We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Westville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Avoid it. Simple. Pay the extra money and stay anywhere else. Drunks sleeping in the hallway even. Homeless folks at the front door. Avoid it. Go to the other side of town or bring a gun. I was in shock that Priceline even offered this hell hole...really.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Charlotte W
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Hotel is not up to code and bed bugs are in most of the run down weekly rooms.. All the employees are on drugs and there is a lot of drug activity going on in the hotel. Drunks that can't stay at the homeless shelter (which is across the street) sleep in the lobby at night. Owners daughter teresa constantly...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank PattyQuake
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

I booked this online having never been to Rapid City. Rates seemed high in the area and this looked like a reasonably priced alternative near the downtown area. It is in fact a few scary blocks from the small trying to be trendy downtown. That's the only thing I can say positive. I was traveling alone and was put off...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cardiffdiver
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room here last minute because it was fairly cheap and the pictures online looked ok. We were horrified to see once we got there that this place was a dump! It's in a terrible neighborhood with a lot of sketchy people walking around. One guy was shuffling around the parking lot in his boxers...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank UmmGnomes
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Sits right across the street from the police station and I didn't feel safe. I am a police officer and I knew there was drugs in the building. The lobby was crawling with individuals who where just hanging out. I stayed here at the last minute because of a storm and I would rather have faced the storm...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Micheal S
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 10 February 2015

font desk manager very good service good, hotel manager the worst I've seen in all my travels. I and a friend stayed there we both got sick. paid our rent for two days. front desk manager said we have a 50.00$ cleaning bill. we paid it he got sick. went to the hospital were my friend past on. our deal...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank alton p
Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

I was traveling thru to Montana so I stayed here omg rates were too high service sucked mangers were rude and not friendly I walked in and found the manager teresa drinking a bottle of vodka and could barely walk we paid in advance so we could not get a refund. My husband was eaten up by bed bugs had...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank bamagirl341980
josephandrewstarr, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bamagirl, I do not know who Josephandrewstarr is by the way. I am just reading that my name is being displayed as that which is not true. My Father tragically passed away on 23 August 2014 in a massive car accident which broke every bone in his body. Needless to say, I, Teresa, have NOT been back to the...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Let me just start off by saying that Rapid City is ridiculous. There was only a couple hotels under $130 to stay at. It is incredibly overpriced and touristy ($400 a night for a Hilton??? get real.) Now that that's over with I will start the review. So my boyfriend and I planned a 2 week road trip and Mount...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carson T
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Pros: The only hotel in Rapid City with a room available last minute on a Saturday night in June. The bathroom in our room was nice and clean and the water was hot. Hotel attendant was very friendly. Cons: People loitering in front of the building smoking was unnerving. The building is very old, the lobby leaves a lot to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DMS-SAD
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mam, I appreciate the time you have taken to submit this review because it allows us to improve Quality Assurance and Customer relations. This is my reply: We recently upgraded and remodeled all of our tourist rooms and have been evaluated by the State Health Department with a 98%. Inclusive in our remodeled units are new beds with bed...

Yuba City, California
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Made reservations online for Sturgis bike week. While institute to South Dakota the couple we were riding with got in an accident. The woman died and her husband was hospitalized for over two weeks. Needless to say we did not get to the hotel. When we called to inform them it was like "there's no refunds". The guy lost his...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 439Roger
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We are truly sorry for your friends loss and do appreciate this response because, as owners of this property, we were not made aware of any death during Sturgis rally week. I apologize sincerely that you were not able to arrive and vacation here during that week. We are investigating exactly what happened; who you spoke to, and...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#32 of 53 in Rapid City
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#6 of 53 in Rapid City
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#30 of 53 in Rapid City
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 100 Saint Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2825
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Price Range: £29 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just stay away you will regret staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles PattyQuake, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevator...”
 of 5 bubbles 513micheals, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you choose to stay, ask for a room with a dead bolt - if they have any!”
 of 5 bubbles m0nd1m00re, 13 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Avoid room 360!”
 of 5 bubbles KathyM151, 5 Jul 2013 | Read review
“ask front desk what floor you wish upon making a reservation as all rooms have windows but certain rooms face the 2 parking areas and we wanted to stay in a room with a window to see our car.”
 of 5 bubbles WrightShakya, 18 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5