We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Town Hall Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Town Hall Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Town Hall Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This was one of two accommodations on our trip about which we'd had some reservations before our trip having been disappointed in other 'quirky' places in the past. We needn't have worried. We were warmly greeted by the friendly owner, shown to our lovely room and made comfortable. The building is charming and has been lovingly refurbished/restored to make a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerstwo2016
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

What a warm, kind review! thank you truly for taking the time to review our place! The beds have a memory foam topper - I'm sorry to hear that not everyone slept well. Thank you for graciously alerting us to the housekeeping issue - you were most kind for letting us resolve the issue quickly, (We were, indeed, mortified to...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 October 2016

For our honeymoon, we wanted to check out the tourist attractions of the black Hills, from devil's tower to Mt. Rushmore and beyond! We picked Lead because it was surrounded by these attractions! The Town Hall Inn was absolutely amazing!!!! Full of history and very peaceful! We loved the view from our window of the open pit mine! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooninleadsd
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

CONGRATULATIONS!!! More and more lovebirds choose to stay at our quaint Inn while celebrating their love! Could it be the waterfalls nearby or the Black Hills with all of their romantic trails meandering to secret rock outcroppings and lookouts? Whatever the reason you decided to stay with us, we sure are glad you did!

Prairie Village, Kansas
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I don't give five stars often in reviews, but the Town Hall Inn is certainly deserving of this rating. We stayed here for two nights in a row. Our room was located in the old mayor's office, and contained a king-size bed and was on the main floor. The room was large and the ceiling was at least 12 feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6,500,410
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a well written and thorough review of our (soon to be 105 year old) gem. We're so happy that you took a stroll through Lead - I agree - our restaurants, shops, buildings and people are pretty darn great! Only drawback... look both ways before crossing the street (for deer...

Centerville, South Dakota
Reviewed 16 October 2016

My wife and I wanted a few days away for our anniversary, and our original trip fell through--so we decided on the Lead-Deadwood area. The Town Hall Inn looked charming and had great reviews, so we decided to give it a try. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in anywhere. Friendly, attentive staff, terrific concept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gevermillion
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Stop it some more!!! Your review is not only eloquent and descriptive, but also spot on - if we do say so ourselves!!! We can't wait to see you again!

Reviewed 5 October 2016

This place was great --very clean and a lot of history. Great find. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed it very much. We would definitely recommend to everyone. It was centrally located to everything we were going to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THERESE L
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed The Town Hall Inn and Lead! Yes - DO COME BACK AGAIN SOON! Thank you truly, for the great review!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This place is amazing. It is a historic town hall converted into a beautiful hotel. By converted I mean they added bathrooms to the rooms, restored everything and left all of the history intact. I stayed in the engineers room. I walked into the grand entrance and was immediately impressed with the opulence of the place. It is beautifully adorned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank owen6620
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Awwwww, shucks!!! These are the kind of reviews that make us grin quite frequently! We love that you enjoyed your room and the beds! We are so happy that you got to explore Lead during her rebirth - from mining to Physics.

St. Paul, MN
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We found the Town Hall Inn to be a very comfortable and lovely place to stay. Our room was on the first floor, and we never heard a bit of noise from the lobby outside our room or from the street. Comfortable mattress, light continental breakfast, great coffee, microwave and refrigerator, updated bathroom. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnKSt_Paul
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Yay!!! We love reviews like these - in fact, these are the reviews we think about while we work hard to keep this gem shining!

Somerset UK
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed at the Town Hall Inn for one night in June and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the Judge's Room on the second floor with views up and down the old high street. The room was beautifully appointed with every comfort and fine furnishings. Mark ,our host was helpful and informative about local attractions and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJC77
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our 104 year old gem - your 5 STAR REVIEW makes us smile from ear to ear! We appreciate our guests and we enjoy hearing about their adventures; Sanford Lab Visitor Center, The Black Hills Mining Museum and Deadwood...

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is the place to stay in Lead. Everyone was great. They answered all our questions and took time to talk to us about the area. Beds were very comfy and everything was squeaky clean. They served delicious Starbucks coffee with a nice breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ro K
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Awwww - your 5 STAR review mean the world to us. We hope you come back very soon...especially to see the growth of Lead.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I just spent a wonderful weekend at The Town Hall Inn,, as " guests " of Mark and Jane. They truly make you feel as if you were an old friend, invited to spend a few days. The Vault Room was great ..and immaculate. The breakfast in the lobby was a perfect way to start a day of exploring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pheinmiller
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review! Thank you, truly, for choosing to stay with all of us at the Town Hall Inn. We would love to visit again soon!

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
3.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
49 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step through the doors of the Town Hall Inn located in Lead, SD and find yourself swept back in time to the early 1900's; an exhilarating time where hospitality flourished and adventure was plentiful. For our customers, we offer a clean, friendly place to stay; for our associates we promise an upbeat and fair place to work; for our community we promise to be a place that educates patrons in the rich history of the beautiful Black Hills to inspire repeat visits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Town Hall Inn

Address: 215 West Main Street, Lead, SD 57754
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Town Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Town Hall Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Town Hall Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I looked at each room on their direct Town Hall Inn website, book directly and talk to the owners because they have great stories to boot!”
 of 5 bubbles lalonej, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views are a little better on 2nd floor-but this isn't Niagara Falls”
 of 5 bubbles adamw593, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hotel works to stifle the farting noise of Harley Davidsons with straight pipes instead of mufflers.”
 of 5 bubbles Jeffy_18, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Judges chambers room...amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Honeymooninleadsd, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I dont think there are bad rooms at this place.”
 of 5 bubbles owen6620, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5