, United Statesf
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I've been traveling to Myrtle Beach for over 50 years. I've been going to Sands Ocean Club and Ocean Annie's for over 30 years. Always have a great time here ! Sands is on Shore Drive which has several great restaurants, bars, grocery stores, Wal-Mart, Outlet Stores, everything you could possibly need while vacationing either on site OR very close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your review - Wow, you have been coming to the area for a long time. So happy to know you choose Sands Ocean Club as your vacation spot. We strive to make sure each guest feels at home. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting you again!

Manning, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I booked this trip to meet family for the weekend but a hurricane had come through and changed our plans. I knew the resort had a 96 hour cancellation policy but I thought they could have been more reasonable with this especially since they did not have power at the resort for me to even speak with a person. Anyway,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jlmarsh73
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - again, we do apologize for the natural disaster that we had no control over. We did remain open through the unfortunate event for all our guests and did lose phone power for a day Glad to hear our staff rescheduled your stay so that you could enjoy the beautiful weather after the storm.

Osterville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Ocean view but that's all. Had bad luck and ended up with a noisy group below us. Partied out on the balcony Till 3:10 AM. Hotel didn't care. Great for a guys golf trip. To noisy for most. Garage elevator broken but no one seemed to concern. Real laid back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seggycc
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - we appreciate the feedback and apologize for the loud group below. Can't say that we agree that our staff "did not care." We are always more than willing to help move guests if they are not happy with their room or room location. We do thank you for your comments and hope you...

445 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite (60)
Viewed
Ocean View Standard Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,293 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#36 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#105 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £48 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands Ocean Club Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sands Ocean Club Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any Room Facing the Ocean -”
 of 5 bubbles LoveTravel1962, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Like to hear the bands? Book South Tower, Not so much? stay far away from that side of property.”
 of 5 bubbles fattie48, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Run like hell either north or south. Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 101JohnF, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles dawnn237, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get an oceanfront for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles 604barb, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay