Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Burgh Island Hotel

Traveller (2016)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (169)
The Ball Room
Dining (140)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£670
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£670
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Burgh Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Authentic Art Deco hotel on its own private tidal island. Frequented by Agatha Christie, Noel Coward, Edward VIII and Wallis Simpson, amongst others. Join our famous guest list for lounging on our sunny terraces, a snug pint in front of the fire in The Pilchard - our 14th century inn - cocktails at sunset and black tie dining every night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Banquet room
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, German and 3 more
2,752Reviews36Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,068
  • 397
  • 149
  • 62
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Likesmifood wrote a review Jan 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom847 contributions372 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you appreciate Art Deco The Burg Island Hotel has to be a place to visit. Full of 1930's character it is a delight to the Art Deco fan. Access is so well taken care of that being cut off from the mainland at high tide just add to the experience. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets can be seen from the island, weather permitting, adding to the magic of this hotel. Food was excellent as was the service and whist our room needed a touch of paint where doorways were chipped the public rooms were in very good condition. All in all a magical couple of days, thank you all for making our stay a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Likesmifood, Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent visit to Burgh Island. If you are looking for an authentic Art Deco experience, Burgh Island is an obvious choice and we proudly restoring the hotel to the present 1930’s era. We are glad to learn your experience was memorable and I will have the pleasure to pass your kind remarks onto the team. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BerkshireTigger wrote a review Jan 2020
Newbury, United Kingdom327 contributions193 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Burgh Island hotel has been on our list for many years now especially as my husband likes the 1930's era. We finally got round to staying a night here during Storm Brendan! It made for a dramatic stay with breath taking stormy sea views and the thrill of being blown around the cliff top in addition to being marooned on this fascinating island.
The Art Deco decor didn't disappoint and we loved our room Cunard with its huge bathroom and period furniture. It also had an amazing balcony not that it was the weather for sitting out. We found plenty to occupy our time -exploring the rooms and photos and cuttings along the corridor, walking on the cliffs and watching the state of the tide as well as playing table tennis. If the weather had been calmer we would have done the murder mystery puzzle trail.
We had lunch in the Pilchard Inn which was very atmospheric with the wind blowing the door open periodically. The food was tasty pub food and there was a good choice of drinks. We enjoyed our evening meal at the hotel which was beautifully presented with flavours complimenting though the portions were small and we were glad we hadn't skipped lunch.
All in all it was a super stay but several things have prevented an excellent score. One of the reasons we had selected to stay a Monday night was to be there for the live music and dancing. Unfortunately due to the weather the band couldn't make it across. Although we had been asked to arrive by 3pm to ensure getting onto the island the band had not got to Bigbury until after 5pm and by then the tide was too high to cross. We understand this but it was the way we were informed of the change in off hand matter as we were ordering our cocktails to accompany the canapes prior to going into eat. A courtesy drink might have gone a long way especially as for many guests this might be a one off push the boat out visit. The live music and dancing is a large part of the experience for many guests and the pianist was a very poor substitute. Surely a wind up gramophone and some records could have been found to create a more authentic atmosphere in the bands absence. The continuous classical music improvisation from the pianist didn't provide the right ambience. We were not alone in this view. I am sure the band being stranded on the mainland is not a one off occurrence.
The two other niggles were the lack of heating in the public areas during the day time and the tacky ill fitting plastic modern style toilet seat in our room.
However we would love to come back one day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear BerkshireTigger, Thank you for taking the time to write with your wonderful review from recent visit to Burgh Island. We were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay during Storm Brendan in the Hotel and the Pilchard Inn and that you found it entertaining. Cunard room is one of our most popular bedrooms which was recently restored and we are glad to hear you approve latest improvements. We are naturally sorry to hear you were disappointed the Band could not make it on time. Storm Brendan was particularly disruptive and caused substantial damage in the local area which delayed the entertainers to be on the island in time. Unfortunately, we are unable to get the time back and we appreciate your feedback. However, I will be delighted if you could contact me on vlad@burghisland.com, in hope I will have the opportunity to restore your faith and treat you to compensate for your last stay. I hope to have the pleasure assisting you with arrangements for your future visit and welcome you back to the island again. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindylou146 wrote a review Aug 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom1,067 contribution638 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a rather difficult time trying to park at Bigbury and also trying to pay in the car park (the WiFi doesn’t work for the Ringo app that’s advertised!) we were picked up by a friendly gentleman in the hotel 4x4 and taken over the beach to the hotel. As this was during Covid....all staff had masks on but we were told we could take them off in the hotel if we chose to. We were shown to a table with a lovely view over the bay and were served by a very attentive and friendly young man. All the doors were open so fresh air was blowing through. We thoroughly enjoyed the 1920’s Vintage afternoon tea although there were a couple of items I wasn’t so keen on...like the Stilton finger sandwich and the carrot flapjack, but the scones were lovely as were the other desserts. We were able to stroll round the grounds of the hotel afterwards and admire the views. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish and the hotel was lovely. The tide was in when we were ready to return and we were driven from the hotel to catch the sea tractor where we were given priority over the very long queue waiting to return to the mainland. We parked for 4 hours (£5.20) which was just enough time to enjoy the afternoon without worrying about the parking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vladimir Krupa, Guest Services / Front Office at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear Lindylou146, Thank you for writing with feedback from Afternoon tea at Burgh Island. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the experience and thank you for your valuable comments which are much appreciated. We hope to see back in the future. Best regards, Vladimir Krupa Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gizmo1306 wrote a review Jan 2020
Teignmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positive and five star for the concept and excellent staff. The setting and and Art Deco ambiance could not be faulted. The weather beyond the hotels control but proved an interesting experience. But;

The room (Malcolm Campbell) in need of urgent refurbishment, photos attached of the curtains, paintwork and plaster.

Food was very enjoyable at the Pilchard on the first night. Breakfast both mornings disappointed with very slow service and overcooked warm rather than hot English breakfast. Acceptable meal in the ballroom on the second night and wine list interesting.

The item that most soured our stay was that we were on a secret escapes offer for the two nights. We would have expected the standards to be the same as a normal guest, but it seems that the proprietors were attempting to claw back some of our savings by making reductions elsewhere. In an extremely tired suite we had no bath robes, one small tablet of soap in the two days to cover the use of two separate basins and the bath. On the evening of the included Black Tie dinner dance despite the receptionist requesting us to be in the bar in order to have cocktails and canapés early, we found that since we were on a secret escapes offer that neither the canapés nor the coffee and petit fours were available to us without us “upgrading” our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid Malcom Campbell Suite until it is refurbished
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Gizmo1306, Thank you for your review and valuable feedback from two nights stay on the island. Whilst we were thrilled to read your lines with kind remarks you paid to our staff and your appreciation of keeping the Art Deco ambiance alive, we were concerned to hear from your recent stay in the Malcolm Campbell suite and please accept our apologies about the state of repair during your visit. I would like to further extend our apologies for standards of cuisine you experienced. Please be assured all your comments will be appropriately addressed with relevant departments to work on necessary improvements. Burgh Island is a magical place and we would love to see you in the future. We have launched our refurbishment program to update all the rooms and I will be delighted if you could contact me on vlad@burghisland.com and I will have the opportunity to make your next stay memorable to compensate your last experience. I hope to have the pleasure assisting you organising your visit in the future. Best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola J wrote a review Sept 2020
Bagshot, England, United Kingdom62 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A visit to this beautiful hotel was on our bucket list and we treated ourselves to celebrate my husband’s milestone birthday.
The location is wonderful and we were met at the garages by a lovely man called Richard who effortlessly loaded our luggage into his car and drove us the short way over the sand to the hotel, putting our luggage in our room while we sat on the terrace with a glass of champagne.. a perfect start!
We stayed in the Amy Johnson suite which had wonderful views of Bigbury-On-Sea but was very tired.
The sofa and chairs were wicker and better suited to a conservatory, not very comfortable at all.
Being the Amy Johnson suite a couple of aviator chairs would have been perfect or just a comfortable sofa.
The walls had marks on them and the window frames were rusty.
Having had months in lockdown we were surprised.
A bottle of champagne was in our room but paid for by friends and a happy birthday card from the hotel, a couple of chocolates or a bowl of fruit would have been a nice gesture.
The hotel itself was beautifully decorated in the Art Deco we expected and the food and drinks were expensive but delicious and all served by staff like Gary who made the experience unforgettable.
Very expensive and our room was not worth the additional expense but a memorable stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vladimir Krupa, Guest Services / Front Office at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear NicolaJ626, Thank you for celebrating your birthday at Burgh Island. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay in our Art Deco hotel and thank you for mentioning Richard and Gary who went the extra mile to make your stay special. The hotel is currently under renovation program and we truly hope we will have the pleasure to introduce you to newly refurbished rooms on your next visit. Best regards, Vladimir Krupa Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy M wrote a review Dec 2020
Ower, United Kingdom276 contributions258 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First I need to say that overall we had a fabulous stay over Xmas.

Mince pies and champagne on arrival after a ride over on the sea tractor with staff taking care of all our baggage which was mysteriously transported to our suite.

The staff or shall I say crew - because being surrounded by the sea in Art Deco decadence evokes ocean liner days of old - were excellent.
The ambiance was blissful and you almost felt transported back in time.
Especially in the evenings when guests dressed for dinner and a band played in the ballroom.
It is entirely impossible to be overdressed here!
It is entirely possible to run out of superlatives when describing the island.

There is something special about watching the tide come in across the sandy beach and seeing the dog walkers retreat to the mainland and knowing that just us and a few select guests will be enjoying the whole island and have the amazing hotel all to ourselves until the tide retreats.

The food quality and service on our first night in the Nettleford restaurant was superb.
Fabulous lobster and good scallops. Very patient staff who offered me a choice of wine tastings.

We were very pleased that the chef needed no excuse to show off his amazing abilities in canapé and petite-four making and they appeared before & after dinner and at other times too.

They serve one of the best eggs benedict at breakfast Inhave had in along time, good creamy porridge too.
All the food is good!

Gary the famous bar tender has now retired and will be missed by regular and not so regular guests like ourselves but the famous Peacock roofed bar was as welcoming as before.

We had the Hope suite on the top floor, with views over the Mermaid salt eater swimming pool.
This suite did not have a balcony and consisted of a small lounge, a bit on the dark side, a smaller bedroom and a compact bathroom complete with gorgeous roll top bath but it’s elegance was a bit wasted in the small bathroom.
There was a shower hose on the bath but unfortunately nowhere to fix it to on the wall and no shower curtain. So this was definitely unfortunately a case of form over function.
I have been informed that this could be remedied during some planned renovations.
I do hope so.
There were bath robes & slippers plus lovely smelling shampoo etc.
The rooms do not have a safe or a television but with the sea views we did not miss the tv, however there is excellent wifi.
Free bottled water was delivered daily and housekeeping visited twice a day.
Tea or coffee can be delivered to your room first thing in the morning but we requested a kettle etc in our room instead.

Style, service and quality plus huge enjoyment of course would summarise our all too brief 3 night stay.

The only real disappointment was that although Burgh Island is also known as rabbit island and there were burrows everywhere plus other evidence, we failed to see a single rabbit.
We look forward to returning, maybe at Easter. That way there will at least be some chocolate bunnies.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vladimir Krupa, Guest Services / Front Office at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Dear 136andym, Thank you for you lovely review following our traditional Burgh Christmas break. Festive period on the island is magical and we were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. We truly value your kind remarks about our staff who always run the extra mile to make sure all our guests have the most memorable time with us. We hope welcoming you on the island in close future. Best regards, Vladimir Krupa Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise C wrote a review Feb 2020
Exeter, England, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would not stay here again...,I would not eat here again.
We walked around the island during the summer last year and spent our walk picking up rubbish. What a shame this could be so much more than it is and as we paid £589 for one night in Avon suite during January felt ripped off.

Avon Suite 1/5 dirty carpets peeling paint dirty windows freezing cold no heating taps in bathroom don’t work. 1920 furniture was not quality would have resided in a council house in its day. Overall lack of class

Food 1/5 - poor quality over cooked, tasteless we sent it back.
Cooked Breakfast eggs rubbery bacon over cooked beans dry just terrible

Ambience 1/5 conservatory silent no music. At dinner the only music playing was blues. This is a 1920 theamed hotel but felt like pontins by the sea.

Recommendations:
1: employ a decent chef
2 clean the carpets
3: renew the windows
4 paint the rust
5:Apply the same decor standards of ballroom to the rest of hotel
6: background music in keeping with 1920 theme
7: luxury in bedrooms decent bathrooms I’ve seen better figments in a workhouse.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Louise C, Thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback from your recent visit to Burgh Island. We are naturally sorry to hear your stay did not reach your expectations and please accept our most sincere apologies for inconveniences which detract you from enjoying your time on the island. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and we are taking your comments seriously to further improve our offering. Our restoration program is ongoing, and we are delighted to hear you approve the ambiance in the public rooms. We are refining our accommodation in timely manner and we hope to have the pleasure to showcase our newly refurbished bedrooms to you. Our kitchen team are constantly working on developing new menus and we were disappointed your dishes were not to our high standards. The island is a magical place and we hope to have the pleasure to reinstate your faith in our offering. I will be delighted if you could contact me directly on vlad@burghisland.com, and I will be thrilled to personally overlook your upcoming visit. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BerkshireTigger wrote a review May 2020
Newbury, United Kingdom327 contributions193 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our afternoon tea was served at midday to fit in with the tides. It was a most enjoyable experience in stunning and unique surroundings.
We had a memorable stay here 3 months ago coinciding with Storm Ciara so to visit again so soon was really special especially as this time we had some spells of blue sky and sunshine.
Sat in the Palm Court Lounge at a perfectly positioned table watching the amazing view sipping champagne seemed the height of decadence. The art deco style cake stand perfectly set off the dainty sandwiches, delicious scones with generous portions of strawberry and champagne preserve and clotted cream and the delicate mini cake selection. All very tasty.
However really it is the iconic art deco hotel and its stunning location that makes this a truly memorable afternoon tea experience. The staff especially Vlad, the manager, are exceptional and obviously love the hotel they work in and appreciate its uniqueness. We hope to return.
Our visit took place on 8 March before the full impact of Corona virus. We wish the team all the best during these challenging times.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vladimir Krupa, Guest Services / Front Office at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2020
Dear BerkshireTigger, It was a great pleasure to welcome you back to Burgh Island for an Afternoon tea and on behalf of all our staff, I would like to thank you for your wonderful remarks from service you received. As you described, stormy weather will even add to the atmosphere and views from the Palm Court are the best seats in Devon to observe Mother Nature in her most dramatic way. Art Deco is in our hearts and we were thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed the experience. We were most delighted that you have had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to welcoming you on the island in the close future. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sharonhurley0 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed out stay at Burgh Island but there were a number of things that would have made it better. Most of them are very simple issues.
1. The fact we had to phone from St Anne's Chapel we only discovered when we looked on your website. That information should be sent out with the booking information.
2. There were no instructions to help us find the secure car park. We telephoned from St Anne's Chapel but the instructions we were given by the reception staff were incorrect and we only found the carpark because we saw a Burgh Island 4X4 and the driver told us how to get into the secure car park. The instructions should be sent out with the booking information and the reception staff should be very clear on how to locate the secure car park. It would help if there were some signs for the secure car park, although that would have to be agreed with the local authority. The fact you bring income into the area should help persuade them.
3. The fact that there is an intercom in the first bay of the secure car park was not mentioned to us. We found out about it by accident on the second day. The fact it is there should be made clear and again sent out with the booking information.
4. We stayed in the Malcolm Campbell suite but unfortunately the mattress was not very good and needed replacing.
5. We drank half the champagne on the first night and put a stopper in it. The next day the housekeeping team left the champagne and ice bucket (which was good) but also left the dirty glasses. The glasses should have been replaced.
6. Also overnight on the first night we had used the tumblers for drinking water and each one had some water left in it. However the house keeping staff did not replace the tumblers with clean ones.
7.The drapes in the bedroom were rather tired and really needed replacing.
8. The drapes in the lounge needed some repairs.
9. The outside of the toilet window was very dirty and needed a good clean.
Having said the above I should also say that we did enjoy our stay with you and we found the staff very friendly and accommodating. The location is beautiful and the whole atmosphere relaxing. We had a very pleasant meal and evening in the Pilchard and good meal and evening in the main dining room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Sharonhurley0, Thank you for taking the time to write with your comments from your recent visit to Burgh Island and your kind and caring remarks about service you received from our staff which I will have the pleasure to share with the team. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and value your much appreciated detailed feedback. Our location is unique, and we have to adapt accordingly to run the operation smoothly. Naturally, we were sorry to hear you had difficulties to find our garages on the mainland. As the reception in the area is limited, we ask our guests to call us from St Anne’s Chapel for further directions to our garages to receive a code to enter the private compound the combination of which is changes for security reasons. This will allow our drivers enough time to drive across the beach to greet you and comfortably transport you to the hotel. Your further comments are welcomed, but we were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in every area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and truly spoil you on your next visit. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyn M wrote a review Feb 2020
Peterborough, United Kingdom9 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel review needs a Thesaurus to hand to help with different superlatives! It really is the most magical, unique experience. Unfortunately when we stayed the sea tractor was out of action so we missed the excitement of the transfer, although the 4x4s are efficient and the drivers friendly and knowledgable. It also meant the band could not reach the island on Monday night to play at the Black Tie dinner, but again, the stand-in pianist was excellent. Our room was Mountbatten which has the most wonderful view (binoculars thoughtfully provided) and a small balcony. It also has an elegant bathroom with the some of the largest, fluffiest bath sheets I’ve ever seen. The early morning tea tray brought to our room meant we could sit in bed with our tea and watch the sun rise over the sea (8 a.m. in January so not that early!) If you love Art Deco, and even if you don’t, this hotel is wonderful. I took so many photos of each room, each piece of furniture, each lamp and mirror I was constantly recharging my phone and camera! Then there are the wonderful views all around the island and the beauty of the outside of the hotel itself. The food on both nights we stayed was excellent and it was so lovely to be able to dress up for the Black Tie evening on the second night which was very special. It is an expensive place to stay but for a special occasion, I would say it is almost unbeatable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Lyn M, Thank you for you most kind and caring review from your recent stay with us. With a delight we read your wonderful review and thrilled you had a chance to enjoy the island in style. We are naturally sorry we were not able to run the Sea tractor due to stormy weather and you were not able to see live band performance, however, I will be more than happy to arrange a next visit for you to enjoy the black tie dinner and dancing in the Ballroom. Should you plan your upcoming visit to Burgh Island, please contact me on vlad@burghisland.com, and I will make sure you have a memorable stay. We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the future for another magical experience. With best regards, Vladimir Krupa Director of Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jo_kent1 asked a question Mar 2024
Sutton, United Kingdom278 contributions162 helpful votes
Can I get a blow dry at the hotel?
Answer from WideiseR
London, United Kingdom50 contributions93 helpful votes
Hello. Not sure there are hair driers in the rooms as never saw one. However hotel is so helpful and friendly they will provide should you require.
mrshorsy asked a question Feb 2023
Nottingham53 contributions33 helpful votes
Can you book a one night stay in august
Answer from chrispaice
1 contribution
One night stays are possible but you need to check availability on their website. There are no restrictions at any time of the year
my0rke asked a question Aug 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Is there electric car charging at the hotel car park?
Answer from deathbychocolate
Lincoln, United Kingdom70 contributions29 helpful votes
I can't recall seeing one but I don't have an electric car so I wasn't really looking out for one. A quick call should give you the answer. The car park is actually on the mainland, not at the hotel itself. You're picked up by hotel staff and driven across the causeway unless it's high tide, in which case the sea tractor takes you and your luggage across.
Answer from Jan B
Sidmouth, United Kingdom27 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes you can, we went last October for our 50th Anniversary. Just give them a ring. Hope you have a great time, a super place, especially if you appreciate Art Deco.
jo_kent1 wrote a tip 10 Apr
Sutton, United Kingdom278 contributions162 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take earplugs Be aware no walk in shower"
Read full review
Keith Parr wrote a tip 9 Apr
Warrington, United Kingdom103 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring good selection of clothing as weather can be very changeable "
Read full review
Mal C wrote a tip 4 Apr
10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Outdoor sea pool is currently out of use due to a land slip which I suspect may not be economical to repair though I do hope it is. "
Read full review
VermontJerry wrote a tip 3 Apr
VermontJerry22 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrive early to make the most of your time on the island."
Read full review
Graham G wrote a tip 1 Apr
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom11 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware that the mainland car park has gone cashless but can be booked ahead. The car park shop will 'loan' WiFi access if necessary"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burgh Island area.
PRICE RANGE
£504 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
burgh hotel island, burgh island hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonBigbury-on-SeaBurgh Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BURGH ISLAND HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Burgh Island Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Burgh Island Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bigbury-on-Sea Beach (0.3 miles), Hope Cove Beach (2.9 miles), and Burgh Island (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Burgh Island Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Burgh Island Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Burgh Island Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Burgh Island Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valley View Cafe, Church House Inn Churchstow, and The Journeys End Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Burgh Island Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Burgh Island Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the centre of Burgh Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Burgh Island Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Russian, Hungarian, Serbian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Burgh Island Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Saltram (National Trust) (9.5 miles), Overbecks Garden (6.4 miles), and Kingsbridge Quay (5.4 miles).
Does Burgh Island Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Burgh Island Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire