We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Save
Share
Exeter Road, Braunton EX33 2JJ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (52)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are now closed during National Lockdown, with the exception of accommodation for Key Workers. Please note the hotel is operating on reduced staffing levels. therefore we kindly ask Guests to provide us with a 1 hour time window in which they intend on checking into the hotel. Once at the hotel a member of staff can be reached 24/7 if required via the phone in your bedroom. We look forward to continuing to welcome you during these difficult times. We are also still accepting future bookings. The 5 en-suite Bedrooms at the George Inn have all been individually and tastefully decorated. The location is ideal for those of you wishing to explore the beauty of the North Devon Coast, situated within easy reach of the South West Coastal Path, and local beaches. The George offers great food in its Bar and Restaurant, specilaising in Mexican and American cuisine alongside some good old pub classics. As far as drinks go we will always have some fantastic local ales fresh on Cask and offer a great selection of Draught Ciders, Premium Lagers & Stout. Alongside this we serve an array of Spirits, Wines and original Cocktails.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
206Reviews2Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 50
  • 33
  • 15
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kirsten A wrote a review 17 Jul
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely awful... Avoid at all cost. We love woolacombe and surrounding areas and come here all the time, looked online at this place and thought the menu was reasonably priced, turned up.. Windows were boarded up in areas and it looked awful but due to covid and having to book places etcs decided to go in. Inside it initially looked OK.... Then whilst sat at table noticed damp in restaurant coming through walls and that it needed work. It wasn't that busy one other couple in the restaurant area. Got served a drink quickly and given menus.... After 45 mins we had to go and get someone to take our order.... Pretty simple 3 steaks, a kids burger and a Mexican baja. Something most restaurants would be able to manage in a timely manner. Over a hour we waited then had to ask when food was arriving to be told 2 mins... 15 mins later no food. The couple next to us had a 3 course meal in the time we were there.... The food then came out, initially it looked good but the burger was burnt.... The steak couldn't even be chewed it was AWFUL. couldn't eat it. If it didn't take so long we could of resolved and reordered something or got it remade but after waiting so long for the first lot and 2 young tired hungry kids we had to call it a night. TOTALLY RUBBISH.... the chef came out to ARGUE that we were wrong and customer service was so disgusting. Never been to such a rubbish place. Could completely understand why windows were smashed. I was told under the current climate of covid I should be more understanding.... Hmmmm last time I checked most people have been financially impacted due to covid so if people try to give you business and spend money at your place then you should try and retain customers and ensure repeat business. Not throw away money and food. There are so many beautiful places to eat in area (that serve edible food) don't risk if here..... 2 mins up the road is the williams arm... Gets booked up so make sure you reserve or the fish restaurant a few doors down. These are run by professional not a rubbish chef that can't cook and comes out the kitchen to argue as he can't take critism. He wouldn't even attempt to cut the steak in front of us like we asked as you couldn't get the knife through it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy David, Owner at The George Inn
Responded 1 week ago
For those reading this review. I will point out a few things. This table of 6 rang up and asked can we have a table in 10/15 minutes. They were told that we could sit them for drinks but there would be a long wait for food, as we had a number of tables we were already preparing food for and others waiting to order that had booked in advance. Also note we received no complaints from these tables. There was a wait to order as we had stated, despite our poor staff being hounded to take their order, before others who had already been sat waiting. This is not helpful or polite. What isn't stated is that they ordered one of their steaks Medium Well, given the cut of meat and the thickness of the steak this took around 11 minutes on our chargrill, and was then rested for a further 5 minutes before serving. Please note we have timings on our order system and the food was served to the table, 28 minutes after the point of ordering. As our team were serving your meals they then stood up to complain about the wait, not one of them attempted to eat any of the food. They were informed that the Manager was cooking their meals this evening and he will come out and speak to them as soon as possible. After finishing off another table of 2, I came out approximately 3 minutes later, with the rude customers trying to walk out without even paying for their drinks. I did not argue with the customers, I stated to them if they did not wish to stay and eat the food I will not charge them for it, but there was nothing wrong with it. I did tell them I would not allow them to walk out without paying for all the drinks they had consumed, this is what upset them. I took the liberty of asking one of my waitresses to photograph the food so that you can judge for yourself. I will also note that the staff very much enjoyed the steaks and the burger after what was a busy evening. You could not have eaten at the Williams Arms, as it was closed due to COVID, as were 5 other establishments in the area. This is why we were quite clear with all customers that although we would try to cater for as many as possible there will be waits. Another table of four left as we told them there would be a 40 minute wait. This table were given clear wait expectations so I really don't know what there is to complain about. Needless to say these people are not welcome in this establishment as they spoil it for others.
Read more
Leanda P wrote a review Jun 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed her for two days in June 2021. The hosts are such lovely people, and the breakfast was fantastic, great choice and cooked to order. The rooms could do with some updating and the owners advised that they are constantly working on upgrading the building. We also had the added bonus of free parking in a public car part just across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy David, Owner at The George Inn
Responded 19 Jun 2021
Hello Leanda, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. As you say we do constantly try to look at ways to improve our offerings and will continue to do so. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome back in the future and see what you think of any changes we have made. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
Linda S wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
While on holiday at Croyde Bay we visited the George Inn for a birthday celebration meal with the family. You couldn't find a more friendly welcome from husband and wife team who couldn't be more attentive. Food was good and service excellent. We returned later in week for another meal and weren't disappointed. I have many food intolerances which makes my choice very limited and on the second visit because of their kindness I asked for something that wasn't on the menu and it wasn't any trouble and my meal came with any fuss and I can't say How grateful I was. Food and service well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy David, Owner at The George Inn
Responded 19 Jun 2021
Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the trouble to write us such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed both the service and food. We always love seeing customers come back, so perhaps we will see you again when you next holiday in the area. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
travellingJulie13 wrote a review Jun 2021
Horley, United Kingdom85 contributions88 helpful votes
Ate here for dinner, very friendly staff. Food was plentiful and reasonable priced. Had a chicken dish and fish pie. Also a huge sticky toffee pudding with extra custard! Tia Maria coffee was also fab! Would recommend. Choice to eat in the bar or restaurant area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy David, Owner at The George Inn
Responded 12 Jun 2021
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Really pleased you enjoyed your meal and were well looked after by the team. The sticky toffee pudding is always a personal favourite of mine, it is amazing and I am not just saying it because it is my Wife's recipe or that I cooked this one! If we do have the pleasure of welcoming you back again our home-made chocolate fondants are also definitely worth a try. Thank you so much for recommending us. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
Fernbank138 wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
Popped in while staying in Croyde had a lovely meal - great menu but we chose rump steak & all the trimmings - best steak we've had in ages. Would definitely recommend. Great family run pub/restaurant!!🙂
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy David, Owner at The George Inn
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Hello Fern, Thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the time to recommend us. Really pleased you enjoyed the Steaks, and hope we can look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit the area. Kind Regards Christopher
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonBraunton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The George Inn?
Nearby attractions include Museum of British Surfing (0.09 miles), The Aggi (0.1 miles), and Paint a Pot Studio (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The George Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The George Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Inn?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Siam Bistro, At One Dining, and The Riverside.
Is The George Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of Braunton.
Are pets allowed at The George Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The George Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Guildhall (4.8 miles) and The Old Windmill (3.4 miles).