We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Grande Mare

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
La Grande Mare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for La Grande Mare
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We have stayed many times at this hotel, and it never fails to deliver. The staff are always attentive, the room was excellent, we used the spa which was lovely. We had both afternoon tea and dinner both delicious. We love this hotel and look forward to our next stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail D
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Hey Gail What genuinely kind words you have written there and the team are genuinely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are open all year round and we do hope to have the pleasure of your company with us again soon !

Guernsey
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Just been for the evening meal £45 for two have to say first class food and service was excellent, when you think a Thursday night in the middle of January and they were doing 65 covers by the time we left not bad for one of the shoulder months in the middle of the week. Would certainly go back again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guern54
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Thank you Guern 54 for the fine review on your dining experience with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club,we hope to see you again soon.

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Excellent indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. Interesting menu, we had guide fowl and venison for our main courses, both delicious. The room was too hot at night, old fashioned but clean, and lovely modern renovated bathroom. We didn't have time to try out the golf course. It looked a good challenge, lots of water hazards. Hopefully we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul r
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for the stonkingly great review on our Hotel,delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. You must pop back again where a warm welcome awaits !

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The afternoon tea was lovely, in particular the scones with jam and cream, staff were lovely and friendly too. Check-in was easy and quick, lovely and friendly reception staff, our suite was very nice, large room and well appointed en-suite, nice and peaceful so very relaxing. Pre-dinner Aperitif was a nicely presented Hendricks and tonic, with cucumber and grated Juniper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic666
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Nic Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments for our attention. We hope to see you again in the future and you are more than welcome to enjoy our great Golf Course -its half price green fees for residents.

Guernsey
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed in one of the Penthouses! Four Poster Bed. Huge Lounge, and large Bathroom. Evening Meal was excellent. Breakfast, disappointing. Cool to warm only. Check Food Temperature with a Thermometer? Get the Omlette, cooked fresh in the Kitchen. Coffee was only warm. We will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartGuernsey
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Thank you for your great review and I can assure you we have noted the points raised for our immediate attention. We at La Grande Mare Hotel ,Golf and Country Club are open all year round and we look forward to greeting you back in the future.

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We had an excellent stay at this hotel for 10 days. All of the staff were very helpful & friendly. we were also fortunate & pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded to a suit which was appreciated as I had man flu for three days. I did find the bedroom a bit too hot but was not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevenfelstead
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on the Hotel,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though you were unwell. The Hotel is open all year round and you would be welcome back any time.

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I've stayed here now 4 or 5 times on Business, and the hotel is great. Having visited Guernsey many times, and stayed in many hotels this one is a firm favourite. The Studio rooms and suites are extremely spacious, with plenty of space, sofa's and dining tables. The Bose soundock is a nice touch as well. Those who like toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Gary Thanks for the fine review and we look forward to being of service to you in the future at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club.

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Visited the Grande Mare again for our New Years celebrations. Meal was absolutely superb and the service excellent. The music kept us dancing until one a.m. with a good selection of tunes. The overnight accommodation was up to the usual lavish standard and rounded off with a sumptuous breakfast could not be better. Many thanks to all the staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Thank you Robin O for your honest experience of New Years Eve with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club,Happy New Year to you It was great to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves with us and we hope to see you again soon.

St Leonards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Disappointing .My niece booked this for us for New year,as we had come from Australia to visit ,but did not know it was black tie as not on posters or web site .We had smart clothes but not black tie.The hotel said that was fine ,however the people attending the gala did not , we had to endure fowl looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie g
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Happy new year to you Stephanie and thank you for noting that the Staff and the food served at the Gala dinner were excellent at our Four Star Hotel on New years eve. I've noted your comments on how you felt inappropriately dressed but as you said we,the Hotel,were fine with smart casual dress for the evening. For over 40...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed for seven nights over the Christmas holidays . Our room was fantastic as we were upgraded to penthouse suite 7. Spectacular views over the beach and watching the surfers was fabulous . It has it be said the food was plentifully , excellently presented and tasted great. Christmas lunch away from home is always a gamble , but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Dawn and Mike Wow, now that is a mighty fine review,thank you so much. It was a pleasure to read about your Christmas experience with us and i feel sure other Tripadvisor reviewers will find this so helpful when helping to choose a suitable destination to stay in Guernsey. Our Hotel is open all year round and we look...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
552 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Grande Mare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms/suites we have stayed in have been quiet and had views!”
 of 5 bubbles TIPPLES, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great however if you can stretch to a suite it is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Stevebacon, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask whether suite available”
 of 5 bubbles paulr353, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suites and Studios are my favourite”
 of 5 bubbles GaryM435, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view Penthouse suites, great views , 2 bathrooms and kitchenette.”
 of 5 bubbles 928dawnn, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5