We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Two Bridges Hotel

Two Bridges Road, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SW England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (595)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (128)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Two Bridges
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A stunning Devon country house hotel set in the heart of Dartmoor National Park. Bedrooms full of charm, character and comfort, many with unique historic features and four poster beds. Cosy lounges with huge log fires and beautiful sweeping lawns leading down to the West Dart River. Award winning AA Rosette restaurant filled with wonderful character and ambiance. With 60 acres of hotel grounds to enjoy and just a short walk to the ancient Wistmans Wood, anyone who appreciates natural beauty, fine food and relaxation will love this unique Dartmoor Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,686Review7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 911
  • 407
  • 182
  • 111
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shoeshoe2015 wrote a review 10 Apr
Selsey6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We would have given this a five star review except for the fact that on booking the hotel, we were told the room we would get would have lovely views to the open countryside. We booked an historic room on the Leisure Break deal which was Bed, Breakfast and Evening meal. When we arrived the absolutely charming lady on reception gave us the key to Room 15. When we entered the room, we definitely knew it was historic and immediately looked out of the window to see the wide open view. What a disappointment. The view was of a corrugated roof and sheds of some kind. I went back to the lady on reception who very kindly found 5 other rooms for us to look at that we could change to. None of them had a view. We decided to change to Room No. 2 however which was slightly bigger than No 15. I know a view isn't everything and we weren't going to spend our days looking out of the window but a view was offered and we had been looking forward to it. Next slight problem was we were told that only two of our three days stay would be on the Leisure Break deal. The first night would be bed and breakfast only but we would still eat in the restaurant with the menu being different. We soon realised that the menu was exactly the same (with very slight tweaks) on all three nights so couldn't understand why they changed it from Leisure Break to B&B only. This was however sorted out on checking out. So, enough of the negative stuff. This hotel is full of olde worlde charm and hasn't changed since we first visited over 30 years ago. The rooms mostly have 4 poster beds and the pictures of the walls are fascinating but perhaps too much royalty for my husband. The staff are all excellent and extremely helpful and the food was very good indeed. The location of the hotel is also excellent with a very easy walk to Wistmans Wood which is covered in lichen and lime green moss. We had awful weather but a visit to Tavistock is always good in bad weather.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do the walk from the hotel up to Wistmans Wood. It's beautiful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Barbara D wrote a review 10 Apr
Truro District, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
I have just spent the Easter weekend at this lovely hotel. Travelling on my own, I was made welcome by the charming staff who seem to take pleasure in getting to know their guests. A newspaper was specially brought in by one of the staff for me. A taxi was organised for me to go to Tavistock for the Easter service, nothing was too much trouble. I had a bedroom at the rear, on the ground floor which was warm and comfortable, with a good shower room. Plenty of blankets in case of chill. The menu didn't change much but everything I had was very good, nicely presented and tasty. Easter Sunday lunch was exceptional, but I did wonder why there not a nod towards Easter, no flowers on the table, no mini Easter eggs. That would have been a nice touch. Altogether, despite the weather, it was a delightful few days, wrapped in the warmth of log fires and pleasant atmosphere. I can't wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you have no car, there are taxis from Tavistock, costing aroung £40 for the round trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hunter wrote a review 2 Apr
32 contributions13 helpful votes
Easter Simnel Cake 🐔 🥚 🐔 was absolutely delicious, perfectly presented and as it should be ... congratulations to whoever made it. We called in for coffees after crossing Dartmoor in the pouring rain. Extremely friendly lady serving behind the bar. Large sized coffees and great cakes on offer. Well done team Two Bridges.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Audrey D wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
We booked a table for lunch on 2nd March for the restaurant. for lunch. The hotel phoned us that morning about 11am to confirm our booking which we did. We turned up and were shown into the bar area. It was very noisy so they showed us to another table near the big sofas. This table which we sat at had then to be cleaned. Advised we booked the restaurant and told it is not open. We ordered our meal which was a pie with veg but was ok but not great. We have visited here many times as we live within driving distance. This was a birthday lunch for my husband which was very disappointing as we sat around a small table suitable for two people. Feeling disappointed we passed on deserts and coffee and decided to go somewhere else. Fail to understand why they phoned to confirm booking when they had no table ready, the restaurant was closed and they never even asked our names. Although the staff were pleasant it was all very ordinary. The question is will we come again and I can honestly say yes; but not for a meal only for a drink as the area is so beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We were very sorry to hear that there was some confusion with your lunch booking, due to the restaurant not being available on the day in question. Please accept our apologies. We do hope that you will consider another visit, and that we will be able to restore your confidence.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WAH64 wrote a review Mar 2024
Sunderland, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely cozy lounge with fire, amazing staff ,food excellent. Great room with beautiful view and very comfortable bed. Fantastic countryside around for exploring Dartmoor also close to Tavistock town famous for Sir Francis Drake, also Plymouth to visit the Hoe and Barbican where the Mayflower sailed from.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We were delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you were able to explore so many of the wonderful places within easy reach of the hotel. We very much hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chrisrobinson5 wrote a review Mar 2024
Louth, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
Stopped here for 2 nights as location was good for a nearby wedding . The staff were excellent as was the breakfast but the room ( 10 ) was very noisy as directly above the restaurant and in need of modernisation. The bed was particularly uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 10
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Dartmoor location, but very sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the restaurant. I do hope that you had the opportunity to discuss this with our duty manager at the time, as we would certainly have wished to do all we could to put things right for you. Hopefully we may have the opportunity to restore your faith on a future stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nomad29376721492 wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions
Waste of time , only thing on offer was sausage rolls and pasties because there was a wedding at the time. Totally ruined our day , so had a drink which was warm , won’t bother again , Totaly worth bypassing and seeking out a much better establishment
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Potluck if there is an event on at the time if there is you might as well go to gingsters
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We were sorry to hear of your disappointment. We generally offer a comprehensive lunch menu, with a choice of hearty dishes and lighter bites. On this occasion we had a limited menu available due to a wedding taking place, and I am very sorry for the disappointment caused. It's always a good idea to book a table in advance if you can, as we would then be able to advise if there was any change to the menu offering that day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jwduffield wrote a review Feb 2024
United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed for three nights. We have been here on several occasions and it didn't disappoint once again. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The standard of food is excellent and it is an extremely dog friendly hotel too. we received a warm welcome and will be back again to sit in the warm cosy bar area to enjoy another long weekend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2024
We were delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your kind comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue F wrote a review Feb 2024
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked a table online for Lunch. We were not Disappointed, We had the Steak and Kidney Pot Pie and the Jail Ale Battered Fish and Chips, both meals were were presented beautifully and were both delicious, All the staff that attended on us were all Dressed smartly and polite .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2024
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a delicious lunch with us, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathryn D wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
This is a wonderful hotel. This is the 3rd time we've stayed. The rooms are lovely each with their own style. The food is amazing. I had to stop myself eating too much bread before my starter. The staff are lovely. The cozy bar area was perfect on a wet afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make a dinner reservation well in advance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at Two Bridges Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2024
Thank you for your kind comments - we were delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay, and that you were well looked after by the team. Hope to see you again soon - a warm welcome awaits!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Two Bridges area.
PRICE RANGE
£140 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
2 bridges hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonDartmoor National ParkTwo Bridges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TWO BRIDGES HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Two Bridges Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Two Bridges Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dartmoor Prison Museum (1.6 miles), Clapper Bridge (3.5 miles), and Dartmeet River Junction (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Two Bridges Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Two Bridges Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Two Bridges Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Two Bridges Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fox Tor Cafe, The Old Police Station Cafe, and The Prince of Wales.
Is Two Bridges Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the centre of Two Bridges.
Are pets allowed at Two Bridges Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Two Bridges Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Two Bridges Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buckland Abbey, National Trust (9.0 miles), Church House (6.9 miles), and Tavistock Town Hall (7.9 miles).
Does Two Bridges Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Two Bridges Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.