We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Exeter Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Exeter Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

excellent place to stay, the food was amazing, breakfast set us up for the day, would reccomend the rump steak it was the best i have tasted in a long time.Room was clean and tidy.ideal location for Dartmmor,or Dartmouth,Would reccomend a visit to Start point beautiful views, and we were lucky enough to see seals with their young.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edaw23
Manchester
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely inn, lovely people, lovely bed and breakfast was ok however for £70 a night it was very expensive for what you get. It's very old so uneven floors. Slightly musty smelling hallways and bedrooms and at 8am both mornings the sound of the residents letting the dogs out and banging around. It's a decent place to stay but for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank button88
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Called here for the first time it was the first pub we came across and ran in as it was raining heavily. The few tables at the front were taken so we walked through to the bar and was shown to a table here. We placed our order and got a drink, this was spoilt by the local lads who's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kitchener50
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

it was a surprise when we located the Exeter inn as the picture dose not show the area that is located. it was on a very busy road with no parking for residence. the inn is old and somewhat dated but this does add to its charm. the landlady was most pleasant helpful and a great cook the breakfasts and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks holiday, decided to try some were different and we weren't dissapointed, stayed in room 2 which is a family room , kings size bed and one single both were very comfortable, room was clean and had everything we needed. Good selection for breakfast , full English was faultless, evening meals looked lovey but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Delicious meal, varied menu to choose from. Friendly, welcoming attentive staff. Thank you. Surroundings well kept and cosy. Resident pub cat very friendly. Beer good. A welcome change from chain pubs and grub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandajanemoore2015
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped off after visiting the beach at burgh island. Friendly polite pub with Cheery staff.welcoming of children . The service was quick and the food was lovely will definitely come again if we are passing through this way again They even had wifi which my children are having withdrawals from

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Kent
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed it. Room was good, spacious with a nice a comfortable bed. Food was great, yummy breakfast thanks to the lovely Nicky. Parking is a couple of minutes walk so no problem really, highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbo55Kent
Irby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Nice clean room and very friendly staff. Excellent value with a great cooked breakfast. No car park but good value one very nearby. Wireless internet does not work well in rooms but very good in the pub area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillandChris2013
Birmingham
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night over may bank holiday. Was told the inn dated back to 1400 and it was very quaint in the bar/restaurant area. Our room was no. 1 at the back and on the top floor, it was very clean with a great bathroom. Tea/coffee and biscuits where in the room for us. We ate there on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita-Pete
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, firstly thank you for your kind review we always like to hear feedback from our guests. Secondly we are very pleased to hear you had a good stay here at the Exeter Inn and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Phoebe at the Exeter Inn.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modbury
1.5 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
504 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
491 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
376 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ivybridge
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Exeter Inn

Address: Church Street, Modbury, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Modbury
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Exeter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Exeter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Exeter Inn Modbury, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Exeter Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Exeter Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No mobile signal unless you are on Vodafone”
 of 5 bubbles 992nigell, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles TACHSuffolk, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Avoid twin room no. 4”
 of 5 bubbles andyrowe56, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Family room (room 2) is great, has a superking, single bed, and sofa, but perhaps slightly closer to front of pub (and therefore noise) than others. However, the noise was fine on a Sat night for us anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles tajmiester, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“You can't go wrong”
 of 5 bubbles 17GeoffB, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay