We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

De L'Etang Accommodation

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 small hotels in St. Helier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The De L'Etang is ideally situated on the sea front at Havre Des Pas opposite the public bathing pool. It is a friendly establishment with a homely atmosphere. The promenade across the road is perfect for a lazy stroll at any time - day or evening. Why not take a photo at high then low tide to admire the spectacular tidal range; the Island doubles in size at low tide! Although the sea views alone will be worth your stay, the De L'Etang is conveniently close to the town centre, main bus station, park and leisure complex, with a public car park nearby - perfect for exploring the island. Jersey has everything that is ideal for a holiday, safe, clean beaches, country walks, attractions and sports that appeal to all ages. You may enjoy a meal facing the sea or on the patio in our Taverna, fused with Greek and international dishes. For your enjoyment, the De L'Etang offers a lively lounge bar with a wide selection of your favourite drinks and cocktails. Drinks may be enjoyed outside on sunny days. The De L'Etang offers a selection of single, double, twin and triple rooms, where most have a sea view. The bedrooms all have an en suite bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Each room includes amenities such as free WiFi and digital TV channels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Greek, Polish
179Reviews3Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 55
  • 23
  • 9
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alex B wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
John ,Rebecca and the staff made me feel so welcome and are a very generous, warm and friendly , it was a pleasure to stay there for a whole week , the food was excellent with ample portions Hotel De L'Etang is highly recommended, it also has a great location on the island and right on the sea front
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kdb17flintshire wrote a review Mar 2024
flintshire73 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 3 nights on the 2nd floor. Room was sea facing and the size was fine for the time spent in it. The toilet and shower was small as expected in a b and b. The bed was comfy and towels replaced daily. We had a meal in the Greek taverna which was lovely and the full English breakfast was very nice and kept us going for a while. We caught the no1 bus both ways which was very regular and also walked into St Helier in about half hour. All in all we enjoyed our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vee820 wrote a review Jan 2024
United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
I made a booking for this hotel on December 17th via Booking. My money was taken immediately. Over two weeks later, my booking has been cancelled by the hotel saying they don’t accept one night stays. 1) Don’t allow that option when booking if it’s not possible. 2) Cancel the booking in a timely manner so that other arrangements can be made promptly. 3) Don’t take payment immediately if you can’t keep your commitments. I now have a 7-12 business day wait to get my money refund meaning I can’t book another hotel until then. This is extremely poor. If independent hotels are curious as to why people pick chains over independents, this! This is exactly why people go with a Premier Inn or a Travelodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yiannis Gavriel, Owner at De L'Etang Accommodation
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Regarding your comments the hotel is closed for staff holiday you never stay at the hotel and we got a review , Why?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Firedog187 wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom44 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
I found this hotel during the weekend travel disruption and flight cancellations. I chose it because of the price which included breakfast. It was a 15 minute walk from the bus station thru the tunnel, which isn’t a nice experience. It’s location is lovely, right on the seafront across from the sea pool. It’s appearance is not modern but has a homely feel. The room was average but I wasn’t expecting much else for the cheap price. The restaurant was packed so must be good, my breakfast was ok and included in the room price. My main concern is that all the fire doors were wedged open on my floor. This is a very serious problem as they are putting at risk all their residents if a fire was to develop on the ground floor, there would be no means of escape in a protected route. For a hotel to have this unlawful and dangerous situation is appallingly bad. If you decide to stay here ensure that the doors are not wedged open.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
peter t wrote a review Jun 2023
Toronto, Canada34 contributions5 helpful votes
On arrival at the port in St. Hilier I set the GPS to the hotel’s address. We did not know the geography of the city and the GPS routes us over the mountain. As we were confused by the difficult walk, we stopped and tried to reset the GPS. Luckily a fellow stopped and shared a much easier and direct route. He warned though that it goes through a tunnel and that this was not a pleasant part of the walk. It took was about 30 minutes to finally get to the hotel. It is situated right on the strand overlooking the public pool. Since we were early our room was not ready. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel. Our room was small and the amenities were limited. There was kettle with coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom was small with separate hot and cold taps in the sink. But it was very clean, quiet with daily room service. Breakfast was a full English breakfast with many choices on offer. It was very good. The hotel has a Greek restaurant in which we ate a couple of times. The food was very good and well priced. There was a nice pub nearby and also another restaurant. There is a nice walk into the city along the waterfront but it is a bit longer. We became used to the 15 to 20 minute into St. Hilier. We planned our days so that we minimised our return to the hotel. There is also regular bus service passing right in front of the hotel to downtown. We stayed here for 5 nights and found the accommodation and the food very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
icejan73 wrote a review May 2023
Kildare, Ireland17 contributions4 helpful votes
A beautiful family run business with amazing staff. Food in Taverna excellent with friendly helpful staff Hassan and ladies nothing was too much trouble. Rooms perfect clean comfortable with all amenities. Great options for breakfast cooked by John and Rebecca. The views from this Hotel are spectacular it's a short walk into the town centre. We had balcony room and it was a pleasure to look out everyday over the stunning beach. Will definitely return. Thanks for having us
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BNik2014 wrote a review Mar 2023
Carlisle, United Kingdom293 contributions124 helpful votes
We stayed at De L'Etang for 5 nights in late February. The location is perfect, right on the sea front opposite the open air pool. Good access by bus and a 10 -15 minute walk into St Helier centre or the main bus station. The manager is really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a standard double room with no sea view (our choice). Room was very clean, full amenities including a fridge. Towels changed daily. Breakfast was excellent and really well cooked. If you are visiting without a car the bus to Gorey stops just along the road. Only disappointment for us was that we were unable to eat in the restaurant due to other commitments. The food looked fantastic. When we visit again, we will definitely not consider staying anywhere else
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The sea views are wonderful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David W wrote a review Oct 2022
Solihull, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
Firstly you will not find better hosts than John and Rebecca - they are amazing!! The hotel itself is not the most luxurious and there a few issues with water pressure, old showers etc but our room was large and comfortable and great value for money. The small bar is a great place to hang out with really lovely seaviews. John's breakfasts were excellent - great produce cooked very well. The hotel is really well placed on the seafront with regular buses stopping very near which was important as we didn't take a car. Having a Greek restaurant attached made life easy as well, the Tennerfest menu was brilliant value.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy above the bar so ask for a room at the back if this is an issue.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dickybun wrote a review Sept 2022
Spalding, United Kingdom38 contributions36 helpful votes
The De L'Etang is a friendly bed and breakfast establishment run by a dedicated couple and staff. The restaurant attached offers greek taverna food of a good standard with plenty of choice including vegetarian meals. The premises overlooks the beach and lido with great sea views.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda K wrote a review Sept 2022
Alatri, Italy5 contributions1 helpful vote
I had the pleasure of eating here twice during my stay on Jersey. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent and authentic Greek food. As a vegetarian who likes high quality food, De L’Etang did not disappoint. Superb ambience. Very much recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Helier area.
PRICE RANGE
£57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de l`etang hotel st. helier
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsJerseySt. Helier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DE L'ETANG ACCOMMODATION - Updated 2024 Reviews (Jersey)

Frequently Asked Questions about De L'Etang Accommodation
Which popular attractions are close to De L'Etang Accommodation?
Nearby attractions include Howard Davis Park (0.2 miles), St. Helier Beach (0.05 miles), and Prince's Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at De L'Etang Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at De L'Etang Accommodation?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at De L'Etang Accommodation?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De L'Etang Accommodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moitas Bistro, Roseville Bistro, and The Good Egg Beach Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at De L'Etang Accommodation?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to De L'Etang Accommodation?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mont Orgueil Castle (4.0 miles), La Hougue Bie Museum (2.3 miles), and Battery Lothringen (3.2 miles).
Does De L'Etang Accommodation have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.