We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for a college visit. It was very clean, wonderful beds, good breakfast and it's right across the road from the dome so we walked to the campus and the football game. We had a great time and would definitely stay again anytime

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacie C
Amanda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you & your family had a wonderful stay. Also thank you for taking the time to comment on our newly renovated hotel & we hope to see you in the future.

Imlay City
Reviewed 16 September 2016

#1 Luggage rack location makes too narrow a space to get a wheelchair to bed Bathroom mirror too high to see in wheelchair...good shower tub grab bars & shower head but broken plast 'thing' had been left instead of removed Bath had been painted but 3 holes in walls not spackled; ugly drywall tape & outlet(?) not covered- just painted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marvin C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

Dear Marvin C, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have noticed with the room accommodations you received and the service you had. It is with deep regret that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I intentionally reserved a King suite room because I was traveling with my wife and our 20-yr old son. I reserved the room through the HI Express website and received a confirmation email with the correct room type. When we arrived at the hotel, they gave me a double queen. When I pointed out their error, they said they had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coog2016796
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

Dear coog2016796, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. However, on this occasion of your stay, we sincerely apologize for the room type received and the condition of the air conditioning...

Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewed 21 August 2016

we had 2 rooms, no connecting door, that's alright. The one room had no fridge and a small table with 2 chairs, the other had a fridge and no table and chairs. All the cold stuff from both rooms had to be crammed into one fridge. One bed in the room with the fridge was missing a leg so if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slmeyer2016
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

Dear slmeyer2016, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that you enjoyed breakfast. However, it is indeed regrettable that the condition of the hotel/ room amenities and facilities negatively affected your overall satisfaction. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in your review to give...

Iowa
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I stay here once a year for an event. Every year they remember me by name when I walk in and have everything ready. They are so nice and helpful about finding things around town and even in a snow storm they went above and beyond what was necessary to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel is clean, up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjoia
Atlanta
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This is a terrific hotel. I have not frequented Holiday Inns, but if they are all similar to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, I would like to. We were greeted warmly by the front desk employees. Our reservation was made through Hotwire, which I cannot recommend, so the hotel is allowed to choose our room. The place was booked, so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacationmom56
Boone, Iowa
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We had stayed at another Holiday Inn Express in a different city the night before and had enjoyed it so much we decided to seek another on our route home. We should have chosen more carefully because this one was under renovation. They still have doors that have to be manually opened and closed which is hard when trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimmero
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I stayed here for one evening and Vermillion is a cute little college town with a few really good places to eat. Unfortunately, this HI Express is undergoing renovations and which proved to be a bit inconvenient. Considering they are renovating, this is a $100/night hotel I paid along the lines of $140. I stayed in Room #127 and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

Dear Greg L, Thank you for your patronage as an IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite member and for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the service provided by our staff. However, I was concerned to see that you were not completely impressed with our property...

Dubuque,IA
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I would not recommend staying here if you need an accessible room. The staff is very friendly but remodeling is making a mess, of the 1st floor at least. We were confronted with a half finished remodel with necessary things missing and extra furniture old and new making the room very crowded. If we needed a wheelchair we couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlrs2
Amanda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review

Yes, the whole property is in a renovation right now & soon to be done, I do apologize for any issues that our guests are experiencing at the moment. Thank You,

Brookings
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Very accommodating staff, very friendly. The room was clean and the pool and fitness room were also well maintained. The Breakfast options were more than adequate, nice quiet place to stay. Located on the main road (Hwy 50) into town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandramB5508HH

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vermillion Inn
0.2 mi away
Prairie Inn
Prairie Inn
#4 of 4 in Vermillion
102 reviews
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Hartington
22.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kelly Inn
BEST WESTERN Kelly Inn
#1 of 7 in Yankton
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is ideally located directly across the street from the University of South Dakota's, Dakota Dome, Sanford Coyote Sports Center, and three blocks from the main campus. This Vermillion hotel is minutes from the scenic Oyate Trail, the National Music Museum, the W.H. Over Museum, the Missouri River and Spirit Mound Historic Prairie. The University of South Dakota is home to many museums and sporting venues. Vermillion is home to a special blend of agriculture, higher education, retail business and light industry. Several shopping opportunities are minutes from the hotel. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Vermillion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion

Address: 1200 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1240
Region: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Price Range: £104 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vermillion
Holiday Inn Vermillion
Vermillion Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Across street from indoor football field”
 of 5 bubbles garvinl2014, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room #127 or you may fight with the Wi-Fi signal.”
 of 5 bubbles glogue34, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not being remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles trvlrs2, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No additional information to add here.”
 of 5 bubbles CampyHapper, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 is a two-room suite with in-room hot tub, and handicapped accessible so it is HUGE. Perfect for college visit or Dakota Dome game visitors; Go Yotes!”
 of 5 bubbles ImHungryAgain, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay