South Bay Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

South Bay Holiday Park

Traveller (776)
Room & Suite (107)
Indoor and outdoor pool
Pool & Beach (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 7 campsites in Brixham
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

St. Mary's Road, Brixham TQ5 9QW England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Exeter Airport
24.6 mi
See all flights
1,166Review64Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 580
  • 295
  • 141
  • 66
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
steve wrote a review Jul 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives:
very clean place; pet friendly, staff are amazing, you need anything - they are there to help.
The entertainment hall is very well looked after and it’s very modern.
Price for drinks are fair, entertainment finishes at 10pm.

Shop prices are fair too and they don’t rip you off.

Entertainers try their best in the evenings to make everyone join in, even thru the covid restrictions they still pulled it off well!! A big well done to stripy Alex and Hugie for all what you did please keep up the hard work with the 90’s music !!
Reception bent over backwards to help where they can.
Pool is ‘ok’ - again it’s clean, fresh and not over powering with chlorine but do watch the gaps under the top tiles as it looks like some grout has come away in quite a few places.

Negatives:
please don’t use their recommended taxi service ‘Ace Taxis’ they are a waste of time and they are really unhelpful, I really hope they remove their business proposals off the site.
Beds are really uncomfortable, they are super soft mattresses and you can feel the frame thru them.
Some of the cutlery (plastic serving spoons, frying pan utensils, are really flimsy.
There is no hoover, just a brush and pan which can be a bit of a pain when your cleaning up after kids on a carpet.
Watch the dirt behind the cushions as they are not cleaned, considering the covid situation there was kids hair bobbles behind the cushions that looked like they had been there for quite some time.

Recommendations:
Take your own frying pan and cooking utensils (the normal metal knifes, forks spoons etc are fine) and a couple of decent trays for the oven. Watch the switch behind the bread bin as it switches off the fridge/freezer really easily if you push it back too far.
If you can afford it go for the caravans with a balcony as there isn’t a lot of room to chill outside of the caravan.
Brixham town is approx 15 min walk there and approx 25 mins walk back, it’s tiring but we’ll worth the exercise; there is a bus down to it but always struggles with a family of 6 to get on it.
There is plenty to see in Brixham, try the crabbing and defo do the boat trip from Brixham to Torquay.
There is a local beach approx 15 mins away, it’s nothing special but it’s clean, it does have slate rocks all around the beach which does mean you get “slate dust” in the sand which can make it a bit coarse when laying in it.

Overall:
Defo recommend this site, it’s well looked after and good value for money. Views are amazing from all sides of the site onto the harbour.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Hi there Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review - I am sure your hints and tips will be useful for other guests. We have taken on board your point about the mattresses and will review them. I'm glad that you would recommend us and hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Emily
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Jul 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
5 adults & upgraded to disability accommodation all was booked via phone for south bay holiday park brixham for my mothers 65th birthday in july 2021.
On arrival all was well apart from to find we had 3 large steps to our chalet which is a problem for our mother who can't climb steps very well she uses a push walker to aid her.Shower over bath not suitable for disabled mother.Chalet could of done with a deep clean, bit on the tired side & very basic,but we have stayed in worse. We arrived at 4:30pm because we couldn't check in till after 4pm, we had a very long drive 5.5 hours so we all wanted a quick shower apart from mum couldn't because of the shower over bath we all wanted to freshen up after our long journey and visit the club house to order a drink & some food being the site shop was closed.We was told there is no available tables and we would need to wait with my disabled mum who can't stand for a long period of time,we also couldn't order a drink till we had been seated because of covid rules still in place. We was very disappointed has we paid £5 each for the the entertainment club house passes so we wasn't very happy to be told on the door by a staff member its 1st come 1st serve.Luky enough someone did move so we could sit at a table after a family left. "Thank god for that we all thought" because we was all tired from our long journey thirsty & hungry. Lovely lets all order our drinks but then to be told you can only pay via the club house app & pay by card which was a problem because we only have cash for our holiday so we at to owe a family member who was with us & they would put the money back into their bank account the next day if we could find a bank.We was very stressed at this point. They came round selling bingo tickets which they do take cash which don't make sense if only dealing with card payments due to the covid rules. We also could order our food from the food counter & also could pay with cash very contradictive being could only pay via debit card for our drinks which did cause some issues.
Things they could improve on:
Site shop open longer especially when you can't check in till 4 and it closes at 6. Nearest shop is about 15 mins a on a very steep hill.
Have a better variety of drinks at the club house, was not a lot of choice.
Limit entertainment passes they sell to the club house capability.
Improve on disability access.
Cleaner & update accommodation.
Some entertainment improvements as very inexperienced entertainers, but nice people.
I would not say this site is suitable for disabled people, very hilly and is not easy to get to the beach you would need to be very fit. There is a lot of steps from the site down to the beach.
Better communication on website and arrival for disability guest & times of when the facilities close. Food counter closes to early so we at to go without a meal some nights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 20 Jul 2021
Hi Angel Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We have taken your points on board and will give them some consideration. I do hope you were still able to enjoy your holiday. Best wishes, Emily
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Secret Holiday Maker wrote a review May 2021
22 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 7 night stay in a 3 bedroom Gold Caravan at South Bay. The booking department were excellent, I requested a caravan with decking and they made an effort to find me a holiday home that could provide this. I had to pay an extra £10 to secure this, but that was absolutely fine!

On arrival, the check in procedure was pretty normal despite the pandemic, I was invited by a friendly member of reception and was checked in within a matter of seconds.

We were allocated a caravan which has private owners and from previous experience, I find this to be the best option as they are taking care of that little bit more. The layout was fantastic, the TV was a little small but that wasn’t a massive problem. We had a family next to us with children that made noise throughout the day but otherwise it was quiet and the scenery was beautiful.

I had high hopes that this would be a comfortable and successful holiday however we soon came across some faults that soon changed my mind.
The master bedroom had a double bed which would constantly bounce and move throughout the night as the owners had storage underneath the mattress. Their property was secured with straps and I was unable to move anything to fit the mattress into place correctly resulting in lack of sleep as all of the other bedrooms were occupied by the other members of my party.

In the kitchen, I came across dirty cups which had stains inside and out that had clearly not been cleaned or checked by anybody, there was baking trays beneath the sink that had food stains over them and the glass jug had orange marks over it which I believe was baked beans or spaghetti. It was extremely hard onto the jug that I was unable to remove this when washing.

I attempted to contact reception on the phone number required to report this to them however despite trying on 4 different occasions, I was never answered and was unable to speak with anyone. I even took a walk to reception on 3 separate days and every time it was locked up and nobody was there.

The site offered an outdoor bar service and take away food however this was not explained well and we could not figure out how we ordered food. There is an online ordering site for the bar however there was no instructions on how to order from the restaurant which we wanted to do on several occasions during our stay but were unable to do.

When stripping the beds on the day we vacated, we realised the pillows had brown stains all over them and had not been washed. Even though they had pillow cases over them, pillows should not be provided to paying guests with brown stains all over them.

Overall this holiday was Average and needs some minor improvements, I expected better as I had purchased a Gold Caravan and not a Bronze or Silver, however if these problems were amended I would happily return to South Bay Holiday Park as the environment on the park itself is amazing.

Since returning home from this holiday, John Fowler have investigated the situation and we have come to an agreement to rectify the issue.

Thank you John Fowler.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you are looking at staying at this park, I would recommend a Gold or Platinum Caravan.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 24 May 2021
Hi SHM Thank you for leaving such honest feedback highlighting the positive and negative elements of your stay. As you had been in touch with us, we have noted the points you mention and put in an action plan to rectify these issues. I am glad you were pleased with how we dealt with the issues you raised on your return. As you say, there are some minor improvements needed but hopefully we can address these and you can enjoy a stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, Emily
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Warren R wrote a review Aug 2020
Ware, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After checking in on the 31st July, and viewing the 3 Bed Bronze Caravan it fell well short of the required standard of a hygienic and safe accommodation (especially in this current climate). As we first approached the caravan front patio was filthy and covered in green grime (obviously not been cleaned this year) As soon as we opened the front door, we were hit by stale stench smell. We then observed filthy, stained carpets and sofas, wobbly table, filthy kitchen floor and filthy fridge door. In one of the bedrooms heavily stained mattress and leaky radiator (rust). We did raise the issue with the reception immediately but was swiftly brushed off and told they will send the member of the cleaning team, which they did. The lady was helpful and did clean the caravan again, and herself admitted that it wasn’t cleaned properly beforehand. The major problem with this property is the worn unsuitable fixtures within it and the poor state of cleanliness with it not being checked prior to our arrival.
Within the early hours 0100 of the first morning the fire alarm detector in the hallway started to beep signifying flat batteries within this, again this should have been checked allowing a safe accommodation.
This meant that after a very long drive to Devon and then being exposed to poor accommodation I felt very frustrated especially paying over £900 for the accommodation I felt “short changed”
We were eating away from the accommodation each day for the duration of our stay. We covered the sofas with sheets so the children don’t sit on the filthy sofas. We have also discovered a vacuum cleaner which was full (another thing that was unchecked) We feel so upset and disappointed that we decided to finish our holiday early (cutting our holidays short) because we just did not want to stay in a filthy, unhygienic and unsafe environment.
The issue has been escalated through the agent and the caravan site has been notified but no feedback has been provided back yet - Very poor indeed and completely ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, General Manager at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Hello Warren I am very sorry that the accommodation provided during your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. This is a very popular holiday park and the caravans have been in constant use since the easing of lockdown. It was such a shame that you did not tell the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. It is so much easier to deal with the problems while you are on the park - if you were unhappy with anything, tell the manager – there is no need to “grin and bear” it on a John Fowler Holiday. Normally I would make an investigation into your disappointing stay, but I see that you have logged your thoughts with your agent, therefore it would be inappropriate of me to interfere in the process. Pat Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Esther Cook wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Set off at 10.30am this morning to arrive at around 2.30pm in Brixham at a grimey, rusty mouldy caravan in the middle of the car park. There were crumbs on the table and on the kitchen worktop, a dirty hob, mould in the bedroom, dirty finger prints on most of the windows, mirrors, sticky door handles and light switches. Reception was closed and we were told by staff in the clubhouse there was no manager available and to go and see reception in the morning as there was nothing they could do about it as they were just bar staff! Had to Telephone customer services for John Fowler who contacted the park and the caravan salesman came to greet us and advised us this wasn’t his department and the park was fully booked but he would see what he could do. We were left in the car park for about 20minutes with a hungry nearly two year old who needed his nappy changed as well as a dog and two teenagers and my sister haven driven nearly 4 hours after a night shift ready for a weeks hol! We were relieved when the sales man came out and was able to find an alternative caravan. This was even worst. Mouldy and ripped net curtains, broken kitchen cupboard door, thread bare carpet with a dead fly or two on it, wallpaper torn off walls, mouldy shower, finger prints on most of the glass, sticky door handles and light switches, dirty kitchen cupboards with hairs in the cutlery drawer as well as all over the toilet and a mould ridden shower. To say that John Fowler advertise on their website a COVID sanitation process the caravans they expected paying guests to stay in didn’t not even meet basic hygiene standards - in fact you couldn’t have paid me to stay there! As Brixham had no other available accommodation we had to again telephone customer services and all that John Fowler could offer us was an ‘upgrade’ to a silver caravan in Polpero a 1.5hour drive away. We were eventually offered complimentary tea/coffee at Brixham served somewhat reluctantly by the bar staff as if the were doing us a favour. With hungry children we asked to buy some Chips, despite having £100 worth of grocery shopping in the car which included chilled goods, and were told they were not serving food - our intention had been to make sandwiches upon arrival at the caravan. So we then had to spend extra money on petrol (to get to Polpero in the hope of a caravan that met basic living standards) and drive through McDonald’s to feed the hangry children quickly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Hello Esther I have read your review and I have decided not to go through it to try to pick it to pieces as some responders do - that would be totally counterproductive. What I like about Tripadvisor is our guests' ability to be able to express their opinion without fear of objection or contradiction. We have to bear in mind that the caravans you saw have been used constantly since the easing of lockdown and it is such a shame that they did not come up to your expectations. However, I am pleased that the staff recognised your distress and went out of their way to look after you, eventually finding alternative accommodation at another holiday park for you. Pat Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
holiday hound wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a chalet at South Bay over the August bank holiday weekend and had a fabulous time. The staff - on reception, at the pool, in the bar, at the shop - were the friendliest I've ever encountered on holiday. The accomodation was worn but clean, and absolutely silent - couldn't hear seagulls on the roof like you can in a caravan!
We went to the bar one night for the cabaret, which was a great Tom Jones tribute act and the whole family enjoyed it.
The beach at St Mary's bay is a 10 minute scenic walk from the park and is a gorgeous cove, ideal for swimming. The walk to Brixham is about 20 minutes and we went crabbing there and got a boat to Torquay for the day.
We should have been in Spain but Devon has definitely come a close second and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Hello Jennifer Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to the housekeeping team. I am pleased to hear that you will be coming back to see us again, let’s hope that it’s quite soon - our returning customers are so important to us. Pat Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark D wrote a review May 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a caravan just as lockdown was ending to get a short break away with the family. It was very good value for a three bedroom caravan. The caravan was clean and in very good condition, a dishwasher was a welcome bonus as we ate in a few times, also central heating was used as it was a bit cold during our stay. The kids enjoyed using the pool, it could be booked in 1 hour slots from the day before. The club was closed due to ongoing Covid restrictions of course. There is very good access to the south west coastal path and the beach and Brixham is a good central location for Dartmouth and Torquay both of which we visited. The early vacation time of 9am was a little inconvenient, but seeing how clean the caravan was on arrival we didn't mind too much. Would certainly visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 4 May 2021
Hi Mark What a great review - thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the little extras in your caravan. We appreciate that 9am is a little early for some people but thank you for your understanding. Hopefully next time you come we'll be fully open with the club and entertainment and back to our usual timings. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Emily
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annie P wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here 6th to the 10th July and had a really lovely time. Caravan was all clean upon arrival and in good condition. We used the bar facilities which were excellent. Hand sanitiser as you go in, as well as outside toilets. Tables all really well spaced out. The online ordering was easy to use with service nice and quick. Bar staff were cleaning everything really well, as soon as a table left they were on it really quickly, cleaning chairs, tables, everything that could have been touched. Must give extra credit to Matt who made us feel really welcome, was excellent with the kids and had brilliant customer service. There was takeaway food available in the bar- quite a limited menu but the food was nice. The shop, parks and crazy golf were all open to use. We had a great stay and would definitely come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, General Manager at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Hello Annie Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. It is satisfying to hear that you had a good time at our park. It is obviously very difficult for our staff working in entirely new circumstances, but in true John Fowler Holiday tradition everyone is stepping up to the mark - especially young Matt. In normal times Matt would be one of our entertainers, but with that facility denied to us at the moment, we needed to find something else for him to do. I am pleased to hear that you will be coming back to see us again, let’s hope that it’s quite soon - our returning customers are so important to us. Pat Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We found all the staff at the site very pleasant and helpful, couldn’t fault them. We loved the clubhouse and the food provided with a good selection of alcoholic drinks, swimming was also great fun. However, we did have some issues with our accommodation, we stayed in a silver caravan that was not big enough for 6 adults, beds were also very uncomfortable two of us ended up sleeping on the sofa all week. We noticed around half way through the holiday the lack of cleaning in the van. The shelves were dusty and dead flies in the window. The day we checked out, we were disgusted to find when we stripped the beds and cushions there was mildew and blood stains on most. A horrible thought to think we were sleeping on those all week! This is really un acceptable and would suggest investing in some new cushions and duvets. We felt very underwhelmed with our accommodation and definitely did not reflect the price we paid (Around £1200 for a week). All in all, we had a really lovely holiday but the cleaning really needs to be improved and accommodation needs updating for the prices you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 1 Sept 2021
Hi Chloe, I'm glad to read that you really enjoyed the majority of your holiday with us. I have passed on the issues that you have raised with the park management in order to ensure the comfort of our future guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Emily.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin wrote a review Sept 2020
6 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite arriving early and letting us check in an hour early (our check In was 6pm) the caravan was very well sanitised and was obvious it had been cleaned. On site facilities and entertainment were great, we found the ordering for drinks a but tiring as the system for ordering had us retype our information in repeatedly. they could use an app! the club wi-fi was unsually fast as we saw that it was weak on trip advisor, so that was a bonus.

On the first night however, taking our dogs back to the caravan, we were in Glenmoor caravans, the path leading up to the caravan site was pitch black dark. Being this dark, caused myself to twist my ankle into a ditch by the steps leading up to the site. This was on the 1st day of travel and it's impacted the whole holiday and all this could've been avoided if it had not have been for better lighting. Still suffering from the twisted ankle badly bruised (nearly 7 days after arriving) , we have not to pursue this with the site itself but would like to see that this review would encourage the owners of the park to add more lighting to see where people are going as this has impacted my break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat Jennings, Other at South Bay Holiday Park
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Hello Thank you very much for leaving us such a fair review, we really appreciate it. It is good to see that our housekeeping team has been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are doing a brilliant job in extreme circumstances and are working really hard to protect our customers and themselves. The matter of the lighting has been noted and passed on to the directors for their perusal. I would like to think that you would come back to see us again - our returning customers are so important to us, they regularly make up 50% of our visitors. Pat Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi there, The park does not have allocated parking spaces so I am afraid we are unable to guarantee parking. We can certainly add a note to your booking to request to be as close to parking as possible but we can not guarantee this as it is availability dependent with the different types of caravans. However if you call our booking team they will be able to look in to this further for the dates you are looking at :) I hope this helps! Emily
blingitup asked a question Mar 2023
8 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there a bus stop near to the caravan park please!
Answer from Nelgumford
703 contributions64 helpful votes
I think that there was one outside. I didn't use it. I saw the buses winding there way up and down the hill. I don't fancy that. It was bad enough in our small car.
lisa_davies28 asked a question Feb 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a bar on site that's dog friendly please?
David95 wrote a tip Today
Birmingham, United Kingdom209 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to the bus stop early to avoid having to stand all the way!"
Read full review
Zoe W wrote a tip 26 May
Gloucester, United Kingdom47 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are playing bingo every night, it is cash only. Car park is great and can park near or outside your accommodation."
Read full review
stuart g wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you do the costal path walk only a few hundred yards away."
Read full review
Devon A wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bath, United Kingdom44 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Download the app as it’s essential for booking swimming and children’s activities."
Read full review
keighleyw180925 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Beddau, United Kingdom19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe more entertainment for kids in evening starting at 5-6 pm till 8-9 "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brixham area.
PRICE RANGE
£66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
john fowler south bay holiday park hotel brixham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
John Fowler South Bay Holiday Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraBrixham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTH BAY HOLIDAY PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about South Bay Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to South Bay Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include The Three Elms (0.4 miles), SHIPWRECK MONUMENT (0.4 miles), and The Bell Inn (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at South Bay Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at South Bay Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at South Bay Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at South Bay Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Bay Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Nostra, The larder, and The Bell Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Bay Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is South Bay Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Brixham.
Are pets allowed at South Bay Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to South Bay Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coleton Fishacre (2.7 miles), Greenway (3.4 miles), and Dartmouth Castle (3.8 miles).
All Brixham HotelsBrixham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrixhamHotels near South Bay Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire