We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (290)
Pool & Beach (110)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“an older hotel”(14 reviews)
“the past years”(6 reviews)
“pools”(58 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for The Reef
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
135
110
64
73
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
135
110
64
73
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older hotelthe past yearspoolstubsocean
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
301 - 305 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

First, the beach and the hotel's location to the beach was great. There is also 2 little mini marts across from the hotel, which can be helpful. But if you want to go to the boardwalk or Broadway at the beach, you will have to...More

1  Thank Fademist
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stains on the sheets,wet carpet ,clogged toilet,clogged sink ,clogged bathtub, hairs in the bed ,loud noises from trash compactor that is beside the bedrooms, dirty pool,pathetic manager,old outdated elevators,no parking,balcony door broken,rooms are small,dirt dirt dirt,worst place to stay at myrtle beach and I would...More

6  Thank Mattskilove
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Mattskilove, We were quiet concerned when we read your review, as these lodging room events are quiet serious, and I could not find an incident report noting them. I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I stayed there for 4 days. Wed thur Sun. There was NO PARKING. You have to go down the road and park. And when you do get done parking and walk to the hotel you have to wait at leasr 20 mins...More

1  Thank Bobbie B
Reviewed 30 July 2012

You get what you pay for when staying at this hotel. Parking was a little annoying, we had to park across the street but it was no big deal and wasn't a far walk. Elevators were a little slow. Pool area was awesome, especially the...More

Thank joshhouston
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Josh, Thank you for staying at the Reef Resort. We appreciated you sharing that the 2nd parking lot is within close walking distance and not far away. I regret that you encountered some housekeeping issues during your stay. We hope that you will return...More

Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews!! I was pleasantly surprised :) Let me say that this is not a luxury resort. It is a great hotel for families (ours had kids from 10-17) The entertainment by the pool everyday is...More

1  Thank crystalbritt10
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Crystalbritt, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated you mentioning that the pool and entertainment are ideal for families with children. We hope that you and your family will return again soon.

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (290)
Pool & Beach (110)
Dining (16)
Amenities (20)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beanyboy103
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi the hotel was built in 1984.
0
Votes
Bri05281
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi, the bed sheets are changed after a guest checks out and the rooms are inspected to insure that this has been completed. If you encounter an issue with this during your stay you would need to contact the front desk so we... More
0
Votes
TeriSc
31 May 2017|
Answer
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi and thank you for your question and comments in regards to housekeeping. We are diligently working with the staff and bringing on new team members to assist with this department. We understand your concern and rest... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Make sure that they do an inspection before you enter your room"
Read review
"Do not book it."
Read review
"The corner rooms 1 & 10 are the niceset."
Read review
"12th floor balconies provide a great oceanview"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing