We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The owners are just about the nicest people on the planet. Got a home baked muffin at reception. Stay with these guys, do the glow-worm walk, feed the sheep, you won't regret it. Price is decent, too.

Helpful?
Thank Eliavmar
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Eliavmar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the farm and that you were able to take part in all of the activities. All the very best for the rest of your travels in NZ. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I would thoroughly recommend Smiths Farm. Our 4 day stay included the effects from the Kaikoura earthquake which Barbara and Chris. were quick to provide all information to date,followed by the north Marlborough floods the following day.Throughout all,both ourselves and other guests were made very comfortable.Loved the waterfall and glow worms.Many thanks Barbara and Chris, Phil and... More 

Helpful?
Thank susieque895
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Phil and Sue! We really loved having you to stay and we hope that the rest of your trip with your family was uneventful in the nicest possible way! We hope that you can come and visit again sometime, preferably when it is fine and sunny with no earthquakes! Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris More 

Darlington
Level Contributor
900 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night as part of our self-guided tour of New Zealand. The email communication we received when we initially booked was very friendly and helpful; this approach continued on our arrival - nothing was too much trouble - and the home-made muffins were appreciated. Our family sized lodge had a double bed (with a single above... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeedeedee
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review: we appreciate the time and effort you have put into it. Sadly, when you visited, NZ was being hit by the worst Spring in over 20 years and the rain was constant, causing flooding everywhere. I only wish I had a Harry Potter wand to wish away the rain and bring sunshine for all of... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in October. The park is in a picturesque spot and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. We had a few laughs feeding the sheep and goat and really enjoyed our walk through the cow's paddock to see the waterfall and glow worms. Really lovely spot to stay.

Helpful?
Thank foraction
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed hosting you in the park and are pleased that you enjoyed the animals! Sometimes we find that adults are reluctant to do things like feed the pets but they have so much fun when they actually do it and it's good for the soul! We hope that the weather cleared and you had a great remainder... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This was the only place during our trip where the owners welcomed us with some freshly baked cookies! The camping is green, with some shadow from the trees, it has good sanitary installations and nice accommodation for washing, cooking and eating. Pity it stormed and rained almost all the time we stayed there... The very friendly owners gave us some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Touché and Guy V
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Oh dear! we've actually had a very dry winter so far so it would seem that you very sadly chose the worst time of all to stay. You'll just have to come back and stay with us in the summer one day!! We hope that you managed to find the sunshine for the rest of your trip and wish you... More 

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We were in our motorhome in june 2016 when we decided to try a new place to stay advertised in the motorhome Assoc book. Loved the friendly welcome , the hot muffin, and the bag of animal food for us to feed the animals, great advice re the walks in the area.The farm walk up to the waterfall was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank alemap2015
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Wow! Lucky you decided to try somewhere new!! We do try to make our guests welcome as this is our home as well as our business so it is very important to us. We're pleased that you could get out and enjoy the local area and you'd be most welcome to come back sometime. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

At Smiths Farm we received a warm welcome with warm muffins! We were treated like family and made to feel very welcome but also had lots of space to ourselves. The kitchen was cosy with a wood burning stove (logs were supplied) and very clean and tidy. We enjoyed our stay at Smiths Farm more than any other camping in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Steve and Katie! We enjoyed hosting you at Smiths Farm and we are pleased that you were able to get out and about and see the surrounding Marlborough area. We hope that the rest of your stay in NZ goes well and all the best for the job application! Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris More 

Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We spent two nights (12/13 May) in this lovely peaceful park. We had a very quiet and private site for our motorhome. The owner Barbara greeted us with warm home-made muffins -- hit the spot after our time on the road, and we appreciated her lovely welcoming gesture. After feeding the farm animals with their food given us by Barbara,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie and Anne A
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much Laurie and Anne. We really enjoyed meeting and hosting you in the park. The waterfall is looking spectacular at present as we have just had some rain, but you are right, it can be slippery so we urge everybody to take care. You'll have to go onto the website and see the photos of the glow... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Great place for a quick family get away. We were welcomed by fresh banana muffins from the owner and our two bed motel unit was clean and spacious enough for two adults and two lively boys. We all enjoyed the night time walk up to the glow worms and the farm animals were all very child friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Katharinednz
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Katharine. It was lovely to have your family in the park and we are just sorry that you were only able to stay for one night. We hope that the rest of your stay in Marlborough went brilliantly. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in our camper. The walk to the waterfall in the dark to see glow worms was a highlight and our kids loved the animals. The facilities are clean and tidy. it's a small place so not too busy which is good because there isn't a lot of bathrooms. Our host gave us great advice in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Wendy, Thank you for your comments about our business. We try very hard to keep the park genuine so it is lovely to see it described as charming. We limit our numbers in an effort to keep the bathroom situation under control. In the height of the summer it can be very busy, we agree, but we do have... More 

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
8.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.5 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
117 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 25 in Picton
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Price Range: £25 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Smiths Farm Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and peaceful. Bird life a treat.”
 of 5 bubbles alemap2015, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Barbara and Chris are very accommodating. They can offer the best possible option as per requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles Kanshr, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Motel units 7 and 8 directly face onto the pasture.”
 of 5 bubbles jda247, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
“This is a campsite and so the requirement to provide room tips does not apply”
 of 5 bubbles CambridgeKev, 24 Feb 2014 | Read review
“N/a stayed in a motor home”
 of 5 bubbles 476jenniferl, 28 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay