Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

La Grande Mare

Traveller (123)
The Brasserie
Dining (38)
Penthouse Number 7
Room & Suite (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 6 hotels in Castel
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
456Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 333
  • 87
  • 23
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve A wrote a review Oct 2005
Ambleside, United Kingdom37 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well i'm a Guernsey local who wanted to take my girlfriend somewhere special for the night and I really wasn't dissapointed when I arrived at La Grane Mare.

There's a few hotels of similar cost on the Island all of which i'm sure are pretty good though some i've heard mixed views on.

We arrived at the hotel on a rough, rainy and stormy day and ran for the hotel.

The reception staff were friendly and soon had us heading toward our room up the beautiful stairs with thick wooden bannisters. As we arrived on our floor (1st floor i think it was) we took the short walk along the corridor which has been well placed to allow for large windows looking out to sea. A beautiful view (if it weren't for the weather on this particular day though to be honest as a local I found this view spectacular, seeing the waves crashing against the sea wall).

We had a One Bedroom Suite and were impressed with the amount of space. A large bedroom with beautiful Four poster bed, a lovely bathroom with 2 sinks and a large corner bath. Finally a seperate lounge area with sofa space for 3 people, a good quality television, some kitchenete type space with a sink and microwave and a dining table.

Unfortunately our suite didn't look out on to the sea but did have a good view of the hotels 18 hole golf course. I'm not personally itnerested in golf but the course is very good as i've heard and there is also a driving range.

The Health area was very good, we walked straight throguh the gym to go to the pool and it looked pretty good with a good amount of equipment. The pool was excellent, good large changing rooms, a warm pool tastefully decorated with a spa, steam room and sauna beside it. It really was an enjoyable place to go for a swim. Especially for us as we could see the rain lashing down against the window outside, making the warmth of the pool seem even nicer.

We didn't get food from the restaurant but did get breakfast brought to our room in the morning. I like my breakfast so with breakfast included (£1 extra for room service) I ordered a full english with toast and coffee as well as orange juice. All was very tasty, good coffee and juice, decent sausages, bacon etc used in breakfast. If your breakfast isn't included the prices were quite expensive for it but I think breakfast is included in most packages anyway.

All in all a wonderful nights stay and If you can afford this kind of hotel and intend to make the most of the facilities, especially if you play golf, this is the ideal hotel. It's in a great location, if you've got a car while your over. Out of town, right by the beach in a quiet area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2004
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
Dear Fairfranco Thank you for the great rating and lovely review.I am sure the team will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the experience.Keep an eye out for our special offers from time to time as these help to make the pennies go further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
geralind wrote a review Jul 2006
United Kingdom353 contributions146 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff friendly. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Excellent location next to sea with 18 hole Golf Course surrounding Hotel. I don't play Golf but there are only 2 18 hole courses on the Island and this one is highly regarded I was told.
Food excellent whilst we were there and staff very attentive. Prices reasonable in comparison with eating out.
Good leisure facilities, Indoor and Outdoor pools as well as well equiped gym and grounds maintained to high standards.
Stayed there last year in a self catering apartment as we did this time and noticably better I thought, perhaps familiarity but don't think so.Very well equipped apartment.
Location for all main facilities on the Island ideal and bus stops adjacent to hotel if needed. 10 mins drive from airport .
Beach 50 yards from hotel is superb.
Would go back again- in fact saw several people that were there last year and seems they go back year upon year.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
Dear Gerrardwiltshire Great review so thank you so much for taking the time to write such a concise report. am delighted you enjoyed it so much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cadiz_lover wrote a review Jul 2006
London, United Kingdom31,165 contributions312 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel and timeshare rooms have been firm favorites for some years. The appeal is possibly the excellent golf course, the great indoor swimming pool and gym, the super food, nearness to one of the largest and best beaches on the island and comfortable beds! Of course Guernsey is quite a 'laid back' place and this is one of the joys of visiting. All you need is a spell of decent weather and there is no better place on earth. Some good walks too inland from the hotel. Oh and the outdoor pool is good in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
DeaCadizlover It was great to hear how much you enjoyed your walking holiday in Guernsey with us at La Grande Mare Hotel. Thank you for the positive review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UkJam wrote a review Nov 2005
UK13 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
La Grande Mare has gone from an average 3 star to an excellent 5 crown resort and back again. After many years of staying there I am sorry to say that the hotel has some troubling times ahead if it does not set out its long term objective soon. Essentially set it lovely grounds with amazing views and very well presented rooms etc, but with service and attitudes that are well below a simlar hotel of the same rating. The main problem is that the hotel has discovered that wedding bookings are very very lucrative, the orginal design of the hotel is not set up for weddings leading to some interesting happenings: A*, guests sat out by the pool or garden asked to move so that wedding photos can be taken,B*, bar and restuarant closed for wedding fuctions (no lounge facility provided willingly) and when asked if we could use lounge told, 1, they are all drunk they wont know if you sit with them, 2, maybe you like drinks another night or in your room?, other effects include drunk guests rolling around corridors and swimming in the pool outside your room at midnight. Once you have survived an evening like this be prepared for the dinning room to be set back up which involves tables and chairs being scrapped across the wooden floor for an hour, I hear you say thats all? well no not quite after that the staff go outside for a chat/smoke and everyone can hear them! Managment attitude to this "sorry" but we know we make a lot of money out of this function so hard cheese, this attitude is somewhat reflected in the staff who will argue that there is no afternoon tea despite showing them an afternoon tea menu, the bar man will tell you they dont do wine/cocktails again after showing them the wine or cocktail menu. However Reception very efficent, Standard of the rooms slighlty worn but spotless, golf, gym, tennis facalities first rate, location and beach amazing. However also be prepared for some raucus golf function!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2005
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review the points of which have been noted.I am happy to report back that we continue to improve our Hotel with a rolling refurbishment as we go along.We constantly plan to improve our product by cunningly refurbishing the ground floor in 2010.m
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smudge99 wrote a review Dec 2005
Salisbury, United Kingdom18,072 contributions95 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
La Grande Mare is mainly a Timeshare resort and golf club, not a hotel. The biggest consideration before staying there either as a hotel guest or time share swop is noise, especially if you have a suite above the restaurant or overlooking the pool. Before booking check if there are any functions, the noise from these is mind blowing. The noise travels through the whole building making it impossible for anyone to sleep. Once the function has finished the staff clear up and this noise goes on until the early hours. The hotel was never designed to hold functions and now the owners are greedy and hold as many weddings as possible. Up to 2 a month plus other functions. Mostly in the restaurant, so as guests you loose all the facilities as there is no alternative bar and the restaurant gets set up in a pocky small lounge. It has also been known for hotel guests to be told not to use the pool and loungers as the wedding guests do not want to be disturbed by children making a noise and enjoying themselves! The worst function was a golf funtion which had a caberat around the pool, comedian telling blueish jokes at 11.30 at night. Not suitable if you have young children.

The bar facilities are shared with the golfers, although they use the conservatory there are no windows or doors to keep the noise out of the restaurant. There is always a tv on, not what you expect in a good quality restaurant.

The hotel is set in a wonderful location and the fascilities are good, good golf, a wonderful outdoor pool and the restaurant food is very good. The indoor pool is good but if you have children you are restricted to 1 hour in morning and afternoon. The rooms are good and very spacious and suites have basic cooking fascilities. Bathrooms are a little tired and could do with updating. The public rooms are all decorated to a high standard, some of the paintings are strange!

Altough it is a time share resort there is no pressure to buy. Not like other places who try to sell, sell, sell.

Would I stay again, NO, there is too much hassle from noise. The owners are very arrogant and will not deal with any complaints. My advice would be to check before going that there is not a wedding and even if you have a time share swap go on Sunday. There are also golf events during the week. Ask for a suite or room that is not over the restaurant. If you hit upon a quiet week and the weather is good you will have a wonderful time, as good as any Tropical Paradise!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2005
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
Hey Smudge Thank you for the review but I can assure you that we have a very successful Hotel following and we also have some great self catering apartments to stay in. I don't think you do yourself any favors concentrating on a character assassination of the owners,after all at the end of the day we are trying to provide a tip top Hotel in which people can come and enjoy themselves and we seem to be meeting with some success in this area. If you really want to get away from it all perhaps a self catering unit might be the answer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Plist123 wrote a review Aug 2013
St Peter Port, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Certain members of the staff at this hotel and restaurant are the rudest I have ever come across in the hospitality industry. We live in Guernsey, so only went there for lunch, however you have to book a table via the reception staff, so I am commenting both on the hotel (reception) and the restaurant.

Alice and Sam on reception were breathtakingly rude to me and my family when we recently lunched there. My mother was over visiting us in Guernsey and we thought it would be a nice idea to visit the hotel as although the restaurant inside is too formal for young children, there are quite a few tables outside around a swimming pool and slide.

Unfortunately, when I called up to make a reservation, Alice on reception very abruptly told me that under no circumstances could they book a table outside for me. I thought this was fairly unsatisfactory given that it is a long way out of town and I did not want to drive all the way out there only to be disappointed, especially as there are plenty of other restaurants we could have gone to. I asked to speak with the restaurant manager, who then said there would be no problem in reserving a table for us outside. I needn't have worried in any event, as the restaurant was virtually empty when we were there anyway.

When we arrived at the bar, we were provided with the three course lunch menu and made our choices, however once we moved to our table, we were advised that they under no circumstances could we have the menu, but could only order from the "light bites" menu (ie paninis etc). We might as well have gone to Costa at that point. This did not make one iota of sense, given that the table was simply on the other side of a glass door of the restaurant, one foot away from a table where we could have ordered the full menu.

When we protested the attitude of our waitress then changed significantly, and she served us with a scowl on her face for the rest of the meal. Very unpleasant.

Our children were desperate to go in the pool, even though it wasn't a particularly nice day, and as there was only one other child in the pool, we said sure. I went in to reception and asked whether they sold inflatable armbands which my younger son could use. The look on Alice's face is like no other I have ever seen on a person in the hospitality industry. Incredibly rude and arrogant. She advised me that "we do not do dip and dine" and that was that.

I went outside and noticed that my two children were already in the pool and proceeded to discuss with my family whether or not we should actually just leave, as this establishment clearly did not want customers. A few minutes later, another member of the reception staff (Sam) came around to the pool (she had obviously been dispatched to come and spy on us by Alice) and asked us to remove our children from the pool. Apparently it was for health and safety reasons, however I am not sure which ones. There was only one other child in the pool who was about 7 years old and who was completely unsupervised. When we mentioned this to Sam, she was unconcerned, as the 7 year old was a patron of the hotel.

At the end of the day, we took our children out of the pool, they were so disappointed, and it was so silly as the weather wasn't even nice and there was only one other child in it. She was actually disappointed when my sons had to get out as she then had no-one to play with. We stayed and ate our food from the light bites menu, which was decidedly average, however it was 2pm by that stage and we didn't want to miss out on lunch completely.

We then left and went to the Farmhouse hotel for coffee and cakes. The attitude there was so so different. The staff were incredibly welcoming and said of course our children could swim in their pool. The day was saved. Thank you Farmhouse hotel!

I will never go back to La Grande Mare, and I would urge anyone who doesn't want to go to a hotel or restaurant and be treated like dirt to avoid La Grande Mare.

In particular, it is wholly unsuitable for families with young children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 13 Aug 2013
Dear Advocate Polly Lister Thank you for the overly negative review which seems to be out of keeping with other recent reviews we have received. The Hotel swimming pools are for the exclusive use of our Country Club members and Hotel residents. As we have never promoted a dip and dine offering it is rather disappointing to see you vent your fury on staff members as they are only following my instruction. I have written to you separately offering a Country Club membership
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaCoquillette14 wrote a review Sept 2016
Guernsey, United Kingdom32 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am very upset by the way I was spoken to by a waitress today. I came for afternoon tea with two friends. The waitress, Angelika, was extremely rude demanding for the paper voucher "now!". My friends were not even allowed to sit down at the table while I went to reception to print it out!!! Luckily, the woman at the reception was very friendly and helpful. However I did not expect the waitress to laugh at my face as I handed her the voucher because it was a screen shot. I have come many times to La Grande Mare Hotel, and never was I treated this way! She was so disrespectful. But then the afternoon tea was disappointing too. We did not get the same service as the tables around us. We got no choice of scone(the table behind us had both plain and fruit scones), the sandwiches were more than basic and bland (cucumber was soggy and tasteless, the egg sandwich hardly had any filling and no egg yolk). Most of the cakes were frozen (the macaron, eclair and cheese cake most definitely were). I had to ask to get our tea, and we were nearly finished when it arrived. Basic tetley tea bag. We were not offered "the vast selection of teas" as stated on the voucher... Not once were we asked how it was going or if we needed anything. It was far from being fully booked. I have come on other occasions where it was much busier and the service was much better. It is not because I had a Quidsin voucher that the service or the food should be lesser! I am extremely disappointed and I do not think I will be coming here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 3 Oct 2016
LaCocquillette14 I am sorry to read that you think our staff have been deliberately rude and disrespectful -this most certainly is not the case. Angelika is a very popular and charming young lady that has worked for the Hotel for a number of years now with her partner. When it turned out you had not printed out your voucher before hand she asked you with a please to go to reception with your mobile to use the blue tooth printer.The Hotel needs the voucher and its unique number as payment. I believe it was the size of the print making it difficult to read the number that was the source of amusement at the bar. Our restaurant manager Christian served your champagne and asked you if everything was alright and you said yes it was at the time. The other table that you observed enjoying better sandwiches and indeed "plain Scones" was in fact Gluten and dairy free afternoon tea.The scones we serve are fruit scones (it now states this on the voucher)and we do not offer plain as an alternative so I feel your review is somewhat unfair and untrue statement of your afternoon tea experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandie D wrote a review Sept 2015
Reading, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful holiday, superb location, great rooms, brilliant staff, great food. Cannot wait to go back, as we do every year.

This year our travel agent let us down and didn't confirm our booking with the hotel. The Grande Mare reception staff were excellent and found us accommodation in the hotel at the last minute. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Always a friendly greeting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All are excellent. Travellers would not be disappointed with any room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 30 Sept 2015
Dear Sandie D Many thanks for your lovely review it was great to read just how highly you rated the Hotel and its team. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jtoc wrote a review Jan 2007
Guernsey15 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great hotel, if you have already booked then you are in for a real treat! Very lucky !

I now live on Gsy, I'm from Manchester and I always book La Grande Mare for my friends and I will tell you why....

The hotel, now 30 years old is unsurpassed luxury, there is a real sense you are the most important guest. The rooms may be a tad dated, but they are fantastically spacious, superb quality and extra huge bathrooms.

I have seen many of the rooms, and every time I'm well impressed, as are my visiting friends.

The hotel is also part of a French training course for waiters and esses, the service is what you would expect of a 600 EUR per night hotel, and here waiting is treated as a profession.

If you love Golf this is seriously elite, the second elitist golf course on Gsy.

Step out of the door your on Vazon Bay, a very sporting beach, windsurfing, surfing, wind buggies, sand racing, anything, it all happens here.

This really is one of Gsy's best hotels, attention to detail is everything, sure you can see where improvements could be made, but this hotel is for the classic traveler.

Everything is solid, heavy and feels right, no rubbish here, yes it’s a tad dated but this furniture was designed to stand time, it is the best quality.

I totally recommend this hotel on any budget, my last booking was just over £120 for 2 nights B&B at the weekend sole occupancy.

The reason so many weddings are here is because it is the best.

I had lunch there today 2 people including soft drinks £16. Not bad for exclusive 4**** ?

Carlos is the head waiter and he really will take care of you, he is fabulous at his job and has been with the hotel for many years.

This hotel also won every accolade possible between 1991 & 1998.

Last week I met the new head chef, he has been working in Michelin star restaurants. expect quality.

This hotel is only for the elegant traveler, don't go on a cheap and cheerful here! And to all those posting poor reviews I don't think you understand the shear expense and effort that has gone into making this hotel a landmark of Guernsey. You won't find chicken and chips here, silver service all the way!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 16 Jan 2014
Dear jtoc Thank you for the extensive review,it was good to hear about your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
21jan2017 wrote a review Mar 2018
Cheshire, United Kingdom42 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, on the coast and easily accessible by bus. Had a suite - nice but not really needed - rooms far too spacious and could be laid out better. No sign of any safe. Kitchenette quite handy but only a microwave for cooking so not really much use. Be careful of the location and if any functions are on. Our suite was on the first floor above reception and you could hear the live music very easily till 23:30. Also some rooms close to the laundry so be prepared to be woken at 0700 on a Sunday. Excellent breakfast choicevwith poached eggs available on buffet. However let down by cold plates and use of heated trays with inefficient burners below, so food lukewarm at best unless you were lucky to arrive when being refilled. Also no fresh fruit on the buffet.expected more. Doesn't take American Express
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: High floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare
Responded 27 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the recent stay you enjoyed at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club. We do not take American Express and I have noted your other suggestions so we can improve our offering.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie Gsy asked a question Sept 2018
Essex, United Kingdom7 contributions
Please can you advise as to the size of the indoor pool?
Answer from Simon V
Guernsey, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
So our indoor pool is 40 feet long and our outdoor is 50 feet long
Answer from Simon V
Guernsey, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Piotr you left without notice.You never complained about accommodation in staff house whilst you were staying earlier.We spent a lot of time training you but you were just too slow for breakfast chef and you could not even poach an egg. I don't mind that you left-we did give you a chance BUT Tripadvisor is not the place to air work grievances-I will let other employers know about you and you abilities .Your review is an outright lie as you never stayed in the Hotel.As an employee or past employee you are not supposed to post on tripadvisor about where you once worked.
Ramsay A wrote a tip Oct 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for s room/suite with a sea view if possible"
Read full review
Milan wrote a tip Sept 2019
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Preferred pool view + golf course over ocean + highway"
Read full review
Tessagoldie14 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Horley, United Kingdom60 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the front of hotel look out over Vazon Bay."
Read full review
Jackie S wrote a tip Mar 2019
Essex, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe rooms higher up in the hotel have a better view over the sea wall."
Read full review
thomas r wrote a tip Mar 2019
Guernsey, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are 5 star."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Castel area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
la grande mare hotel castel, la grande mare guernsey
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsGuernseyCastel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA GRANDE MARE - Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about La Grande Mare
Which popular attractions are close to La Grande Mare?
Nearby attractions include German Naval Signals HQ (2.7 miles), German Occupation Museum (2.6 miles), and The Little Chapel (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Grande Mare?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at La Grande Mare?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Grande Mare?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Grande Mare?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thomas de la Rue, Le Nautique, and Fat Rascal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Grande Mare?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Grande Mare?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does La Grande Mare offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to La Grande Mare?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Little Chapel (1.8 miles), Fort Grey Maritime Museum (2.8 miles), and German Underground Hospital (2.2 miles).
Is La Grande Mare accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Castel HotelsCastel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CastelHotels near La Grande Mare
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire