We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Visit hotel website
Traveller (288)
Room & Suite (93)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Marina View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct - Save 10%
1,227Reviews
333Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 998
  • 157
  • 43
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fantastic staff couldn’t fault them Great head Chef Robert would like to thank you and all the staff for looking after my self and friend The food was excellent the spar was fantastic Once again thank you to all for the great hospitality
Read more
Response from AndrewC8097, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear rivemark, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that the team offered great hospitality. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone, but particularly Robert and the Spa team, and I know that they will be thrilled that their efforts have been so appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Andrew Chantrell, General Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
I have just got home after my visit to the OGH , I absolutely love this place , I have been once a year for the last 4 years and hope to go again next year ! It’s in a great position with the town just a short stroll down the hill ! The staff are all so welcoming nothing is to
Read more
Response from Andrew C, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Responded 10 Jul 2018
Dear Susie B Thank you for taking time to post a review following your stay with us at The Old Government House Hotel and Spa. It’s fantastic to read that you would recommend a stay with us at the OGH. I am so pleased that you continue to receive such a warm welcome from the team, and that you find the hotel excellent and the facilities fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you next year. Kind Regards Andrew Chantrell General Manager
Read more
First time in Guernsey and was only on the island for 24 hours for a meeting. However, I can easily recommend this hotel from the glass of sherry on arrival, through to the post-meeting, pre-flight lunch prior to departing everything was very good (an incredibly comfy bed, but
Read more
Response from AndrewC8097, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Sebsdad, Many thanks for taking the time to share feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose The OGH for your first visit to the island and that you are able to recommend us to others. I am disappointed that our restaurant team forgot to serve your water with dinner and will be sharing this with them to ensure that this does not happen again. As you say this is not something that our guests expect from us. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Chantrell, General Manager
Read more
+2
Stayed at the OGH again for a work stay and received an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival. Room was large. Still got the L’occitane toiletries. Breakfast was good overall but they need to change the coffee beans they use. Service professional but a bit stuffy: “Can I order
Read more
Response from AndrewC8097, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear DMSCAD, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The OGH. I am pleased that we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our Junior Suites and hope that you were comfortable during your stay. I was sorry however that you found our service, although professional, rather stuffy as this is not the way that we wish to come across to our guests. In order to try to ensure that guests are not waiting to be seated at tables we do have a 'host' each morning whose role is to seat guests while other members of the team take orders. I will however be discussing how we do this better with the team and have taken on board your comment about the Illy coffee that we use. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide me with your feedback and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Guernsey and The OGH in the near future. If you are planning another visit please let me know and I would be happy to assist with your booking. Kind regards, Andrew Chantrell, General Manager
Read more
+2
I am currently sat in my room at this hotel preparing to check out later today. It’s very rare that a hotel inspires me to write a review whilst I’m still in it - I like to go home and consider my reviews. However, there is nothing I can fault. Visited for a long weekend with a
Read more
Response from AndrewC8097, General Manager at The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear joshuabQ8795DE, What an amazing review of your recent stay with us at The OGH. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travellers. I am so sorry that you were unwell and unable to enjoy exploring the Island but so pleased that our team made sure that you were well cared for. I know that they will all, particularly Nelly, be thrilled to hear that their efforts have made such an impression and ensured that, although perhaps not the break you were anticipating, you were comfortable. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again so that you can explore all our wonderful island has to offer and would be pleased to assist personally with your booking. Kind regards, Andrew Chantrell, General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Early morning view from the room
Early morning view from the room
Room view
We were given champagne as we were on honeymoon
PreviousNext
12345619
Hmmm cant remember sorry. You will love ❤️ it.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear miztraveller, Thank you very much for your message. Our 3 course menu in The Curry Room is priced at £38 per person, or £60 per person including a flight of wines matched to each dish. Should you require any further information, or wish to make a booking, please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind regards Andrew Chantrell General Manager
1 vote
Thank you for your enquiry. Smoking in enclosed public areas, hotels and workplaces is not permitted in Guernsey and Herm. However, a number of our bedrooms have private terraces where we allow smoking, please call our reservations team on 01481 724921 for availability and rates. Kind regards, Andrew Chantrell, General Manager.
1 vote
"Sea view an absolute must"
"Noise from kitchen fans in room 132, even with window closed & thick curtains drawn."
"Try one with a balcony! We had a super view from #125"
"Ask to see the room to assess first."
"Any room overlooking the harbour"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$224 - US$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old government hotelhotel old government
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsGuernseySt Peter Port
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing